We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$775.00
More Info
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
710
83
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
83
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brownie underwater viewing pods sea lions whale watching fast cat common dolphins see whales great trip large pod of dolphins an incredible experience their natural habitat bottle nose dolphins boat ride sea sickness saw dolphins nice boat southern california
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Have been on 2 of Captain Dave's cruises so far. Excellent experience both times (even though I got a little seasick the 2nd time)! Love being on a boat that is smaller than most of the dolphin/whale-watching cruise boats, and appreciate that they cap the # of passengers so everyone can get a great view!

Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Hi,

Thanks very much for writing us a review. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed our dolphin and whale watching tours. As you mentioned, we do limit the number of passengers on our catamarans so that no trip is ever overcrowded, and we feel that it really does make a difference as far as the comfort of our guests and for easy viewing of the wildlife. Thanks again for coming out. We appreciate your repeat business, and we look forward to having you join us on another safari soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Everyone was so kind and knowledgeable. Not only did we see whales, but we also saw a pack of about 50 dolphins swimming along side the boat. This tour was a once in a lifetime experience, worth the money 100%.

Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review. I’m very glad you were pleased with our staff, and that we were able to provide you with an unforgettable dolphin and whale watching safari. It’s wonderful that you enjoyed spending time with these amazing whales and beautiful pod of dolphins. I hope we will see you on another trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

We've gone on whale watching tours in Maine and Alaska this was much better. The captain and the naturist were both very knowledgeable and made the experience very enjoyable and the close ups of grey whales and dolphins was thrilling.

Thank fritz1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hi,

Thanks for writing us a review. I’m so happy that you enjoyed your dolphin and whale watching safari, and we are proud to hear that your trip with us surpassed your previous tour experiences. It’s great that our captain and crew were able to provide up-close, informative encounters with impressive Gray Whales and wild dolphins. I hope we’ll see you on another trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

I was a little hesitant as I get sea sick, but the sea was fairly calm and the trip was so interesting I didn't even get close to being sick. The catamaran is very stable on the water and these is place to be out in the open or under cover. We followed a large pod of dolphin and, provided you're not claustrophobic, there is the option to go down into the clear hulls and watch the Dolphins swim all around you. We were also very glad to track a pad of 3 whales as they breached and dived lazily through the ocean. All the while the captain provided interesting facts and commentary. Highly recommend doing this if you're in the area.

Thank AlexisZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hi,

Thank you for your review and recommendation, and for sharing your photos! I’m so pleased you were able to spend time with some awe-inspiring whales and beautiful dolphins. It’s wonderful to hear that sea sickness did not interfere with your enjoyment of the dolphin and whale watching safari. To minimize the chances of any anticipated discomfort, we recommend going as early as possible for calmer ocean conditions and a smoother ride. Our catamarans are more stable than regular boats, and we also offer sea sickness remedies for sale at our check-in area. I’m very happy that you enjoyed our crew’s interesting narration about the animals. Every trip has an experienced marine naturalist on board so our safaris are both fun and educational. Is there anything we could improve upon to earn a 5-star review from you next time? Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Wasn't really sure what to expect on this outing, but I was pleasantly surprised. They have two boats, we ended up on the larger one since that was the only one available when we looked online. I would recommend the larger boat as it has the "pods" for underwater viewing.

Within 20 minutes of leaving the harbor, Captain Tom found us a Humpback whale. Really impressive animal that we followed around for about 45 minutes with it breaching multiple times and smacking the water surface with it's fin.

After that we found some Gray whales and later a pod of around 10 female Gray whales. We were told that a pod of that size was something you don't normally see. The Gray whales don't full body breach like the Humpback, so you can only see the spout and the tops of their backs.

Normally at this point we would try and fine some Dolphins, but for some reason or another there weren't any to be found. What we did find was a Fin Whale, which according to the Captain they haven't seen in over a year, so I guess it was a decent trade off.

Definitely worth the trip and from what we experienced these people know their whales really well as there were only a few times where we were changing locations and didn't see any whales. Would probably go again just to see what the Dolphins are like when viewing from the "pod". I would also make sure you bring sunscreen so you don't end up getting sunburned.

Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielleA, Owner at Capt. Dave's Dolphin & Whale Watching Safari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review. I’m so glad you enjoyed the dolphin and whale watching safari, viewing multiple different kinds of whales from our catamaran Manute’a. Seeing that many Gray Whales at once definitely doesn’t happen on every trip, and it sounds like you witnessed some wonderful surfacing behaviors from the Humpback Whale. I wish we could have shown you some dolphins though. Most of our trips do encounter a large number of them each time. Southern California has more dolphins than anywhere else in the world! It’s an unforgettable experience to get eye to eye with these playful and intelligent animals through our Underwater Viewing Pods as they swim by the boat. Thanks for visiting us! We’d love to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews