We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Lovely Hosts”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
“Wonderful Stay, Lovely Hosts”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent several nights at the Applewood in in late December. Our room was fabulous, complete with private balcony and whirlpool bathtub, and a warm fireplace that kept us toasty in the cool evenings. Carols and Sylvia, who own the Inn, were very gracious and charming. The other staff we encountered were very attentive and helped us chose the perfect wine-tasting route and recommended a wonderful restaurant in town as their's was closed the night we arrived. Breakfast in the mornings was delicious! I would recommend the Applewood Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyguest663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
371
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My Fiancee and I stayed here for three nights and had an absolutely amazing time. The inn is very well maintained, the service is excellent and it if you're looking for a relaxing weekend with amazing cuisine, you absolutely have to stay here.

We enjoyed all the amenities to the fullest and can't wait for our next trip back!

Room Tip: If you stay in Guerneville, you have to eat at Boon Eat + Drink and get the Brussel Sprouts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband surprised me with a getaway to the Applewood Inn. We only live about 30 miles from the Inn, but wanted to escape the holiday frenzy for a night, plus he's always wanted to stay here... The redwoods, beautiful grounds, and peacefulness make it very inviting.

My hubby picked the Leonardo room and it was very nicely appointed...jacuzzi tub for two, Frette linens and towels, complimentary water (sodas at the main house are also available as well as tea and coffee), gas fireplace, robes, slippers, a balcony with a view of the courtyard and of course free WiFi. All in all a very romantic, beautiful, spacious, and relaxing room. I would have liked the bed to be a bit more plush, but we slept just fine nonetheless.

Upon check-in, we were asked if we would be dining on the premises at their acclaimed Michelin Star restaurant. We are vegan and noticed there wasn't anything on the menu that would fit our dietary needs. No problem! The Inn keeper called the restaurant and they happily agreed to make something special for us...and that they did. We had a wonderful meal, plus were able to enjoy more time in our room rather than having to drive elsewhere in the cold. They also accommodated us for breakfast. We felt that they went above and beyond and we really appreciated this. As a side note: the breakfasts that are included are incredible! They offer a great selection of homemade granola, yogurt, fruit, juices, oatmeal, espresso, and whatever the chef makes for that morning. On this day it was waffles and bacon (smelled so good!).

I would whole-hardheartedly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to stay in the area. It feels like an oasis that is very quaint and luxurious. Our drive there was not long, but it truly felt like an escape from everything. I'm a picky traveler and I loved it, even at the higher price that we paid.

Room Tip: The Leonardo room was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We never met the owners so have no clue what other guests are talking about. We had a wonderful time in the wine country but no thanks to the Applewood. Upon arriving we were told that we would have to go outside in the morning (in the rain) to get coffee. They had a pot in the lobby area but it was disabled so it would not disturb other guests. Come to find out, there were no other guests. To top it off, we returned (in the rain) from an evening out and the entire parking lot was full so we had to park almost a quarter of a mile away and move our vehicle in the middle of the night. No designated parking for Inn guests so if the restaurant is full, the parking lot is full and it is tough luck. This Inn lacked the comfort and charm it boasts of and guests are not as important as restaurant patrons. The breakfasts and the breakfast host was wonderful. We would not recommend or return no matter what deals they had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sande1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Steps from the heart of Guerneville sits the quaint, sweet, Tuscan-style Applewood Inn and Restaurant. My wife and I spent two nights there through a special on Jettsetter. Room was very nice and comfortable. Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was included, served in the restaurant and very good. All in all, a very comfortable and inviting place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
9.2 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
687 reviews
20.6 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,366 reviews
16.7 km away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
409 reviews
2.6 km away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
1.4 km away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price range (per night): $421 - $681
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing