We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Beachin'!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Reviewed 19 March 2015

The motel is clean and well kept. Ample parking and no drive through traffic is allowed. The front desk is helpful and friendly with discount coupons, brochures and local knowledge and advice. The room itself is on a par with Super 8 accommodations, which is a cut above Motel 6. Furnishing and bedding are designed to endure ocassional sand, though a courtyard hose is provided for foot and leg rinse off before entering your room. The plumbing was in good condition and there was both central air and an overhead fan. Neither interfered with sleep. If you are not used to it, the traffic noise from Pacific Coast Highway is noticeable. If it is a concern, take a Benedryl and sleep through the night undisturbed. Too, like all motels, the walls always seem thinner than they are at home.

Early check in was a big plus as was a special rate for the kiting event we attended. We also appreciated that we could park our car in front of our room. At other big hotels in the area, there is underground parking. If you have valuables and do not wish to bring them into your room each night, being near the car is a real plus.

In conclusion, this motel is not a destination resort. However, if you mean to spend time in Surf City USA, minutes from the sand and a few minutes more from the shopping area, this is a good choice...complete with funky plastic room fob and a metal key ;}

Room Tip: Ask when booking if room is pet friendly/smoking allowed etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2014

the family and i had a great time staying there. staff was very friendly and everything is located very close by. we plan on returning soon. would recommend to anyone. a beautiful sunrise and sunset! The view from our room window was looking across the street right onto the beach and ocean. It was fantastic!

Room Tip: we had 3 kids and 2 adults so we got the room above the office. the window looked straight across pc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homtulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is by no means a 5-star hotel, but if you are looking for a room with a shower, comfortable bed, television, and an ocean right across the street, then this is your motel. The staff was very helpful and polite. The cleaning lady was also very nice and did a great job each of the four days that we were there. Oh, and the rooms do have brand new A/C units that are very quiet and efficient.
The ocean is literally right across the street and can be seen from the balcony of your room if you are staying on the second floor. We didn't use our car at all during the week because literally everything is within walking distance; CVS, bars, restaurants, bike rentals, the beach, etc.
Sure, the room could use some updating, but you're in Huntingdon to go to the beach and enjoy the night life, so you're not spending a whole lot of time in your room anyway. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are a few different room types to choose from. Two queen beds, one king bed, and I think ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed several times over the last year while visiting our son. It may be an older motel but it is very clean and comfortable. Carrie and her staff are very accommodating and friendly. We park at the motel and never use a car once we are there. Everything is within walking distance and its very easy to get food delivered from all the great restaurants nearby. Just a short walk across the street and you are on the beach. They have worked really hard re-decorating and installing new heating and air conditioning. The air conditioner is super quiet for a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: The room above the office is very cool and can sleep up to eight people. It overlooks the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This motel is very old, old carpets, noisy, poor sleep quality. Good for young kids on a party or surfers staying here on a budget. Staff unfriendly. If you are on a low budget still would not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TGAV742826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
2.8 km away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
594 reviews
2.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,647 reviews
0.3 km away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
352 reviews
7.7 km away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
584 reviews
7.4 km away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Address: 1102 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-4817
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $136 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun 'n' Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sun 'n' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sands Hotel Huntington Beach
Sun n Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing