We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonepine Estate Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sky Lodge(Carmel Valley)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Inn(Carmel Valley)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Contenta Inn(Carmel Valley)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bernardus Lodge & Spa(Carmel Valley)
US$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Lodge(Carmel Valley)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$425
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
US$166
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Seaside)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Inn Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
13
2
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
2
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddock housethe main houserolls royceone of a kindequestrianhorsesacresbridecaliforniafireplace
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

It's honestly been many years since I stayed here; my sweetie and I were in the area over NYE so we ventured in for a quick peek at the property.

Built for the Crocker family and originally comprising several thousand acres, the estate is a beautiful memorial to a time when cattle barons, oil magnates, railroad tycoons and newspaper billionaires built chateaux, christened hospitals and universities and rode their horses for days on their own property.

For about two grand, you too can spend a weekend being served in the family kitchen like Bruce Wayne, or play a game of chess in front of a fireplace that belongs in Skyfall. If you brought your Arabians, you can watch them work out in front of the paddock house, or jump a few obstacles on the dressage course. Look around; last time I was here I saw wild boar roaming the hills.

Remember to fill up your tank first ... it's a long driveway! You'll cross a bridge, wind through hills, forest and meadows before finally getting to the main house ... all 40-odd rooms of Mediterranean manse.

This time, I just came for the drive in, and back out.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

TripAdvisor took down my previous review saying it wasn't first-hand enough. Well, my husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, maybe I failed to mention that?, which is why I would write this review in the first place. Unfortunately everything was a disappointment. The facilities are not being kept up in every way and it is not a luxury "resort." It is a once beautiful property that is able to attract visitors because of that, but has not kept itself up to be a top hotel. The food was mediocre, the premises were falling apart.

Stayed: September 2015
5  Thank marchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele_Higa, Manager at Stonepine Estate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Hello Marchmarsh. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but we do not have a record of anyone staying here from your area. Please feel free to contact us as we take our guests comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

The chateau has 7 rooms and the paddock house had s few more. Am experience that we have not shared else where. The facility, 330 acres of places to wonder, equestrian center for riding, sulky track for racing and a soccer field for entertainment. Go there everyone that we are in Carmel along with Post Ranch Inn.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We traveled as a couple as we always do and wanted a special place for 1 night while we were attending a wine function.Michelle and her staff were outstanding in understanding our needs and requests.It is a self contained resort estate with a lot of rich history.The owners are very envolved with several charities and donate a portion of your nightly rate to them.It is a working equestrian center and the horses are well loved there.You can even take a ride on one.There are 400 acres and plenty of walking areas,games like croquet and archery.We do recommend couple staying in the Main House if you are looking for romantic.Families will be happy in the outer houses.They have breakfast included and you can stay for dinner,there, as well.A delicious lunch can be served to you as well.An experience you will not soon forget.We will come back here and stay longer,next time.

Room Tip: Couples stay in Chateau Noel,Families in outer houses.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MichiSachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Stonepine is the most beautiful and romantic place we have ever experienced. If you like privacy with discreet, elegance surrounded by scenery beyond imagination and incredible service by very professional caring people spend as much time as you possibly can staying at Stonepine, an "exclusive estate experience" in Carmel Valley. We held our corporate board meeting here several times, our annual family reunion and it is a special getaway for us. Stonepine is Awesome!

Room Tip: All of the rooms (houses) we have experienced are unique and inspirational. All are quiet with lovely views of nature and from some you see horses or deer. My favorites are the Briar Rose Cottage, the Hermes House and the Paddock House.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank nu y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews