We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$70
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$19/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
US$24
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$20/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Queenco Hotel & Casino(Sihanoukville)
US$104
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$151
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Paou(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$8
US$7
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otres Orchid(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
580
162
59
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
162
59
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomsand floorotres beachpolished concrete floorsno shoesphnom penhtuk tukrestaurant staffstandard roomour honeymoonbuilding noisebeach restaurantexpensive placebeach frontboat triplocal staffprivate boat
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

WiFi is terrible, it's 2018 and they need to fix that. As a business man I was left stranded. Rooms are clean enough but they are pretty basic. Over priced especially for the low season. Food is average but has a nice settling on the beach. Staff overall were very friendly and spoke good English. It's a quiet alternative to the larger hotels which have Chinese guests slamming doors and making noise in the corridors.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jonburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamu_team, Manager at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jonburrows,

Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback with us.

I am deeply sorry you got annoyed by the wi-fi connection. It usually works well and we try to do our best to keep it on the highest quality. However, we are located at the end of the beach and as Cambodia is still a developing country these electronical networks can sometimes be a bit shaky.

We are glad you appreciated the rooms, restaurant setting and guest service. We indeed tend at Tamu to offer a peaceful alternative.

Best regards,

Tamu management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

While Sihanoukville has been colonised by the mainland Chinese, we got a sliver of the French at tres chic classy Tamu, which is the best hotel on the beach stretch. It’s a minimalist must with classy quiet elegant touches. Perfect if petit dejeuners and petit whatever’s are your thing. The only peeve is walk-in non guests who just used the pool. I alerted the staff but they didn’t seem to mind.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank kimwillrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamu_team, Manager at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kimwillrule,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are thrilled to read you liked the general hotel style and elegance such as the breakfast we serve down the beach.
I would like to come back on your experience at the pool. Be assured that we obviously do not let any outside clients using the pool. For our guest’s privacy sake, we even do not allow non-hotel-guests to cross the lobby and garden to get to the beach. You probably experienced hotel guests with their own towels.

We are wishing you great summer,
Regards,

Tamu management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

The beach and the landscape make up for a below average hotel. The room we stayed in along with other rooms has a minimalist contemporary feel, which was apparent upon arrival. Unfortunately if you pay closer attention you can see all the furnishings and even the paint on the doors are well worn and need replacing or at least a bit of TLC. The water supply to the room was very poor, often trickling from the taps or shower - I complained about this and was told it would be fixed, to which it was, but only lasted a couple of hours before it began trickling again. The breakfast was very poor and tasteless, offering only minimal options if you wanted anything cooked. Fortunately as I have stated previously the beach set-up and the waiting staff were very friendly, managing to push my rating to average for this hotel. Without the beach and the staff, this would not have been an enjoyable stay. One last thing is that this was our honeymoon and I asked well in advance if they could do anything to make it extra special, unfortunately this was not acknowledged upon arrival or at any point throughout our stay. This left me even more disappointed as every other hotel we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia all made us feel extra special when they knew it was our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Don't expect consistent/fast running water or a clean looking room.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon27Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamu_team, Manager at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Simon27Sheffield,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share some feedback about your experience at Tamu.

I am sorry to read that we didn’t reach all your expectations,

We put lots of effort into keeping our hotel neat and well maintained despite the tropical weather. We’re renovating and refurbishing each room every year.

I deeply apologized for the issue you experienced with the shower water pressure. One of our pump indeed suddenly stopped working during the time you were staying at Tamu. In spite of the fact our Maintenance team did its maximum to fix it as quickly as possible, it took one day to put everything back in order. Please kindly accept our sincere apologies about it.

We’re glad that you appreciated the beach setting and restaurant service and we sincerely hope that we’ll have the chance to welcome you again one day. We’ll make sure to arrange something very special for you this time.

Best regards,

Tamu management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

About a 30 minute flight from Siem Reap and 30 minute taxi ride from the airport, Tamu is in a quiet spot at the end of Otres beach. We were a bit concerned about previous reviews of building noise but we did not experience any during our stay.

Rooms are a bit industrial chique in style. Not my cup of tea but they had everything you could need and who spends loads of time in their room when you at a beach resort?

Meals are across a small dirt road at the restaurant on the beach. A perfect desert island experience!
Massages on the beach are great and do take one of the 3 island trips. Well worth the money.
Don't bother with Sihanoukville itself. It's a pit!

Room Tip: By the pool is best
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamu_team, Manager at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear SurreyRome,

First of all we would like to warmly thank you for your kind words.

We are thrilled that your found serenity and peacefulness while you were staying at Tamu. Located at the far end of Otres 2, our beach indeed offers this « desert island experience » that you are perfectly describing.

We’re wishing you a safe way back home,

Kind regards,

Tamu management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in a standard room. Check-in was dismissive but quick. Was disappointed in the standard of the room, very worn for its age and cheaply constructed. Cleanliness poor sheets and towels old and stained we had to ask for the sheets to be changed on day 3 as there was no way it was going to be done otherwise. Small pool looked dirty with no shade. We asked to pay for an upgrade but they were booked but offered by us one for our last night free. When we got into this room the condition was worse so don't bother, glad we didn't pay. Shabby chic just plain Shabby! Breakfast was good the staff at the restaurant were really lovely and made our stay. The beach is very nice but surrounding area is terrible. Went into town one night and was so sad to see what has been done, casino's every where it was like a mini Las Vegas terrible for the locals.
I don't think the hotels in the area would be much nicer than Tamu they all seemed from what we could see of the same quality cheaply constructed. Shame as the beach is really quite lovely.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank carlabille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamu_team, Manager at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear ratbagx3,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us.

We are sorry that you were disappointed by the room design, however If I am right, you booked through booking.com and all the pictures displayed on the website are faithfully depicted the hotel style.
Kindly take note that we change our guests sheets every three days, as most of the hotel do. I am sure you will understand that this measure has been established in a sustainable purpose to participate to energy consumption reduction. However, if our guests request bedsheets to be changed earlier, we are glad to fulfill their request.

As you mentioned we indeed offered you a room upgrade free of charge, as our goal is to satisfy all our guests. It seems you didn’t quite enjoy the second room either, however as you didn’t mention us anything after you moving and even looked grateful for this offer, we would now be interested to know exactly what you found “shabby” or “cheaply constructed”.

Sihanoukville is indeed evolving but there is still plenty of local shops, markets and restaurants if you take the time to explore the city. If you prefer to get some rest, Otres beaches are perfect to relax yourself especially as there is no casino in the whole area.

We are pleased to read that you still had a good time at our restaurant and beach area.

We’re wishing you a shiny month of June,

Best regards,

Tamu management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews