We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
6
6
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
6
1
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great stay front desk staff great hotel furnishings amenities property lobby bathroom beds
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Location
The hotel is located about 15-20 mins from downtown LA. (does take up to 45 mins to LAX in moderate morning traffic by car). The neighbourhood around the hotel seems to be a mix of mainly Spanish/Chinese owned/targeted establishments. There is a housing neighbourhood close to the hotel. In general looks to be a decent neighbourhood. It is about 5 mins to the interstate.

Check In
Arrived at the hotel around 9 pm into a very quiet lobby. Was served and checked in within minutes. Friendly staff and recognized as an IHG elite member. The whole check in process was done within 10 mins (checking in for 2 rooms) after arriving.

The lobby itself was very large and it reminded me very much of quite a number of larger hotels in China from deco point of view - lots of large vases with oriental motif, furnitures clearly of oriental origin.

Room
As the hotel is recently quite new/renovated, the hall way and all facilities leading to the room was very well kept and bright. Room size itself was very good, large and spacious for a deluxe room.
View from the room was towards the back of the houses next to the hotel. Other than that, nothing really to faul about the furnishing in the room. One of the better Holiday Inn that I've stayed in.

Bathroom was also quite large fitting 2 average sized persons comfortably without bumping into each other. Water and temperature was good. Only small complain was that even with the shower curtains, water tend to leak and wet the floor.
Internet connection was complimentary and both speed and connectivity was good.

The only main complain is the disturbance from both the neighbouring rooms and hallway. In general at quite a number of hotels this is an issue, but at this property it seems to be slightly worst. If the tv is tuned down, you can hear more or less every single word of your next door room neighbour. The same for the noise from the hallways, you can hear every single word if someone passes your door.

Other than that, sleep quality is good with not much disturbances from outside during my stay.

Dining
Although I did not partake in any of the dining, the property seem to have a only 1 establishment which is actually a Chinese restaurant. From the menu, it seems that it is quite a good one with authentic and reasonably priced dishes. They do have some western dishes on offer.

Service
Based on my limited interaction with the hotel staff both at check-in and check-out, the staff all seem to be friendly and always willing to help. My impression is that they are customer service oriented.

Overall
Although not in downtown LA, this HI in general is a one of the much better HI that I've stayed in the US. The price is reasonable for the standard and especially being relatively close to LA downtown.
Would certainly return to this property if I am in the area. Only main possible issue could be the thin walls.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

The first impression of this hotel is fine, but this hotel does in my opinion not meet the IHG standards. The room is from size ok, but the noise isolation is bad. What was really bad was the noise of the HVAC system. I’m not referring to the airco of the room, but the one of the hotel: the entire building seemed to vibrate.
What was really bad, was the breakfast buffet. You have to buy a breakfast coupon at the lobby, you cannot buy one in the restaurant or pay cash/ use creditcard. The buffet was very limited for Western food, there was a lot more choice for Chinese people. I understand this hotel is in an area with a lot of Chinese people, but that should not imply typical American breakfast is this limited (e.g. No youghurt, very limited choice of fruit -orange and melon, cold scrambled eggs...)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Erbee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel has a nice lobby. Easy parking. Rooms are clean but not a lot of amenities. Ours has a microwave and a refrigerator. Both are very handy.

The breakfast is very expensive for the food you get. At $10 per person you get basically the same stuff as the free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express. The supposedly hot dishes are not fresh and not hot. For a hotel that is cater to Chinese customers you would think they would have some good Chinese breakfast selections.

Also, I have never been to a hotel that only one guest gets a free breakfast with an upgrade and the other guest has to pay.

Save your money and drive down Valley Blvd and get some better breakfast. There are many choices.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Planecover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Compared to most of the other new IHG properties I've stayed at this place is just average. I booked it because it was listed as a new property, and showed a heated outdoor pool as an amenity. The outside of the property and the lobby are very impressive but that's where it ends. Although the rooms are oversized the furnishings are basic and the beds aren't as comfortable as other new Holiday Inns I've stayed at recently. The rooms don't have the blackout shades most of the newer properties have and the bathroom was very poorly lit with just a narrow strip light on either side of the mirror shaving was a challenge. House keeping was also a disappointment as our room didn't get soap and shampoo replenished until our 4th night. Also on our 4th night we returned to the room at 4:30pm to get ready for a night out to find our room hadn't even been cleaned yet. The pool also ISN'T heated the water was ice cold. There is a small hot tub that will seat about 3-4 adults but it was full of kids so we couldn't get in. There is an attached restaurant with a large menu that caters mostly to Asian cuisine. So unless you like spicy or seafood there's really only 4 choices on the menu for Western choices. The bacon wrapped filet and lamb were both excellent served with asparagus, mashed potatoes, and gourmet onion rings at $27.99 each. Breakfast is only included with certain room categories but there's an amazing donut shop diagonally across from the McDonald's.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

First class place with the new hotel smell still . Ironically my meeting canceled so after a nap, and a couple cups of coffee I left without staying the night , but I I did stay long enough to be patting myself on the back for selecting it. I was the only anglo in the place as it seem the other clientele were exclusively Chinese. Everyone was friendly, professional, the area was close to lots of restaurants etc. The room was excellent and the bedding and bed super lush. And although I did not get to enjoy the included breakfast I had the feeling it was going to be top notch like overthinking else. They also had an Asian restaurant instead of the standard boring American fare and the menu looked great.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nielsh928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews