We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cottages on River Road(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woods Resort at the Russian River(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Grove Cottages(Guerneville)
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Orchid Inn(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Applewood Inn And Spa(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
US$303
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
125
70
23
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
70
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvineyard viewswine countryroom was spacious and cleanspa treatmentscozy fireplacepatio areaget awaysmall townking suitewithin easy walking distancestaff was very friendly and helpfulnice pooldowntown guernevillepropertygroundssafewaysuggestions
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

So Guerneville is a trip. Literally and figuratively. It is a bit of a haul from Healdsburg on some windy little mountain roads. [Please be careful tasting and driving – especially at night.] Its also a journey back in time. (Actual quote: “Tie Die never went out of style on the river, man!”) Its just the funkiest, crunchiest, LGBT-friendly, hippy, cowboy town you’ll ever see. All of which is to say I kind of loved it. If swanky Yountville had an evil and opposite wine twin – Guerneville would probably be it.

If you are up for that off-the-beaten-path kind of wine trip, West Sonoma Inn & Spa is a great option. I was amazed at the size of our room, which included living space, fireplace, kitchenette/wet bar, and a deck. The view, which everyone mentions, is really very lovely - you’re at Korbel vineyard at the edge of a redwood forest. (A walk in the Armstrong Redwoods is not even 15 minutes away – and breathtaking.) It was cool when we stayed in April – and the room is actually heated by the gas fireplace – a feature I had never seen before – but found pretty neat and romantic. The rooms were very clean, recently redone and the stay was an incredible value.

The staff was overall very kind and helpful. They sent emails full of recommendations before our arrival and they pointed out directions and good suggestions on our wine map when we first arrived. Just by virtue of time and resources they won’t always be able to offer the same level of service as a larger hotel. (For example, we were visiting on Easter, and they didn’t have a good sense of what would be open and closed. We also had a flat tire on our day of departure and they weren’t really able to offer any assistance.) But if we wanted constant hovering service we’d be in Yountville. We were in Guerneville – having a wine adventure (and you will be too!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you for your review. I loved the way you summed up the charm of yester-year with the 'hate-free zone' stance that Guerneville exudes. We are definitely more than just a small, wine country town. So happy to see that you enjoyed your time here. We hope you'll come back to experience more!

Karen O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A little background............9 people traveled to Guerneville for the Vineman, 1/2 ironman and had rented a house in the area. Much to our chagrin, the house was disgusting and so, we were marooned in the sold out town of Guerneville in need of 4 rooms for a minimum of 3 nights. THANKFULLY, we came across the West Sonoma Inn and Spa.
I can’t say enough great things about this little gem of a hotel. The staff, and a special call out to Renee at the front desk, is friendly, accommodating, personable and truly nice people who are willing to assist whenever/wherever needed (think maps, suggestions etc). Although they couldn’t accommodate all of us, those of us that were lucky enough to have been a guest, were delighted on all accounts. And, I must also point out that room 119, with its larger space, small Jacuzzi, separate sitting room and premium shower is well worth the money!! My only suggestion would be to add a full length mirror!
The hotel is in a perfect location; walking distance to the center of town, plenty of restaurants and the beach. Check out Boon Restaurant and Cafe Patrick for a nice meal!!
The rooms have been recently updated with a pleasant decor, the towels are large and plush, the beds are super comfortable with down duvet covers and, I believe most rooms have a small kitchenette furnished with a refrigerator, microwave, sink and dishes and offer a small patio in which to enjoy the beautiful vineyards, vegetable garden and other glorious views.
Unfortunately my husband wants to do Vineman again next year, but fortunately I now know where to stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you Dina. It was a pleasure hosting you and your party and we're delighted that you enjoyed our property and all that Guerneville and the surrounding area has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Karen and Naveed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Clean, modern and recently renovated with thoughtfully designed rooms. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on our first night (b/c of availability), then shifted to a room with a balcony and lovely view of the vineyards. Some rooms have little kitchenettes. Naveed and his staff were outstandingly helpful and generous hosts for our visit, offering many helpful suggestions of things to do and places to eat (including a stunning drive towards the coast and some great spots for brunch, also the restaurant at the Applewood Inn across the street), vineyard recommendations and tasting passes for many of the local places -- they deserve the highest marks for their help and ideas. The lobby area is spacious and modern if you need a spot to meet friends; there's also a swimming pool and fire pit -- we didn't use them while we were there, but this would be a great spot for winding down at the end of a day.

We had a great visit and would definitely stay here again. For anyone comparing WSIS to the Boon hotel, we thought this was better situated for walking down the main street to dinner, and that the tips from the staff really made our visit. Guerneville itself was a great central location for visits to the Russian River valley, coast and Sonoma valley up to Dry Creek valley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I am extremely happy with my choice to stay at The West Sonoma Inn. We stayed for five nights in one of the Inn’s Vineyard Cottage Suites that overlook the adjacent vineyards with a spectacular mountain view in the background. It was very relaxing to watch the morning and evening sun from the private deck which also has a wonderful two person hot tub. Our room was spacious, nicely updated, clean and well maintained with a small kitchen sink, microwave and fridge. The Inn is located on the edge of downtown Guerneville and is a very short walk to a dozen or so restaurants and cafes. The other lodging options we considered would not have been walkable to town. On weekends the Inn provides a very nice continental breakfast in the lobby area. There are outdoor seating areas under tall redwoods and a few small outdoor fire pits available for use in the evening. The pool is also a very nice amenity.

Our favorite restaurants during our stay were Boon eat + drink (lunch or dinner), Big Bottom Market (sandwiches) and Coffee Bazaar (coffee or breakfast) We also really enjoyed Stumptown Brewery which is a short drive away. On the more casual end of the spectrum definitely consider the taco truck parked at the end of the local grocery store parking lot. We also visited Armstrong Woods and Korbel Vineyards both of which are only minutes away. Further afield we found John Tyler and VML Vineyards in the Dry Creek Valley to be nice finds while the highlight of our trip was a dinner at Farmhouse Inn Restaurant.

All in all a great experience and very happy to have stayed at the Inn. Here is a link to nice review of the Guerneville area that was recently published in The New York Times travel section: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/17/travel/free-spirits-in-a-sonoma-hamlet.html

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we_bHiKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I was absolutely in love with this hotel. My husband and I went here on our 'mini' moon before a trip to Argentina (do you see a pattern here, we love wine!) and we're so delighted by what we found. Granted it was a while ago, the thought of going back made me check out their site/rates again. The front desk staff was so nice and went out of their way to made sure we were treated top notch. The rooms are clean and in good condition. I travel for my job and it was nice to feel as if I wasn't at work (at a chain such as Marriott or Sheraton). It was so peaceful and out in nature. It almost felt like camping, minus the uncomfortable sleeping bags and bugs.

During our stay, we walked to the Safeway which is only a short walk for some bread, and cheese and had dinner on our porch every night with the wine we bought from that days' adventure. This Inn is out of the hustle and bustle that is Sonoma and a beautiful drive through the Russian River Valley can be had every day while here. We took a day trip down the Bohemian Highway, through Jenner and drove south to Point Reyes. I would hands down recommend this place. It was very romantic and a memory we will have forever.

Room Tip: Request a Vineyard room, closest to the vineyard with grapes owned by Korbel (I believe) and a fireplace
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews