We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The Bacara Resort & Spa is paradise found and a superior stay from accommodations to location to exemplary service. We rented an ocean-front room and we thrilled to find the Bacara's idea of ocean-front and our idea of ocean-front were one in the same. There were no obstructions, no peeking out the side of our room straining our neck to see our ocean view...we were ON the ocean. The room was designed so that every window had a view of the ocean -- even the bathroom. Also, being located on a point and the way the other rooms were situated, we could not see any other room. It felt very private.

The room itself is very large and exquisite. We loved that the designer showed restraint in the accessories and limited even the pictures on the wall (there was one) as the view is the art. Everything in the room was designed for comfort, luxury, relaxation and centered on the fantastic view. The fireplace in our room produced such great heat that we were able to leave it on overnight and open our door to our patio to hear the waves crashing just beyond the dunes. In a bit of good luck, we had a nearly full moon so we were able to watch the waves rolling in as well as hear them.

The property itself is gorgeous. Every pathway is lighted, clean, level. The landscaping is lush and perfect. The pool area is truly breathtaking and our only disappointment is that we were not there is warmer weather to be able to take advantage of the pool and it's unbelievable cabana area.

We had room service deliver our breakfast in the morning. Promptly on time, the server laid out a beautiful arrangement on our back patio inclusive of flowers and tablecloth with everything well within our reach. With our view, we can't imagine there was any reason to go to the dining area. The choices for room service were varied and anything you could want was on the menu. Upon completing our breakfast, we called to have the table cleared and someone was sent immediately.

There is just not enough that can be said about the Bacara. It is one of the most outstanding resorts in which we've ever stayed and we can't wait to return. Everything was five-star perfection and they truly understand a level of service we haven't found too often in our travels. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the upgrade in price. You wont' believe anyone else is on the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,580 - 1,584 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our family arrived to an outgoing, warm & welcoming valet & bell staff which was almost exceded by this spectacular, mediterranean view of the California Coast. The front desk staff & concierge desk were extremely helpful & had gone out of there way to assist us with just about everything from car rental, restaurants in town, day trips, etc. Our villa was centrally located to the restaurant, spa & pools with an ocean view that was spectacular! Prompt & delicious room service was utilized for quick breakfast's and afternoon snacks. We can not wait to return to the Bacara Resort in the summer. I really can't say enough about this jewel.

Room Tip: Ocean View, villa in central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just returned from a five-night stay with my family from Bacara Resort and Spa in Goleta, CA, just outside of Santa Barbara. The setting and panaramic views were only surpassed by the service we received and the accomodations we were assigned. Eveyone from the grounds crew to the housekeeperd to the food and beverage staff in Miro and the bar could not have been more accomodating. Always there, willing and able when we needed them - invisible when we did not. Incidentally the resort has a great bar with a menu that makes it hard to decide what to order. Everything was just wonderful, but especially loved the chicken quesadilla. Margaritas were yummy as well. Sent my wife and kids for massages which they thoroughly enjoyed. Already planning our next trip back to this wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Pack a camera because the views from this resort are stunning. From our arrival at a courtyard entry drive resembling a Mediterranean Villa, to either of our rooms two verandas overlooking the Pacific, to an exquisite cliff side dining experience this property conjures old world elegance in an unprecedented manner. We found the staff to be completely approachable and professional. Every request was met and expectations were exceeded including room service (which I typically deplore). Most of our dining was off property however we saved Miro for our "special" birthday dinner for my wife and being foodies we were totally impressed with the menu and flavor profiles of the chef (how he gets those beignets so light is both sinful and genius). Other highlights were the nature walk, the spa, our walks to the beach and the five bunnies that ate breakfast each morning while we sat on our veranda with our coffee. There was a cold snap that prevented us from checking out the pool even though it was heated, but we are sure to spend part of our summer here as we are planning our return for our second experience.

Room Tip: We liked building #2 because it is next to Miro and at the top of the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Royce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our family drove through the beautiful gates at Bacara, into a Mediterranean resort on the California coast. The grand lobby was pure old time Cali with all the touches like fireplaces, big couches and wood ribbed ceilings. We were driven down to our villa and opened up to a view of the wonderful ocean and plantlife. The resort is loaded with lush trees, plants and cacti.
The lobby bar is a central gathering spot, with outdoor firepits and great bar food.
The huge spa has everything from treatments to a loaded fitness center.
Our meals were either at the Spa Cafe or Miro, facing the ocean. Excellent choices and fine food.
The accommodations vary, but our room had all the comforts of a fine resort.

Room Tip: The villas have either spa, pool or ocean locations, depending on your preference. There are hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
20.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
19.9 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
20.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
582 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
522 reviews
21.3 km away
Hotel Californian
Hotel Californian
#35 of 52 in Santa Barbara
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474 (Formerly Bacara Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: $470 - $1,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Santa Barbara coast lies The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, we offer an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. Our resort in Santa Barbara, California features innovative and artful design that is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing