We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
40
33
21
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
33
21
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing beachper nightmattressesinsectsprivacypiersanddollarsbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

The spot is nice away from the mass touristic places, when we arrived everything sounded good.
We booked a beach view bungalow that finally was looking over.....another bungalow and not the sea. Only 1/2 are sea view rooms maybe 5/6 as well.
The decoration could have been nice if properly maintained... The wood is peeling everywhere such as the paint. The shower tap stayed in my hand when tried to turn it off... The mosquito nets which are vital when you don't have AC were full of holes, the mattress should have 100 years at least and part of the Khmer heritage, and we had the pleasure to hear the local music until 2am every night thanks to a disco just next door. You can imagine that the relaxation part of our stay was not there. To conclude this hotel is far overpriced it should be sold at around 15 US not 50....if you are looking for a peaceful retreat forget about Malibu...!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 133Jay133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015 via mobile

Great location, however the bungalow I stayed in was not cleaned. Mould on bathroom and floors dirty. Staff rude also.

After the initial night I came home to find a lock on my door because I hadn't paid forward. No mention when I initially paid that this was the the case then total rudeness from the staff.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We would not recommend anyone stay at these bungalows, they are run down and shabby. No money has been spent on this property for several years. There is rubbish everywhere you look. The walk to the swimming beach is through a garbage dump...the hotel should clean it up.
The manager is extremely rude and unfriendly. He is very quick to say "that is not my job" if you complain or question him about anything. The phone line was cut while we were there so it was not possible to pay with visa...we heard him telling a guest that she had no money in her account or it would have worked!!!
He made a mistake when taking our order for dinner and then insisted that we made a mistake ordering. We ended up cancelling the order. He was quite aggressive about it!

You are trapped here, there are no other restaurants within walking distance and the food is not good. Tuk tuks are overpriced and do not like going to the hotel as it is up a bumpy dirt road, they will drop you at the bottom and make you walk up. When the bus came to pick us up to return to Phnom Phen we were left to carry our luggage down the bumpy road, eventually the hotels own Tuk tuk offered to take us down to the bus but then charged us!!

Staff said they had booked our bus tickets, but then when we checked 2 days later they said that the bus was full and we had to go on a crowded, badly run local bus...

The beach bar staff are lovely....the only good thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach bungalow. They seemed to shift everyone around a lot.....The higher rooms seem to be disturbed by the noise from the Cloud 9 night club that went all night.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AustraliaJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Although it location is one of the best, being situated right in the centre and by the beach, the rooms are very dirty, some of the fans are not working, some rooms have no hot water, some showers are broken, pillows/sheets/towels bear holes and an unpleasant smell, furniture is old. The price was 20$/night, too high for the conditions and services. It had been a bad experience.

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms around Malibu Hotel, maybe at a price of 25-30$/night, a little bit more expensive, although the whole beach area is noisy, with a lot of dancing clubs. Maybe the hotels on the main street are quieter. I would suggest Otres Beach for vacation and relax, although it is 8km far from the centre (Sihanoukville, which is for youth and fun) and the tuk tuk costs 5$ one way. Anyhow, the bungaloes/hotels/beaches at Otres Beach are much better, but there is nothing else to do there, except for swimming.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asteroskoni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Malibu is a peaceful break from the craziness in Serendipity. The staff are amazing and responsive, and the bartender is very friendly. We extended our stay because we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in the area.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank greatchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews