We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
US$157
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel(Dana Point)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$209
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$977
US$549
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$783/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$604
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
71
42
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
42
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchensan clementepool and jacuzzione bedroom unitbeach chairstime shareliving roomthrough rciocean viewmexican restaurant right next doorgas grillrocky beachwonderful weekboogie boardstrain trackslocation is greatbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This resort is Fabulous and the staff knows the true value of customer service. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable.Location of this resort is excellent, right across from the beach and the hotel lets you check out beach chairs,umbrellas,beach toys and bikes. I would highly recommend this resort to everyone who is looking for a good stay and beachside fun!!!! And thank you Amanda, Wade and hotel stuff for going above and belong to making our stay absolutely amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room!!!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lghairqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much - reviews like this give us motivation! We always put our guests first and it's great to see what we do here at Capistrano Surfside Inn is making a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

My husband has been coming to Surfside since he was a small child. Nothing extravagant about it but clean & meets our needs! We are always happy with our stay here and its in a great location in Southern California. We always stay in an oceanfront 2 BR 2 Bath unit. The resort has beach chairs , sand toys & bikes to checkout which is a great bonus when traveling by air & long distances.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks Kelly! We're always happy to have guests who return again and again. Happy you enjoy your time with us here at Capistrano Surfside Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We stayed at 7 time share resorts and hotels on our recent trip and this was the best of the bunch. Everything was great. It is located right across the street from the beach. It is easy to get to and has free dedicated parking on site. The building is not especially remarkable but every part is beautifully maintained. It has a very nice small pool and hot tub right out front. The room was wonderful. It has lots of space, very nicely decorated and all new. There was nothing old or worn out like several RCI resorts we have been to. The beach-facing balcony is enclosed just enough that we were very comfortable even with a pretty strong wind. There is a large high-end barbecue grill on the balcony, completely clean and ready to go. I think I could live there for a while.

Room Tip: Get a beach view room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Oh my... best of the bunch! That's so great to hear. Thank you, Allen, for such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We have been staying here annually for many years...since it was first built. It is a great location with the beach right across the PCH...not more than a half a block's walk. The hotel is centrally located near Dana Point and provides ample space for stretching out for a long-deserved break. Each room has a kitchen so you can cook for yourself or eat out at many of the nearby restaurants...even next door. Most rooms sleep 4 easily with the Sea Captains at the ends, comfortably fitting a larger family. Great place to stay to unwind.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the ends of the hallway to avoid the elevator traffic.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kingcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thanks for the great review - come back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This place is disgusting in more ways than one. We used Hotels Tonight to book a room here. Upon check-in they didn't have our reservation on file, but in the end they were able to find us a room. The room spelled like cat urine and the shower flooded the entire bathroom. A squeegee on a stick was their solution to this problem.

In the morning the hotel staff was apologetic and admitted that the bathroom floor wasn't graded correctly and that they've been trying to get the urine smell out of the room for a long time. They said they would try and get us a full refund.

The General Manager Amanda Burgess rejected the refund request twice. The rationale was that we didn't complain during our stay, that there were other rooms available, and that the room didn't smell or have flooding issues. We did complain, the staff admitted to these known issues, and upon check-in the night receptionist basically told us we were lucky to get the room he found for us.

This place needs to get its act together. Gross accommodations and horrible management. Avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid it altogether. Gross.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Capistrano Surfside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Noah, we would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at (949) 240-7681.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews