We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
810
33
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
33
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenkoi pondbocce ballgarden suitebiscottivineyard suitessquires cottagesteve and cathi fowlercroquet courtcookiesangel oakmagnolia roomwine countrythought of everythingeach morningwet barthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Although there are many nice, "higher-end" places to stay in the wine country, this is my absolute favorite. Honestly, if we had known this place existed, we would have been to Healdsburg much more often in recent years.

We stayed in one of the villa suites and the room was lovely. It was big, and had a great walk-in shower, a soaking tub and a tub with jets in the large, private outdoor area. We spent a lot of time reading out there in the peace and quiet. But with all nice places, the devil is in the details, and I have literally never stayed in a place that actually was so thoughtful and made being guest easy--they got all of the details just right. These little things, a ring holder in the bathroom, a bottle of water to be used for the iron, a scissors in a drawer in one of the dressers, not to mention a tempurpedic mattress (!) and so much more, made it feel like the owners actually took the time to consider what it would be like to be a guest, and what people might actually need. At least for me, this is unheard of in the current hospitality industry.

We loved the privacy of the outdoor space and though the owners were lovely, we tend to be a more private couple and they left us alone. They were there when we needed them, but I never felt that creepy bed and breakfast anxiety that I often feel when at such a place. (BTW, it's not really a true bed and breakfast, but kind of like a cool hybrid of a resort and B&B.) I should mention that Tracy, the concierge, is a rock star and planned out everything we wanted to do, which involved some difficult to get into wine tastings. The resort is completely walkable to some great restaurants, in case you don't want to drive.

And if you like food, especially sweets, this place is a must-stay. You get a great breakfast, and appetizers and wine in the afternoon. And there are cookies, so many very delicious cookies. Our only wish, maybe, is that there were a few more savory things, but it did not matter as there is really much more food than you could possibly eat, also free waters and sodas.

Another thing we noticed is the vibe tended to be a bit more mature. We are a middle-aged couple and it seemed like there were not too many people there who were super young. We loved that. The heart of Healdsburg can have a younger vibe, with people taking pictures of their food and posting it online, lots of day drinking, etc. This was definitely a more mellow crowd, with people who seemed savvy in their wine country travels. Again, we like privacy, and so there were many places we could eat to be alone together.

Also, got a massage by the pool with two incredible practitioners. I get massages every week and honestly, this was one of the best massages I have ever had. Plus, the setting by the pool, in a private cabana with a soothing waterfall, was perfect.

And there is a coi pond. A really beautiful coi pond, and you can feed them if you want.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamara321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you so much for your time spent in writing such a glowing review! We are truly humbled by all our guests' kind words, and your recognition of so many amenities and services on our property is greatly appreciated.

We do strive daily to consider what it's like to be a guest and always ask for input and continually adjust where needed, and we appreciate that acknowledgement. We are glad to have satisfied your sweet tooth! We do balance between savory and sweet for breakfast by alternating each morning, but those afternoon cookies and biscotti in the morning may tip the scale!

We truly love it when guests are not only able to enjoy our recommendations for wineries and restaurants in the area, but also when they can relax and appreciate the serenity of the property! We are so thrilled you were able to do both!

We look forward to hosting you again!

Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I can't say enough great things about this resort except book it. Yes, its on the expensive side but worth it. The staff is supportive of your every need or wish. They will plan for you and call and make all the arrangements for everything from wine tours and tastings to dinner reservations to making recommendations on all the above. The facilities are lovely, welcoming , comfortable and extensive. Tennis, yes. Swimming, yes. Messages and spa, yes. Croquet, yes. Putting green, yes. Bucci ball, yes. Just relaxation, lots of it and beautiful grounds to roam around. All the breakfast are delightful and served in a beautiful setting inside or outside in their gorgeous gardens. In the afternoons you can have snacks and wine pairings hosted by local wineries arranged by the staff at Honor Mansion.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cdeboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for your glowing review and acknowledgement of all we have to offer! More importantly, we are delighted that you felt so at home! Our goal is for rest and relaxation and we are happy to see you that you found some!

Our staff truly enjoys taking care of our guests needs and so glad you were able to experience so many of our local wineries both at the inn and throughout our neighboring valleys!

We hope to see you again and welcome you back "home"!

Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards
Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

The Honor Mansion in Healdsburg is what every bed and breakfast should aspire to be. Along with their excellent team, hosts Steve and Cathi Fowler ensure that every visitor need is addressed. Their level of thoughtfulness in providing for guests would be difficult to surpass because it seems they have somehow thought of everything!

This, our first visit to Sonoma, was a belated anniversary trip. The Honor Mansion greeted our arrival with a delicious cake and a bottle of wine for us to enjoy in our room. All guests enjoy a breakfast fit for foodies and, in the evening, wine tastings and snacks. When not exploring wine country, we enjoyed wandering the grounds of Honor Mansion, wine glass in hand, and hand-feeding the koi in the garden pond.

If you're planning a visit to Sonoma County, Honor Mansion should be at the top of your list. Your only regret will be having to leave.

Room Tip: Should accessibility be an issue, some rooms are better suited than others.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your gracious review! We truly appreciate the time our guests take to write such wonderful words about their experiences!

We are delighted that you had such a great first experience in Sonoma and that we could help make your anniversary trip so special! And that you could enjoy feeding the Koi--a treat only during certain times of year as you know!

Your recognition of all our amenities and thoughtfulness we put forth is greatly appreciated and we love that you enjoyed so many of them!

We look forward to hosting you again!

Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed in the Garden Cottage to celebrate a milestone birthday, and Tracy and the team at Honor Mansion treated us like royalty. We arrived to find silk rose petals strewn in the cottage and shaped into a big heart on the bed, with a homemade chocolate cake to celebrate the birthday. One of us is a Celiac, and it turns out the owner is, too, so the kitchen made sure to provide delicious breakfast items each morning. Tracy's recommendations for wine tours gave us exactly what we wanted, small-batch operations with wines we cannot get back home. And her restaurant advice kept us safe from gluten. The grounds are carefully tended and the perfect setting for relaxing at the end of a day of tastings. The ultimate in wine country accommodations.

Room Tip: We loved the privacy of the garden cottage.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank quiinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are happy to be a part of your milestone birthday and are delighted we helped create special memories!

And we are grateful that we can accommodate your special requests for dietary restrictions! Makes the experience memorable for you both!

We are so glad you enjoyed many of our local wineries as well!

We look forward to hosting you again!

Until then, safe travels!

Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Many, many years ago my husband and I used to stay in bed and breakfasts. We always appreciated the personal service, wonderful breakfasts and overall relaxing experience. Then we had children, and my husband became a road warrior which meant staying at places with rewards programs and points. Last summer we thought we would try again and stayed at a bed and breakfast I will not name. It left us feeling that maybe we were just too old, and too accustomed to boring corporate hotel chains to truly appreciate a bed and breakfast. As a result, it was with some trepidation I booked a stay at a different bed and breakfast, The Honor Mansion, for a visit in March. Well, hallelujah, our faith has been restored! We arrived on a Friday evening shortly before the office closed for the evening. Although we had arranged for a late check in, Tracey , the manager, stayed late to show us our room and the facilities, and even where my husband could find his diet cokes for his morning caffeine. The room ( the garden suite) was spotless, lovely and spacious, and appetizers and a bottle of wine had been placed in the room for us due to our late arrival. Breakfast and the afternoon cookies were wonderful. It was cool and damp while we stayed, so we only experienced the putting green the one night, but the grounds are very extensive. Tracey also went above and beyond to book winery reservations at the last minute for us, and arrange to have our wine shipped for us when we realized ( again at the last minute) that we couldn’t wrangle a case box of wine through an airport easily. Book a stay, you won’t regret it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelmom221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We greatly appreciate your time in writing such a detailed and lovely review of your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you were able to find a renewed feeling about staying in an intimate resort property such as ours!

We love to know that we have accommodated all our guests needs and that you were able to enjoy many facets of the property too!

And enjoying our wonderful local wineries is part of the experience, so we are glad you were able to take some memories home with you!

We look forward to hosting you again!

Until then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews