We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality, crazy expensive”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2016

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank hagen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paolo A, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2016

It was our first trip in Cambodia and since we are residence in Thailand we have come trough the Trat border along the coast , immediately we decided to stay at Sokha beach resort as we were surprised to see the beautiful beach along the Gulf of Thailand .
The hotel is amazing spread over a beautiful landscape over 23 ectars , the room was cozy and the breakfast simply amazing ! We will be back thank you Sokha beach Team to make our stay awesome !

Room Tip: Our Villa was fantastic right in front of the beautiful beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoloBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo A, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Thank you very much for your comment ,hope to welcome you again at the Sokha Beach resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

This is my first time to the Sihanoukville and unforgettable experience, very special thanks to Mr. Sok for his great help and superise that hotel prepared birthday cake for me, really really appreciated, certainly I will come again in near future and recommend to all my friends such a good hotel with very kindly staff.

Room Tip: best view with private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo A, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you very much for your comment ,hope to welcome you again at the Sokha Beach resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our trip around Cambodia - the rooms are great / quality fine and breakfast - meals are very reasonable.
The negatives were one of service - it took 30 mins for reception to register 4 x couples at arrival... / we were assigned a room at the rear pool annex - getting there requires a 'golf cart' - for these you have to wait ages,
Cannot complain about the rooms - but seating for meals (especially breakfast) can be daunting - but the buffet was very good - trick is claim a table 1st and then get food - getting your hot eggs 1st and the rest afterwards.
The pools are great and the grounds are good - going into 'town' is a waste of time - the music / entertainment on site is good.
The onsite 'casino' is poorly used and used by lots of Russian 'heavies' - more staff than punters - basically roulette plus blackjack and slot machines.
I would stay there again - but wish the service was speeded up a bit - but that is Cambodia - so laid back it is falling over.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool - near the main entrance / beach access - to make easy access to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo A, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you very much for your comment ,hope to welcome you again at the Sokha Beach resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We arrived at the resort after a five hour drive from Phnom Pehn. We had booked a Beach Front Villa having heard from reviews on Trip Advisor that the Water Chalets were "smelly" i.e., stagnant water. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a Water Chalet which we said we didn't want (because of the reviews). Mr Pon the Duty Manager came to see us and persuaded us to "at least have a look" and promised if we didn;t like it he would find another solution. He took us there in a golf buggy and I remarked that it was some way from where breakfast was served. We were told dial "0" on your room phone and a golf buggy will be with you in 5 mins to transport you. On arriving at the water chalet my mouth dropped open it was absolutely exquisite, wonderful, fabulous and NO SMELLS AT ALL. (see pics) We accepted the room and within 5 minutes of our luggage being delivered we were presented with complimentary fruit platter and flowers :-). Because of the really painful bites I had all over my legs (received in Phnom Penh) I asked if there was a medical centre/doctor. The guy bringing the fruit made a call and within 5 minutes a nurse knocked on the door gave me tablets and cream AT NO CHARGE and the bites were gone in around 3 days !! The whole resort is amazing, very well kept, gardens beautifully manicured, very good selection at breakfast, beach spotless, sea like a warm bath, all the staff were friendly and helpful and we even secured our own Tuk Tuk driver for the whole week "Win" message me for his details if you want them - he's brilliant. We only ate dinner once in the hotel (although they have many restaurants). I have to say the food was average and well over priced when compared to restaurants outside, The hotel was only about 1/3rd full and therefore we never had to queue for drinks etc., and sun loungers and pools were almost private to us ! There is a big casino attached to the hotel but I cannot comment as we didn't visit - looks amazing though. Absolutely wonderful resort and we will most definitely return. My thanks to Mr Pon and his staff for making our stay wonderful. The water chalet will remain in my dreams - no bad smells AT ALL. Many lovely restaurants nearby (by Tuk Tuk) message me for more info.

Thank you to all at Sokha Beach Resort see you again soon

Joy Peck

Stayed: March 2016
Thank JoyBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.4 km away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 80 in Sihanoukville
707 reviews
7.5 km away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 80 in Sihanoukville
573 reviews
5.1 km away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 80 in Sihanoukville
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 80 in Sihanoukville
777 reviews
7.4 km away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 80 in Sihanoukville
437 reviews
1.1 km away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 80 in Sihanoukville
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: S$152 - S$466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing