We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at resort, July 15. Had a wonderful experience from check in to check out.My background is Hotel business. Presently own my own business putting on corporate meetings.

Front desk,roomservice, waitservers, operators, bellstaff and engineering who replaced a broken clock in my room within 5 minutes was all a first class experience.

Hotel seemed to be in top shape physically but what really impressed me was the consisent high level of service. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,758 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

I love this place. Quiet private and upscale all in one. A great weekend get away. Good restaurants to dine at and the Spa amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thanks so much for your kind comments about your stay at the resort.

It’s most appreciated and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I just came back from Paradise! I spent eight glorious days at the
Bacara Resort & Spa located in the city of Goleta, next to Santa
Barbara California. The beauty of the white Mediterranean style
Structures surrounded by the natural beauty of its location by the
Pacific Ocean coast, private and tranquil surroundings, all help
provide for an amazing place to rest and relax. The services provided
by the friendly and professional staff, working at Bacara, was
outstanding. We had the opportunity to use the amazing Spa facilities,
and eat at some of the great restaurants within the resort. We were
very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. We had
Brunch at Miro, Bacara's fine dining restaurant. An awesome setting,
offering spectacular views of the ocean welcomed us to an amazing
culinary experience. The quality, variety, and artistic display of the
multiple buffets were out of this world. In addition, as if this was
not enough, we were entertained by the most beautiful live Spanish
music all during brunch. Each time we returned to our room it was like
magically cleaned. A true feast for the senses! We can’t wait
for a chance to go back. A great place to go on vacation. An absolute
paradise.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MamiLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed so much of the magic that is Bacara. Our Sunday Brunch is indeed a treasure.

We hope that you will return soon.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We attended Bacara Resort for a wedding last weekend and wow, were we ever let down. You'd think that for a huge and expensive wedding being held on the property (and with the hosts paying for many of the guests' rooms), the staff would make some effort to do a decent job for these 'high rollers.' Well, Bacara Resort was just amateur hour all over the place.

First of all, when we arrived at 5PM on a Friday after a long flight and long drive up from LA, our room was not ready. At 5PM. The reason? Because "many guests checked out later than expected." And we were supposed to just accept this like an Act of God -- as if guests checking out late was on a par with a hurricane. Umm, no. But when they take your credit card for incidentals, they charge $1400 to it. Hope you have a high credit limit, because that's one heck of a lot of incidentals.

When we finally got our room, the ice container was still full of water from the previous occupants. GROSS. I hope the housekeeping staff at least changed the sheets on the bed.

The valets damaged our rental car.

The restaurants on the property are all so expensive that you almost HAVE to leave to get food, but of course the more times the valets get your car, the more likely they are to crash it. They scuffed up our wheel well. Thankfully the rental car company didn't charge us for it.

When they came to clean our room on the second day, they took away all the toilet paper. As in, they took the half-finished roll OUT of the bathroom and didn't give us any more. My husband didn't realize this until he was, ahem, using the bathroom. Again, completely amateurish and unbelievable for a resort that costs so much. I'd expect more from a Howard Johnson.

The rooms themselves are nice, and the property is nice, but the people running the place don't seem to have a clue what they're doing. Highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay at Bacara. I am extremely grateful you shared your concerns. Please also know that each one of your comments will be directed to the appropriate hotel department, where necessary steps will be taken to help ensure that your experience is not repeated. Your constructive criticism is a gift to us, and we intend to make the most of it. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Waited long to check into our room. Waited longer for food and service at the restaurants. Waited forever for anyone and drinks at the pool. Kids screaming everywhere. Wedding music blasting through the building at all hours. Noisy neighbors coming and going at all hours. If this sounds like a relaxing weekend, Bacara's your place. No thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen C, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am so very sorry you had a less than peaceful stay. The summer is our busiest time for families-so I hope you will consider giving us another chance and return this fall. As a resort that serves thousands of guests a year, many of whom return year after year, I know we are capable of meeting the public’s highest standards. Return guests provide our entire staff with a feeling of "job well done" and that is a goal to which we all always aspire.

I sincerely hope that can be you.

Most Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
20.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
19.9 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,084 reviews
20.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
583 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
21.3 km away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474 (Formerly Bacara Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: S$469 - S$1,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Santa Barbara coast lies The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, we offer an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. Our resort in Santa Barbara, California features innovative and artful design that is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing