We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$151
US$103
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Chula Vista Inn(Chula Vista)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Best Western Americana Inn(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$87
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycities Motel(Chula Vista)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
270
133
47
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
133
47
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet tacossan diegoocean viewpier south resortbeachfront hotelhotel restaurantrooftop decksea restaurantseparate bedroombasketball courtbalcony doorpool and hot tubliving areapool areahear the wavessilver strandprivate balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This little boutique hotel run by Marriott is a little overpriced for the area but is unique that it is virtually the only decent hotel in this area on the beach. Close to the freeway and just south of sea world. We wanted to be able to walk out to the beach without driving everyday. The restaurant is decent and modestly priced. The pool and hot tub overlooks the beach and is boring but who cares when you are there for the beach? The only drawback was the room layout was odd. We had a ocean view suite with a beautiful view of the ocean. But our room, which was 2 queen beds was in a stuffy room off the entryway and the sitting room with the sofabed faced the ocean. Based on that I do not recommend the suite, not sure how the rest of the rooms are set up.
Loved the decorating though, very modern and neutral colors. Staff was friendly. Views were beautiful.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mishanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for sharing your review and for being our guest! We have many different Suites types, to view the ocean from your bed I would recommend our Studio Suites as an alternative room type where the bedroom is an open floor plan that faces the ocean. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Tim Earp
General Manager
Tearp@piersouthresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days while touring California. Pier South is a really nice hotel backing into a lovely beach. The suite we had overlooked the beach and pool and was well spec'd with a reasonably priced mini bar and safe. Hotel restaurant was good although no waitress service by pool. We thought it very good value for money and would stay again. Imperial Beach is a few miles from downtown San Diego and felt very relaxed and safe. Lots of nods to the surfing community with statues of famous surfers and surfboard outlines in metal along pavement. Liked it s lot.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Wonderful Jay, thank you for being our guest and sharing your review! We look forward welcoming you back.

Best,
Tim Earp
General Manager
Tearp@piersouthresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Fantastic views and easy access to this beautiful beach. For a Marriott property and the money you spend, I expect a more comfortable bed. The sofa bed is a joke with scratch paper blankets. Son couldn't even use the bedding. Had to use a sleeping bag. Also, there weren't enough umbrellas by the pool area and two of the five where broken. Very tacky. Finally, a pool by the beach should have a waitstaff that comes around to check on you, offer drinks and snacks. This property missed the mark for me. We won't return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kristie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

I apologize that your recent experience at Pier South was not satisfactory. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, taking immediate action to avoid such scenarios in the future is a top priority. We strive to provide exceptional service and exceed expectations for all of our guests and would like to regain your trust. We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Tim Earp
General Manager
Tearp@piersouthresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Pier South. Beautiful view of the ocean, friendly staff, large rooms and a quiet location. There are some nice local places to eat that are very close and the restaurant at the hotel is excellent

Room Tip: request ocean view suite
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u0042138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim E, General Manager at Pier South Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Excellent! We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Tim Earp
General Manager
Tearp@piersouthresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The pool was okay, the beach even better. lots of young beauties to talk to. they all seem to love the hotel too. What can I say? I love to entertain. Lol! I am a rich man you see and I simply require the best! And that is why I come to Pier South. Thank you. (Leaving stage dramatically).

Room Tip: Make it Pain!! that aut a do it.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews