We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BLVD Hotel(Costa Mesa)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Inn(Costa Mesa)
US$115
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveller rating
919
430
133
49
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
430
133
49
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn wayne airportjunior suitemain buildingnewport beachbreakfast buffetclose to the airportwet barjacuzzi tuborange countyfashion islandpotatoesuc irvinefree parkingshuttle servicebeautiful hotelbed was very comfortableroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We enjoyed our stay here. Nothing spectacular but everything met our needs. Elegant lobby. We didn't explore the rest of the common areas. The restaurant seems to get good reviews. Although there's just a single elevator up front and one toward the back, we never had a long wait for one. The room we booked was their 265 sq ft "deluxe" king. I think it's actually the smallest they offer but it was quite spacious with a sofa bed in the sitting area if you need it.

For the hotel size, it seemed like parking could be an issue but there were ample available spaces. I was wary of possible plane noise since they are right next to John Wayne Airport. It didn't help that we had a room on the third floor at the front of the hotel. Yes, the planes can be loud but it was surprisingly not annoying at all. Most of the time, I didn't even notice.

We got a good deal thanks to a promotion from the Costa Mesa Visitors Bureau. Basically, they offered a $50 AmEx gift card per night, which the hotel then allowed us to use toward the room upon check-in. So $100 off for two nights. This ended up being a solid stay.

Room Tip: Maybe a room in the middle of the building on a lower floor if plane noise bothers you
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thedlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I really wanted to like this place more. Picture a country inn and suites structure, refurbished and decorated with over the top, random new rich, baroque style marshall's items. Less is more! This place is a bit overdone and gives the appearance of thinking highly of themselves..haha...
Ps- unlike their in room brochure boasts, this place doesn't have an inch of European charm or style. It feels like a set decorator was hired at some point. Picture medieval times meets Disneyland.

PROS
A+ for effort
Good service
Nice pool
Ok gym
Quiet setting
Clean rooms
Attention to detail

NOT SO MUCH
Spotty wifi
Kitschy decor
Basic rooms
So so location. Good for short visit. Must have car or ability and desire to walk several miles

Room Tip: Suites have better rooms
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Friendly staff especially Gena.
Hotel location is near most of needed attractions and shopping centers/areas.
Short distance to John Wayne Airport.
Reasonable facilities: gem, swimming pools, laundry room, famous restaurant: Le Chateau Restaurant & Lounge, Cobblestone Courtyard, Fountain and Gardens, complimentary high speed internet, complimentary car parking, two stylish lobbies
Having the complimentary homemade delicious cookies is a nice gesture.
Utilize the hotel shuttle bus to Balboa Island, Fashion Island Mall, the South Coast Plaza, or other nearby shopping centers

Room Tip: try to have rooms in the upper floor, away from the swimming pool
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Farouqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The front desk is awful. Completely inconsistent in details like: check in policy, late check out, holding luggage & trying to get it back, essentially any function of an actual front desk.

The only thing worse than the inhospitable front desk is the restaurant. The service is awful, waiters are nowhere to be found and are slow to come, if at all. Once you have placed an order, good luck actually getting it. My husband got the bill just 5 minutes before his coffee arrived, which was 15 minutes after his meal, and 45 minutes after ordering it. On top of that, the wait staff (I'm looking at you Orlando!) doesn't write things down, delivers drinks one at a time (if at all, as noted above), drops food before giving you utensils (and has to continuously be asked) or bring you the actual items you order.

Given the service level at this place, along with the quality of the room, you're better off at the TravelLodge right down the street. Seriously.

Room Tip: You will hear planes taking off as early as 7:30am from any location
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennys27477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Dear jennys27477,

Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any and all inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. Thank you for outlining your experience at our restaurant. I will be passing your review on to the restaurant manager to ensure that this does not occur again in the future. We hope that your accommodations, which were not mentioned, were to your liking at the very least. Again, thank you for your review of the restaurant.

Sincerely,

Susan O'Brien-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

it is a fancy hotel, but lacks in some basic aspects. the good things first. real nice pictures and lobby. great stuff with the yachts and other decor.

if you are located in the main hotel, then great ( or maybe.. ). atleast you have a nice lobby and a building that is sort of secluded.

if you are on the other building, or pretty much on any floor in any building, you have to shut your blinds completely at all times ! It is a pity that you cant have the nice california sun shine into your room. Most of the windows are such that, you are open to view from the parking lots or the highways.

The dull lighting and the decor does not do any justice to the rooms either. The first impression is that you walked into a slightly updated best western or something !! which is not so. Everything has a class. Except that it doesnt stand out.

The staff were good. The food was ok at La chateau. Everything is on the expensive side. My trip was company sponsored. If I were to do it on my own, I wouldnt go back.

If you really want this hotel, insist on upper floors and with rooms located on the outer side of the outer building.

Room Tip: choose the rooms on the upper levels. Make sure that they face away from the other building in the hotel, or face the pool or the highway.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praveen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews