We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a low cost”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of rooms in this motel. I had read reviews that stated the rooms were not clean and they were just fine, nothing fancy, but worthy of the price. We saw inside a remodeled room and it looks very nice, however, they were only on the bottom floor and we prefer to be above to avoid the loud footsteps of others. The floors did squeak here and there and I would imagine it could be a little loud if you stay downstairs. The small continental breakfast was decent and the receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. You only want to stay here if you are planning on going on a fishing charter trip as it is close to the marina. Otherwise we would recommend a motel closer to the main streets in Half Moon Bay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank huber4reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us! We delighted that you enjoyed the location and appreciate your loyalty! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

The inn sits across Highway 1 on the north side. There is nothing around it except a breakfast/lunch coffee shop, a Japanese restaurant, and some residences. The Inn advertises that every room has an ocean view which is really stretching it. We were on the top floor of two stories and yes we could see the water if we looked across the street, across the parking lot of the Japanese restaurant, across Highway 1, across the parking lot for cars bringing their boats, and across the marina. It was a very filtered view to say the least. I am not sure you could see any water from the first floor rooms.

We paid extra for a remodeled room and should not have wasted our money. There was nothing remodeled about the room as the walls had pockmarks in it, the furniture looked like it was purchased at a flea market, and the room and bathroom generally lacked cleanliness. There is no elevator so you have to walk up the stairs which is not bad except for the hand rails were covered with bird doo.

It was a warm weekend and there is no air conditioning. Instead, the room comes equipped with two portable fans. For air you need to open the windows, but then you have the road noise from Highway 1.

The Inn advertises a continental breakfast served in the lobby. Well the lobby is extremely small as is the breakfast and not worth the trouble.

We stayed on a holiday weekend and, even though there are only about 17 rooms, the inn was not filled. We stayed here because all of the other hotels were booked or astronomically high. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I can't in good faith write a good review, although I'd like to just because the lovely lady at the front desk was so very pleasant. The room was shabby, and the bed seemed old and uncomfortable. The windows were very dirty inside and out and the 'harbor view' was actually across a very busy hiway. The windows are single pane and consequently the noise from the hiway was loud. We could also hear every word spoken by the guests in the next room. The online pictures looked better than the actuality and the price is too high for what is on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, General Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your most recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

I can't believe I even have to give this place one star... it's clearly a greedy family owned motel. We booked a room for the 3rd of July at 2:30pm. At 3:15 pm. We called to cancel the reservation because unfortunately I became ill. We called the front desk and explained the situation. One of the men of the family answered and told us that we would not get our money back. $217 mind you for a crappy motel. But it's the 4th of July weekend so it's to be expected. I asked to speak with the manager and he informed me that she was not there and would be in the next day. Later that evening I tried to book online out of curiosity if they were booked. Surprise they were! I also called and spoke with a man who remains unnamed because "they don't give out first names" around 11:00 pm. So they got double the $$ for one room. I called the next afternoon to speak the the manager. The women of the poorly run family hotel answered. Told us the manager wasn't there and would not even give me a first name of herself or the manager. After explaining to her that I was ill and we had called less then an hour after booking she had no compassion or empathy. Said we were out of our money. This is the most unprofessionally run motel. Most places answer the phone with a name and wear name tags. So the fact that she was so withholding and skeptical of giving out information leads me to believe that they do this all the time. DO NOT GIVE THIS "Inn" your MONEY!!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimi_B11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

It's small inn is a very good place for honeymoon. Clean rooms, good size of room, perfect shower. We stayed in renovated room. Front desk people are so friendly, accommodating and have good customer service. We arrived late night and woman who worked was so helpful and gave us information about round area and restaurants which we enjoyed with my wife. I will recomend this hotel for my friends when they will go to San Francisco because it's only 20 min from town. Thank you for great experience

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ertenqas18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Harbor View Inn and we cannot wait to have you come and stay with us again soon! Thank you for your review and your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
965 reviews
3 km away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
265 reviews
9.4 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
6.1 km away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 9 in Half Moon Bay
187 reviews
8.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $163 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing