We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$373
View deal
Booking.comUS$374
Hotels.comUS$373
TravelocityUS$373
Orbitz.comUS$373
TripadvisorUS$373
Trip.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
44
7
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
7
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub snow shoes ice skate aurora chase northern lights set menu our honeymoon sleeping area ice chapel glass ceiling next morning winter wonderland stayed for nights privacy sky levi skates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2022

The ranch is a small hotel... under 20 rooms, but all of them are in individual cabins and are well appointed with everything you need. Two sides are fully glass as is the ceiling above the bed.... so not great on privacy but terrific for the Northern Lights which showed up a couple of nights. We LOVED this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and sought us out when of our experiences was cancelled. They made some other suggestions. The food is a set menu and excellent. We didn't have a bad meal in 4 days. And watching the baby reindeer outside the restaurant windows was great fun ... as was feeding them. We had room 10, which was nicely away from the main hotel area but not so far that you had a long walk for dinner. This cabin also has a hot tub which was lovely after a day out in the cold. We highly recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet, with the opportunity to do lots of activities and a lovely environment to enjoy. We'd definitely stay again!

Room tip: Room 10 is a short distance from the main hotel and is quite private. Also has a hot tub.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2022 via mobile

This is by far one of the best ‘hotels’ I have ever stayed in.
We have seen the Northern Lights Ranch on social media and decided to make it part of our honeymoon. Great decision.
The ranch is a fair distance away from anywhere, which you’d expect, so I would recommend you hire a car. It is about a 20 minute drive away from a lovely ski town, Levi.
Upon arrival, the lady who checked us in was incredible polite and helpful. She advised us on a few trips/tours which she recommend.
When we got to our cabin, it really was a ‘wow’ moment. It was perfectly sized for 2 people and the glass surrounding our ‘sleeping area’ was incredible.
The rooms were clean and we had plenty of cutlery, with a microwave. The bathroom was spot on also with a good, powerful shower.
We had a hot tub with our cabin, which I would highly recommend. There is something special about relaxing in a hot tub whilst it is -20 degrees Celsius.
The ranch provided snow shoes for us to go on a walk and there was also a fire pit and ice rink, which gave us something to do in the evening.
The restaurant had a set menu and the food was amazing. I’m so glad they did have a set menu, as what was on it was not something I’d usually go for but it tasted fantastic.
We stayed for 3 nights which we felt was perfect. It was so chilled and exactly what we wanted from the place. We were able to go into Levi during the day and did a couple of trips and then come back to the tranquil cabin.
We were very lucky that we saw the northern lights 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed there. It was an unforgettable experience and topped off an unreal stay! We will definitely be back!

Room tip: I’d recommend renting a car - it is in the middle of nowhere.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 793tomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 February 2022

A simply stunning and magical venue. The ice chapel which is rebuilt every year is just spectacular. We would like to thank everyone working at the ranch who made our special day so perfect, our meal was gorgeous and all needs (children) well catered for. Our cabin with hot tub was amazing, especially as we were lucky enough to see the northern lights we also loved the extra free activities provided - the ice skates to skate on the frozen pond, the fire to cook your sausages (if you wanted), the snow shoes and of course a favourite with the children, feeding the reindeer.
We can not thank you enough and will 100% return for a future anniversary.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank G2629LYmicheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 December 2021

1. The Northern Lights Ranch is a very secluded, isolated, purpose-built boutique set of cabins that reconnect you with nature.
2. The cabins have most walls and ceilings made of glass so that there is maximum visibility to the sky and nature in case the Northern Lights show up.
3. The cabins are quite minimal, there is a bed - please note that the bed can be adjusted so you can be in a sitting position (like a hospital bed).
4. In the cabin there is a microwave oven, hot water pot for tea, associated dinnerware and two wooden chairs and a small table. There are no really comfortable chairs, so one must put the bed in the upright position if you'd like to sit and read.
5. In addition, the cottage has a small shower, sink, and small room that doesn't have windows for walls. It's useful to put your luggage in because there isn't much other space. There is a couch there in the small room and a TV.
6.We rented a cabin with a hot tub which is attached to the cabin, of course you have to go outside to get into it. It was wonderful on a cold evening.
7. There is LITTLE to do on this ranch itself. They provide free-to-use snow shoes and poles and have a trail. Remember the sun goes down by 2pm in the winter, so they also provide a head lamp which is useful.
8. There is a small ice skating rink and free use of ice skates on the property as well as an igloo made of snow which is used for weddings.
9. The meals were gourmet and were quite welcome because it would have been a long, cold drive should we wanted to go somewhere else. The breakfast buffet was great.
10. You can see 4 reindeer from the dining room, and there are feeding times. Children seem to like them.
11. Service was fine and checkin was easy. I'd say this hotel works as advertised and is fit for purpose (of connecting with nature and seeing the northern lights).

My recommendation: I'd stay only one night here, 24 hours is enough in the winter because it's quite cold, there isn't a lot to do and it's quite dark. I'd certainly come again, but I would not stay longer than 24 hours. People who LOVE being secluded, not seeing other people, want to commune with nature or are 100% Finnish may want to stay longer. But for other more social humanoids, I'd recommend 24 hours as just enough time.
Book the rest of your time in the village of Levi that has shops, rooms with glass ceilings, etc. so that you have a chance to see the Northern Lights (however it's quite light in Levi and I think they'd be harder to see there) and also take a stroll and see other humans.

Room tip: Get the room with the hot tub, only stay 1 night, it's expensive but worth it in the winter.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PorkyButch223211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 December 2021

We stayed in the Northern Lights Ranch in the beginning of December. The cabin is perfect Scandinavian comfort and the white landscape was simply breathtaking. Temperatures dropped to -30 C and using the outside hot tub with these temperatures outside was an amazing relaxing experience. The staff was always helpful and nice and we always felt welcome.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Raquel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews