We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$170
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge(Cardiff-by-the-Sea)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Moonlight Beach(Encinitas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfhouse Boutique Hotel(Encinitas)(Great Value!)
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
178
155
48
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
155
48
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone stepsroom was cleanmoonlight beachbagelswalking distance to restaurantsfarmers marketsmall hotelcontinental breakfastshort walkshower headwould definitely stay here againgreat value for the pricerailroad tracksnice stayquiet neighborhoodsan diegocoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I’ve been a native San Diegian since 1991, and have owned several homes throughout the years. Whenever I’ve had family, or friends looking for nice affordable local hotel/motel, Ive ALWAYS recommended The Econo-Lodge locates just off North Highway 101 at Moonlight Beach. The reasons are simple; very affordable and very comfortable rooms! The owners take pride in assuring their guests are comfortable. The beds and amenities are quality!....and for usual much less than the local competing hotels in the area! [Danny] has been a regular manager at the hotel and is as pleasant as they come! I’ve stayed there many times throughout my years of living in and out of SD County. Whenever anyone asks me where they should consider landing while staying in SD, I always tell them The Econo-Lodge of course! 5 STARS⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and comfortable. I’m a big pillow freak and theirs are the best!!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank ASatisfiedCustomer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

ASatisfiedCustomer18,

Thank you for your kind comments and 5 star rating of Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach Hotel. Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team. We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I have stayed at Hotels in many Countries. I give this place a 5 rating for their constant efforts to accommodate their guests. Daniel was very helpful in getting us a room and asking in the morning how our room and stay were. Now, where can you go and get a clean room with a good bed for under $100.00? The location is great for a walk to the cliff overlooking the beautiful beach. The included breakfast has make your own pancake which was a thrill for a family with 2 small kids I observed. I also like how they have the mini muffins and the coffee is good. Thank You Daniel and I will return

Room Tip: I liked the 2nd floor but there is no elevator
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeggyChism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Your feedback is very welcome as it helps us to continuously grow and evolve. Thank you for sharing your honest comments pertaining to our bed and location. We hope to see you again to deliver you with a 5 star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

You can pretty much get anything within 3/4 mile walk along 101. Front Desk Danny is amazing- they better hold on to that guy. The only reason this didn't get 4 stars is due to poor wifi (which is known and intending to be upgraded). Room was incredibly comfy and clean- felt like a higher level hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Wojo610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for being a valued guest and for providing us the feedback regarding our front desk and room. It is our ever present goal to provide each guest with the highest level of service; so thank you for your business and for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Only a few items of interest, the parking lot iOS small but adequate the rooms a kind of small but very adequate, very little outside noise, but the aircondlting may be a little loud so wear ear plugs. Breakfast is typical on the road stuff, cereal, pancakes, coffee, juice, toast etc.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rear is good
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChandlerBing37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

We appreciate the time you've taken to rate your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our parking and breakfast. We hope to see you again to provide you with an exceptional level of service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Our stay at EconoLodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach was not amazing. The staff used to be very friendly. Now that Sameer is gone, the great customer service has gone with him. Daniel has a poor attitude and personality. Danny double billed us then blamed our bank. He tried to steal our money. This used to be a great hotel, but with Danny at the front desk it's quickly turned. We would like a full refund for our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west end quieter. Train noise on east end.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GypsyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such an unusual circumstance and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us. We would like you to know that guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us and your feedback has been forwarded to management. We truly thank you again for sharing your feedback and for your valuable business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews