We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cayucos Motel
Nearby Hotels
Cayucos Beach Inn(Cayucos)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Inn(Cayucos)
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayucos Sunset Inn(Cayucos)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach(Cayucos)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
Priceline
View Deal
Best Western El Rancho(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$97
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
49
28
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
28
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggsstrawberriesfew stepsfresh fruitbagelsincluded coffeebeach vibeping pong tabledog bowleasy beach accessoutdoor showergrassy areathe bed was extremely comfortablescarecrow festivalcontinental breakfast in the morninglovely roommain street
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2016

First time to Cayucos, and the Cayucos Motel was perfect for us. The room was immaculate, especially for an older beach motel. The bed was super comfy (as one who loves their bed at home, that says a lot.) Our two dogs loved the personalized bowl with treats and a toy. Location is super - next to beach and across the street from the main drag with coffee, goodies and antiques.

The little things that make a difference for us:
- All correspondence was helpful, and professional.
- real silverware, cups and glasses. No plastic here!
- the continental breakfast was great - hard boiled eggs, plenty of bread options (fresh baked cinnamon buns, english muffins, etc.) juice that tasted fresh, etc. Of particular note was the fruit bowl - the strawberries, raspberries and melons were fresh, firm and delicious (not out of a can!). We didn't feel like we missed out on anything.
- pet friendly - from the personalized bowls, to towels for the dogs our furry children were taken of.

The only thing that was a bit off for us was the Christmas lights that were on all night. I like to sleep dark, but there was no way to get away from the blue from the lights. I would suggest turning them off at night.

If we were to come back to Cayucos (maybe for the Scarecrow Festival) we would not hesitate to go back to the Cayucos Motel. Thanks for the holiday get away!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

the curtains are thin so bring your own blackout curtains... the beds are funky...sheets are rough...blanket is just ok... no radio reception.... but dog friendly and the room in the alley is quiet...high priced during xmas

Room Tip: alley room
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tc4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a lovely room along with out dog, Bear. Both the owner and her assistant were both fantastic and very friendly. Walking distance to the beach and all the fantastic shops. Great place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: 1Great little place to stay in Cayucos
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aussie748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed last summer for a short quiet getaway and this little place was great -- immaculate, quiet with friendly staff and convenience location right next to the beach. So we returned this summer and were very disappointed. We had the same family suite with two bedrooms but it was not as clean -- the floor felt slimy and bathroom was not spotless. The blinds and curtain sheers could not block out the light from some decorative light strings the motel put up so difficult to get to sleep and then woken early as we could hear every conversation from the front desk it was right next to our room and whomever was working there had a very loud voice. We skipped breakfast offering because last time it was not impressive, not a big deal,so got coffee and breakfast to go from a local cafe and brought back to the room. But then we were asked when we would be going out so the cleaners could do our room.

Without the friendliest and cleanliness we have from our previous stay, really not a pleasant stay, esp at $300/night.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFKAT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were VERY pleasantly surprised at the friendliness to us and our dog throughout our stay. We had only reserved for one night, but extended our stay daily until we were there for three nights--only wish it could have been four or five, especially if we had been in ANY of the other rooms. I believe there are only six rooms, and we were lucky enough to get the last room available, one with a double and twin bed. I got a peek into the other rooms and they all seemed to have queen beds, with a table and two chairs where our twin bed was. There really is not a lot of room for dog beds in any of the rooms, but replacing the twin bed with the small round table and two chairs did seem like it made a difference. At any rate, it hardly mattered--there was just enough room for our rather large dog bed and we liked BEING THERE so much that we overlooked things that might have mattered more in other circumstances. We got our room for less than the other options for dog-friendly rooms; it was only a couple of weeks out from our trip so many of the hotels were full except for the most expensive rooms.

Each room had a half-size refrigerator and coffee maker, with a microwave and toaster over out in the covered breezeway available for all guests to use at any time. Although there was nothing fancy like a waffle maker at the continental breakfast (which was set up in the very tiny "lobby"--just a check-in desk with alcove shelves, really--I was impressed with the daily bowls of 3 kinds each of melons and berries. Besides the delicious coffee (and I RARELY say that about any "on the road" coffee), they had muffins and fresh local pastries on the days that bakery was open. O.j. too, and some granola. At any rate, I was more than happy with fresh fruit and coffee, for the most part. It was lovely to take my breakfast and sit at one of the tables overlooking the ocean, letting the dog sniff around and hope for leftovers.

Perhaps because we originally were only staying one night, it was not until the next morning after reserving for another night that Carletta (I hope I have that right) brought out a "pet package" for Luna: a plastic dog bowl with her name painted on it, a pink tennis ball, LOTS of her favorite treats of all time, and what remains the only "toy" she has ever truly liked to play with! It's a pink flamingo with a squeaker in it; she likes to gently bite on it until she finds the squeaker and makes it work! Kind of amazing to us, since she generally ignores "dog toys".

Although we stayed for a week in a 1-bedroom suite of a different dog-friendly hotel down the road (across from the Sea Shanty) a couple of years ago--which was obviously much more spacious and more luxurious, too--we really preferred this location and are happy with our choice. Between the location, the price, and the general friendliness of everyone associated with the place, we both agree that if we can get a room with a queen bed (and depending on nightly rate), this will most likely be the place we stay next time we return to the area (every couple of years, generally). There's nothing like being able to be at the water's edge in less than a minute from leaving your room!

I do have to mention how small the bathroom was overall, although there was plenty of room for one in the tiled shower (no tub), I bumped my arm more than once on the corner of the square sink while sitting on the toilet--VERY close together! There was no fan in the bathroom, but it did have a window that opened, with curtains that closed. The counter area consisted of a little shelf above the side of the sink next to the toilet that extended over the toilet tank, so there wasn't a lot of room for toiletries and personal items (e.g. brush, comb, toothpaste etc.). They also, as usual, only had the combo shampoo/so-called conditioner; we always bring our own conditioner, expecting that to be the case.

Oh yes, out by the covered breezeway, they also had "older" towels to use for your dog, the beach, etc., asking guests not to use the room towels for such things. We appreciated having extra "outdoor use" towels so ready to hand.

So many hotels nowadays have NO green grassy area, being all concrete surrounding the hotel area, so we really enjoyed having the actual lawn with several tables and chairs, some adirondacks etc.--and so did our dog! None of the rooms has an ocean view from the room itself, and all rooms open right out onto the parking lot (very convenient to get to your car right in front of your door though). All in all, we still feel that, what with the friendly staff, clean rooms, VERY pet friendly attitude, pride of ownership, ocean view from the nice little lawn area, and being very centrally located in this quirky little "beach bum meets cowboy meets tourist-oriented" small town--this was a pretty good deal. Get a tri-tip sandwich at the Cayucos Supermarket!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank newmexicoonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews