We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place, avoid it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay of Plenty Lodge
Reviewed 9 May 2015

- This experience happened to us in Feb 2015-

After spending 3 awesome nights in Blue Lagoon, we went to BOP (as we had booked it in advance...) and it was terrible.

We were 3 of us and when we arrived we were the only guests in "the resort" if you can call it "resort".

The people who run the place were sleeping on the ground and when they saw us coming, they barely got up to greeting us... The view from the rooms was very nice.. (The only nice thing...) BUT the room was terrible, plenty of ants everywhere, no a/c just a fan and the bathroom was quite dirty.

The 3 of us were negatively surprised but we said, ok let's give it a try, let's have lunch and after we think what to do... When we went for lunch (after waiting long time), the lunch was an egg with 3 slides of cucumber... and the women said "typical Fijian food" ..

We looked each other like ":0 we have to leave this place immediately" .. So we went to our rooms and started talking about how to leave this place in good way.. obviously we didn't want them to feel bad but we couldn't spend our night at that place.. So we went to reception and tell to the women we wanted to go back to blue lagoon because we needed Internet for working and in BOP there was no internet as they advertised. What was true.

The women said that we had to look for the captain's boat and talk to him, and that we had to pay the lunch... So my friend and I went to the village looking for the captain (young guy) and he was sleeping, we had to call him several times but finally he wore up, so we ask him to bring us back to blue lagoon, but he said he had to call the manager of BOP who was in the main island.... After a while he said he could bring us back but he needed fuel, and we had to pay for the fuel...

My bf went with him to take the fuel but they were taking so long and, so my friend and I were worried as it started being dark, finally they appeared with the boat (around 5:30pm) and we left to blue lagoon ....

We paid the captain guy (nice guy) about 80 FJD for bringing us to blue lagoon and fortunately in blue lagoon there were rooms for us :)

I honestly don't recommend this place , it is very expensive (fortunately we weren't charged ), the place itself is not nice, you don't have beach to swim around and there are many other beautiful places in the yasawas to go (I.e: blue lagoon, - the best- , octopus etc)

Room Tip: Don't go there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lili_c_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2015

I feel terrible for writing this review, as I know its their livelihood and income, but something needs to be said.

My partner and I were doing a round the world trip last year and decided to do some island hopping while in fiji. We booked Bay of Plenty for our 4th night on the chain, and were used to the little boats coming to the ferry and dropping off and picking up.
When we were due to go to BoP, we should have seen the warning signs.. All the staff on the ship looked surprised when we said we were staying, and the boat that came to pick us up, didnt drop anyone off, and only picked us two up!

We arrived and were made to walk across loads of mud, as this is set in the mangroves. it also makes it pretty dirty and smelly on approach.

The woman greeted us as made us some lunch, and then asked us to pay her. It was so informal, and she didnt even know how much we owed her.

so we paid, and spent the afternoon chilling out. As we were THE ONLY PEOPLE staying at the resort, they put us in a hilltop bure which sounded lovely, but it was the beginning of a nightmare.

The bure was dirty, and the bug screens were torn and ripped all around. there was a bunk bed next to the double bed, a chair and nothing else.

At dinner, we saw the list of activities including cava ceremonies and snake charming, but as we were the only people there we felt awkward asking them to provide entertainement for us, and just went to bed.

At around 9pm, we noticed ants on the floor. by about 11pm, there were more and we tried to spray them.

by 4am, after not sleeping a wink from the mosquitos everywhere, i looked down at the floor and realised that it wasnt the darkness making the floor black.. it was ants.
the floor was black with ants.

we too refuge on the top bunk of the bed, and tried to ignore them until the sun came up. We couldnt go and tell anyone or get help, as there was nobody there. they had gone back to the village to their own homes.. we just had to wait until morning.

by the morning, we literally hadnt slept, and were so pissed off. there were ants in all of our things.. everywhere.. we couldnt even shake our clothes off outside because there was nowhere to leave our bags away from the ants.

We spoke to the woman in the morning, and we tried to be as polite as possible. She didnt say much, and didnt really apologise. We didnt get any money back, but they did let us use the kayaks for free (as there was nothing to do we had to get away from the resort!)

when it was about the time to leave to catch the ferry, we asked if they were ready to take us. They made up some story about how the boat wasnt coming today, and that we would need to pay them $60 ($30 each) to take us to our next resort. this was obviously a lie, because the boat was running every day and we had confirmed with the captain.. but there was nothing we could do.. we were stuck..

so we didnt pay, and told them we would pay them on arrival at the next resort. this was in the hopes that we could explain to the next resort, who would know it was a lie, and they would turn back on their word out of embarrassment.. no such luck.

we waited on a sand bar in the ocean while they drove off with our bags to get fuel and didnt come back for at least half an hour. i honestly thought we had been robbed and they had just left us.. it was horrible.

they eventually came back, and did loads of stops along the way at friends houses or to just have a smoke, then eventually we arrived at the next resort.

we were made to pay around 100m off shore, or they wouldnt take us in.. there was nothing we could do..

the whole 24 hours is a bit laughable now, it sounds like im exaggerating but im not..

i just wish they could go back to the resort they once were.. its such a shame!

Room Tip: please dont stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Stumpymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We pay too much for what we get. The bure was very old and not clean. There were ants everywhere in the room. We did not have any running water at first. Once the problem solved, what we got is a VERY muddy water. Shower and toilets were blocked. Mosquito window screens had huge holes.
The food wasn't good, and too little. There was no snack or drinks available during the day. There is nothing like a "bar" and "restaurant"as advertised.Staff was not friendly and tried to rip us off a couple of times. Bad beach in front of the resort. Have to walk 30 min to a nice beach.
Very disappointing after a 5 hour boat ride from Nadi. We left after one night.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MorganeJaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

I didn't have very high expectations of this place when I arrived, however it turned out to be a wonderful stay. I was at Bay of Plenty for four nights and for two of them I was the only guest.

Positives:
- Exceptionally peaceful
- Beautiful surroundings with the village next door
- Picturesque 30 minute walk to the pristine Long Beach
- Large serves or food
- Friendly family
- Great hiking

Negatives:
- No beach, but there's plenty more to do
- A serious ant problem in the bures. My entire floor was black with ants and they frequented the bed. (Bring mortein/strong bug spray) I was covered in ant bites and unfortunately one got very infected- but that was just bad luck.
- Price- although it was quite cheap, I still believe it was overpriced. I read in the awesome adventures booklet that the resort had free boat transfers to the resort from the big boat and they would transfer you for free to the nearby beaches, however it was $30 pp for the boat transfer and $35 pp to the beach. Kayaking was $15pp.
-No water for an entire day, which meant the toilet was unable to flush and no showers/drinking water, but maybe this was a rare occurrence.
- Cleanliness- the toilet had not been cleaned and was quite filthy when I arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbow_willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

So, I just wrote a really long review, but then it disappeared...so let me try a shorter version:

Amazing people, great food, beautiful grounds. If you want to relax and have great experiences with Fijian people, this is the place for you. You will feel like a part of their family by the time you leave. You can hike, kayak, snorkel, go for boat rides, dig for cockles, and really just relax. The kava ceremony we participated in over in the neighboring village was one of the most fun and authentic experiences we've had during the last 7 months of travel. We think about Jerry, Rosa, and family often. We hope you are doing well!!

-John and Anna

P.S.

Have a look at this short video we put together of our experience.

http://rtdub.com/2014/07/29/fiji-video-postcard/

If you want to see more of Bay of Plenty, then feel free to take a look at our Fiji blog posts on that same website (www.rtdub.com).

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank John80302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matacawalevu Island
0 km away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
0 km away
Coralview Island Resort
Coralview Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
433 reviews
0 km away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Matacawalevu Island
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Waitui Basecamp
Waitui Basecamp
#1 of 4 in Matacawalevu Island
19 reviews
0 km away
Isa Lei Glampsite
Isa Lei Glampsite
#3 of 4 in Matacawalevu Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Plenty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Plenty Lodge

Address: | Bay of Plenty, 679, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Matacawalevu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Matacawalevu Island
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay of Plenty Lodge is located in the Yasawa Group of Islands in Fiji. We have a 21 bed unisex dormitory and 4 private bure with a breathtaking view. We have a dining/lounge area big enough for a group of 30 people and we have various activities available to keep our guests occupied for their duration of their stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay of Plenty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing