We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$227
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$189
Kimpton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn(Goleta)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,526)
Filter reviews
2,526 results
Traveller rating
1,458
446
278
196
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,458
446
278
196
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbacara resortsanta barbarabistro restaurantbeautiful resortspa cafeangel oakhigh end resortgarden viewpartial ocean viewwine tastingwine countrylobby barocean frontthe entire stafffitness centervalet parkingtar
Filter
Updating list...
1,897 - 1,902 of 2,526 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

I love this place. Quiet private and upscale all in one. A great weekend get away. Good restaurants to dine at and the Spa amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thanks so much for your kind comments about your stay at the resort.

It’s most appreciated and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I just came back from Paradise! I spent eight glorious days at the
Bacara Resort & Spa located in the city of Goleta, next to Santa
Barbara California. The beauty of the white Mediterranean style
Structures surrounded by the natural beauty of its location by the
Pacific Ocean coast, private and tranquil surroundings, all help
provide for an amazing place to rest and relax. The services provided
by the friendly and professional staff, working at Bacara, was
outstanding. We had the opportunity to use the amazing Spa facilities,
and eat at some of the great restaurants within the resort. We were
very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. We had
Brunch at Miro, Bacara's fine dining restaurant. An awesome setting,
offering spectacular views of the ocean welcomed us to an amazing
culinary experience. The quality, variety, and artistic display of the
multiple buffets were out of this world. In addition, as if this was
not enough, we were entertained by the most beautiful live Spanish
music all during brunch. Each time we returned to our room it was like
magically cleaned. A true feast for the senses! We can’t wait
for a chance to go back. A great place to go on vacation. An absolute
paradise.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MamiLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed so much of the magic that is Bacara. Our Sunday Brunch is indeed a treasure.

We hope that you will return soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We attended Bacara Resort for a wedding last weekend and wow, were we ever let down. You'd think that for a huge and expensive wedding being held on the property (and with the hosts paying for many of the guests' rooms), the staff would make some effort to do a decent job for these 'high rollers.' Well, Bacara Resort was just amateur hour all over the place.

First of all, when we arrived at 5PM on a Friday after a long flight and long drive up from LA, our room was not ready. At 5PM. The reason? Because "many guests checked out later than expected." And we were supposed to just accept this like an Act of God -- as if guests checking out late was on a par with a hurricane. Umm, no. But when they take your credit card for incidentals, they charge $1400 to it. Hope you have a high credit limit, because that's one heck of a lot of incidentals.

When we finally got our room, the ice container was still full of water from the previous occupants. GROSS. I hope the housekeeping staff at least changed the sheets on the bed.

The valets damaged our rental car.

The restaurants on the property are all so expensive that you almost HAVE to leave to get food, but of course the more times the valets get your car, the more likely they are to crash it. They scuffed up our wheel well. Thankfully the rental car company didn't charge us for it.

When they came to clean our room on the second day, they took away all the toilet paper. As in, they took the half-finished roll OUT of the bathroom and didn't give us any more. My husband didn't realize this until he was, ahem, using the bathroom. Again, completely amateurish and unbelievable for a resort that costs so much. I'd expect more from a Howard Johnson.

The rooms themselves are nice, and the property is nice, but the people running the place don't seem to have a clue what they're doing. Highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay at Bacara. I am extremely grateful you shared your concerns. Please also know that each one of your comments will be directed to the appropriate hotel department, where necessary steps will be taken to help ensure that your experience is not repeated. Your constructive criticism is a gift to us, and we intend to make the most of it. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Waited long to check into our room. Waited longer for food and service at the restaurants. Waited forever for anyone and drinks at the pool. Kids screaming everywhere. Wedding music blasting through the building at all hours. Noisy neighbors coming and going at all hours. If this sounds like a relaxing weekend, Bacara's your place. No thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am so very sorry you had a less than peaceful stay. The summer is our busiest time for families-so I hope you will consider giving us another chance and return this fall. As a resort that serves thousands of guests a year, many of whom return year after year, I know we are capable of meeting the public’s highest standards. Return guests provide our entire staff with a feeling of "job well done" and that is a goal to which we all always aspire.

I sincerely hope that can be you.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our daughter got married at the Bacara last weekend. It was a fairytale wedding. All of the staff really outdid themselves. Everything was perfect from the ocean front lawn for the ceremony, to the outdoor cocktail party, food, beverage, service was excellent, pastry chef made a delicious cake, our room had a great view, our daughter and her husband had a beautiful honeymoon suite. We worked with Ali Hodek for the past few months - she was top notch and very professional. If you can afford it, have your wedding at the Bacara!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chindig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thanks so much for your review and for your kind words of praise for our team member Ali. She does exemplify the kind of guest service we are proud to provide.
I am so pleased your daughter has the special distinction of being a "Bacara Bride".

We hope to see you and your family often.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews