We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay in "Casa Rosita"”
Review of Desert Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Lily
Ranked #1 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We spent three nights in Casa Rosita, one of the 'self catering' units available through Desert Lily. A great location very near the Joshua Tree Welcome Center and the West enterance of the Joshua Tree National Park. This is why we picked Desert Lily and we were not disappointed. Some of the best hiking in the park was minutes away.

Our stand alone house/Casa had a full kitchen a dining room/area, a living room and a bedroom and a full bath. It was a bit cool and windy during our stay but there is a nice outside patio and a fireplace on the patio affording lovely views of the valley into the town of Joshua Tree. The place has a remote feel as it is up the hill and down some windy gravel roads.

This was billed as a 'self catering' unit. We checked in at the main house (the traditional B& B). We were presented with a bottle of wine. We were on our own for our stay. The place did have sufficient toilet paper, some paper towels and dish soap. We could have used extra garbage bags. I don't know if they have a mechanism to replace towels or linens or tidy up if you are there more than three days.

Though there is a full kitchen we elected to bring in take out and wine back to the house and we dined in. We didn't want to try the windy road at night after wine with dinner. We especially enjoyed the nearby Thai restaurant take out. Order mild or medium and get hot sauce on the side! Some previous guests had left condiments and odds and ends in the 'fridge. I think those should be tossed. No clue how long they have been there. Even were we cooking I wouldn't have used them.

Furnishings and decorations in the house were a bit ecletic and a little shabby. The carpets could use replacing. My husband said it looked like a " '60's-Dragnet-hippies-lair". Beads, feathers, pillows and a lava lamp (which sadly didn't work) did give it that feel. The bed in the middle of the living room with a gazillion pillows (which faced the tv and the slider leading to the patio and the view down into the valley) seemed over the top until we lay on it to watch the tube and the views as the sun set. Not something I'm going to copy at home but it was comfy for our visit.

As we noted it was cool for our visit and they did have some space heaters and blankets which were adequate for us. Didn't notice if there is any AC for warm weather.

We would definately stay here again for the lovely views, the quiet setting and the proximity to the Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J&S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Desert Lily is very conveniently located just outside one of the entrances to Joshua Tree National Park. We were amazed by the beautiful surrounds - but the accommodation was very disappointing. The B&B has 3 rooms - A, B, and C. Heaven help you if you land up in room B because the rooms literally have zero soundproofing and you will be treated to every sound coming from your neighbors on either side. We were fortunate to be in the end room - so we only had to deal with "sounds" from one side. The rooms are TINY - you can barely get in the door with cases. There are nik naks all over the room - making the place feel very cluttered and not wonderfully clean. Our breakfast was excellent and the inn keepers are very accommodating. However at more than $150 a night I'm pretty sure you can do much better somewhere else in the Joshua Tree vicinity - we would not recommend the Desert Lily.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
6  Thank bundubasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Wonderful B&B! There are only two rooms and the place is located on the dirt roads outside the city of Joshua Tree, north of the park. The rooms are not big but very charming. There is a wonderful common room with a fireplace, where wine and freshly baked cookies are provided for the guests. Breakfast was delicious and Carrie is a very generous host. Overall a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

nice people but rooms were tiny and noisy (other guests cell phone calls woke us up), too much decoration and no place to put our stuff down.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank zizoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We booked the Desert Lily for two nights as our base to explore the Joshua Tree National Park. Only about two miles from the park entrance it's the perfect place to stay, if you want to visit the National Park.
The B&B is lying at a dirt road with almost no neighboring houses. At night it's a great place to watch the stars. The rooms are not huge, but there is a nice and large common room.
Even in the middle of November we were able to have breakfast on the patio. The breakfast was really awesome and having the nice view of the desert was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
19.6 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
671 reviews
20.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
11.3 km away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
26.7 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
507 reviews
38.6 km away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Lily

Address: P. O. Box 139, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-0139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Bed and Breakfast and Desert Vacation Rental Retreat in the Joshua Tree Highlands. Two artist-embellished guest rooms with private baths and individual entryways from the covered patio, each with a private sitting room / library set away from the B&B Adobe into the desert landscape. Three-course gourmet breakfast served on the patio or in the newly remodeled great room of the main residence, where freshly baked cookies can always be found. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Lily Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing