We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$200
US$150
DanaPointMarina
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$285
US$276
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$639
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$871
US$839
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
68
41
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
41
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbeach chairssan diegoone bedroom unitpool and jacuzzimexican restaurant right next doortime shareowners loungethrough rciocean viewliving roomgreat beach locationrocky beachboogie boardstrain trackscomplimentary bikesgas grill
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have owned two weeks for several years and always visit in December/January and February. It is an older property, but immaculate and the 37 units have a "feel" like a bed and breakfast. The staff is the best, and it is right across from Doheny Beach so you can hear the surf and enjoy the ocean from your room. Wade, Cynthia, Amanda and Augustina always make us feel like we are staying in a bed and breakfast with a very personal touch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have the best views, but the back units are extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlendaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Glendamichael, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We have taken the liberty of sharing your kind appreciation with the whole team, as it is feedback such as yours that motivates us to achieve higher levels of services and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We visited end of November. The weather was wonderful!! I requested a room we were familiar with, and found it had not been updated, but that was not a problem. We were shown the updated rooms and they are very nice. Next time. I chose our room as it was close to the elevator. There were a few quirks but nothing that wasn't taken care of right away. We had a comfortable stay. Both my daughter and I are a bit gimpy, we found Wade the maintenance man and he helped with luggage and whatever else we may have needed. Very helpful. The whole crew at the hotel from the front desk to the housekeepers are very polite and always willing to help. Our timeshare is at this property and each time we come we enjoy it very much. I would definitely recommend. For you who are worried about parking, the garage is under the hotel, make sure to get your permit from the front desk. The elevator goes to the garage level so everything is handy. The beach is rocky in this area but right down the road toward San Clemente is a nice swimming area. Plus the hotel has a pool and jacuzzi. Also a game room and gym. Laundry is a plus, we go home with all our laundry done. Looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: I prefer 2nd floor facing ocean, beautiful sunsets from balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

A few years ago, due to fog on a New Years eve in Medford, OR. we time banked a timeshare week at Solana Beach to Trading Places and forgot about it. Some weeks ago we started getting e-mails from Trading Places about the time banked week, and made inquiry. Long story short we made reservation for our time banked week at Capistrano Beach Inn, Capistrano Beach, CA contiguous to Dana Point Harbor for this past Nov. 4-11, 2016. Best vacation decision and stay we've EVER MADE.

Right off the ocean, and 5 minutes from Dana Point Harbor and San Juan Capistrano, next door in close walking distance to 5 star Agostinos Italian Restaurant and Olamendis Mexican Restaurant, and superb accommodations. Wow, how can you beat it? We were fortunate that we got a Sea Captain, 2BD/2 bath unit. Also superior are the 2BD/1 bath units, all on corner units of the facility for views. Resort also has owners lounge for coffee in the morning, full kitchens, computer/printer usage, in room Wi-Fi, great fitness center, free bike usage, swimming/pool/Jacuzzi, barbecue grills on the deck, great parking, free newspapers at the lobby, and friendliest, did I say friendliest well meaning staff that we've ever encountered; in particular WADE, maintenance/go to guy, who is not only knowledgeable, but personable, helpful, and a rare caring person. This is a must stay destination.

Nice partial ocean views, very clean, quiet, and well cared units. THIS IS A MUST STAY ORANGE COUNTY OCEAN VIEW/ACCESS DESTINATINON.

Room Tip: Request end units if available on 2nd or 3rd floors for partial ocean views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank fly24fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoSurf, General Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

WOW! Thank YOU. We strive to make your stay memorable and your kinds words really touch us! Your review was shared with our team and Wade will be recognized for the excellent service he provided you (as he does with all of our guests). Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience and feedback with us and your fellow travelers. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Amanda Burgess, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The location and the comfort of the Surfside Inn would be hard to match when visiting seaside California. Our one bedroom unit was clean and inviting. It was more than adequate for a lovely fall week at the beach. The oversize jacuzzi tub in our bathroom was a surprise, but perhaps Boomer-age surfer guests who desire a soak use theirs. There is an outdoor hot tub and pool overlooking the Pacific Coast Highway and the ocean. The kitchen was well-equipped and the outdoor grill on our balcony was a big plus. Even though we took advantage of the great restaurants in the area, we grilled three nights of our stay. Not many places offer a grill with each unit and this definitely was a plus in our book. This was our second stay here and we were pleased to have an ocean view. However last time we stayed on the "back side" of the building and found that to be super quiet, lovely, and relaxing. The ocean side is quite busy and great for people watching, as well as seeing the California coast trains zip past.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoSurf, General Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Hi Eva,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the kind words! It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us and we're so happy to hear it! Hopefully you can come stay with us again soon!
Amanda Burgess, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Just spent a wonderful week at the Capistrano Surfside Inn. The check-in was the easiest we have ever experienced. We were immediately offered help with our luggage.The wonderful front desk staff was so efficient and friendly and the resort manager personally welcomed us. Our spacious 2 bedrm, 1 full bath with separate sink in 2nd bdrm., wonderful ocean views across the street from Doheny Beach, fully equipped kitchen, comfortably furnished, ceiling fans in both bdrms, central air, sparkling pool overlooks ocean, gas BBQ on the balcony of every unit. Free wifi with excellent technician available if questions. Great location: Costco 5 minutes away, Walmart, Target, Dana Point for our whale watching excursion, San Juan Capistrano Mission including garden tour, Hennessey's Tuesday 2 for 1 Burgers, Regency $6 Tuesday shows. This resort has it all. We can't wait to return to this wonderful resort.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Carole3933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapoSurf, General Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Carole, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love to have you as our guest again soon!
Amnanda Burgess, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews