We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The glory days are gone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonepine Estate Resort
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

This fabulous estate has not been maintained to the standards that their prices reflect.

We checked into a $300 per night room and seemed to be the only people on the entire property. Lots of horses but the only person we saw was, Michelle,the manager who checked us in. Michelle was very welcoming and easy to communicate with but the facility itself left much to be desired. The paddock house that we stayed in was very dated, and not cleaned properly prior to our arrival. The front porch swing was so dirty we couldn't sit on it. The windows and screens so dirty you could hardly see out. The full kitchen which was available for our use had no ice and the comforter on the bed was missing it's duvet cover. The TV in our room was ancient and small.

The pool was dirty and unusable. We were told the filtration system was not functioning.

Many of these things can be overlooked given the beautiful setting but, the worst part was when we returned from dinner and realized that none of the smoke detectors in the building were working. Seeing this as a hazard and real safety issue, we packed up and went to a nearby resort and spa.

Stonepine Estate has great potential but needs a lot of updating, love and attention to detail to be worth the price they're asking. It looks as though it has not been functioning well for over 20 years.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017

It's honestly been many years since I stayed here; my sweetie and I were in the area over NYE so we ventured in for a quick peek at the property.

Built for the Crocker family and originally comprising several thousand acres, the estate is a beautiful memorial to a time when cattle barons, oil magnates, railroad tycoons and newspaper billionaires built chateaux, christened hospitals and universities and rode their horses for days on their own property.

For about two grand, you too can spend a weekend being served in the family kitchen like Bruce Wayne, or play a game of chess in front of a fireplace that belongs in Skyfall. If you brought your Arabians, you can watch them work out in front of the paddock house, or jump a few obstacles on the dressage course. Look around; last time I was here I saw wild boar roaming the hills.

Remember to fill up your tank first ... it's a long driveway! You'll cross a bridge, wind through hills, forest and meadows before finally getting to the main house ... all 40-odd rooms of Mediterranean manse.

This time, I just came for the drive in, and back out.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

TripAdvisor took down my previous review saying it wasn't first-hand enough. Well, my husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, maybe I failed to mention that?, which is why I would write this review in the first place. Unfortunately everything was a disappointment. The facilities are not being kept up in every way and it is not a luxury "resort." It is a once beautiful property that is able to attract visitors because of that, but has not kept itself up to be a top hotel. The food was mediocre, the premises were falling apart.

Stayed: September 2015
3  Thank marchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele_Higa, Manager at Stonepine Estate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Hello Marchmarsh. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but we do not have a record of anyone staying here from your area. Please feel free to contact us as we take our guests comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

The chateau has 7 rooms and the paddock house had s few more. Am experience that we have not shared else where. The facility, 330 acres of places to wonder, equestrian center for riding, sulky track for racing and a soccer field for entertainment. Go there everyone that we are in Carmel along with Post Ranch Inn.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We traveled as a couple as we always do and wanted a special place for 1 night while we were attending a wine function.Michelle and her staff were outstanding in understanding our needs and requests.It is a self contained resort estate with a lot of rich history.The owners are very envolved with several charities and donate a portion of your nightly rate to them.It is a working equestrian center and the horses are well loved there.You can even take a ride on one.There are 400 acres and plenty of walking areas,games like croquet and archery.We do recommend couple staying in the Main House if you are looking for romantic.Families will be happy in the outer houses.They have breakfast included and you can stay for dinner,there, as well.A delicious lunch can be served to you as well.An experience you will not soon forget.We will come back here and stay longer,next time.

Room Tip: Couples stay in Chateau Noel,Families in outer houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MichiSachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel Valley
5.1 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
374 reviews
19.2 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
14.3 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
1.9 km away
Contenta Inn
Contenta Inn
#1 of 5 in Carmel Valley
119 reviews
27.1 km away
Ventana Big Sur, an Alila Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonepine Estate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonepine Estate Resort

Address: 150 E Carmel Valley Rd, Carmel Valley, CA 93924-9604
Region: United States > California > Carmel Valley
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel Valley
Price Range: $305 - $1,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonepine Estate Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Carmel Valley, Stonepine Resort is the perfect place for those seeking a destination vacation with amenities for the both the active enthusiast and those who just want to kick back and relax. There are 3 1/2 miles of trails for hiking and biking, tennis, croquet and horseback riding, along with many amenities for more leisurely entertainment. The estate is located only thirteen miles from picturesque Carmel-by-the-Sea and one mile from Carmel Valley Village, a quaint artisan community with both fine and casual dining, a variety of art galleries, craft shops and numerous wine tasting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stonepine Estate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonepine Estate Hotel Carmel Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing