We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Water Hotel, Pingyao
Nearby Hotels
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel(Pingyao County)
US$30
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Jing's Residence(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yunjincheng Mansion(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kylin Grand Hotel(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fengyan Jianguo Hotel(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hong Hu Hotel(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yu Feng Heng Hotel(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pingyao Huiguan(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Journey Hotel Pingyao(Pingyao County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
23
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen tealow seasonperfect locationstay there againthe main streetold towntrain stationcomfortwallchinacourtyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Small and exclusive set up with 16 rooms; great for our 2.5 days stop over. It was low season during our stay and we had full attention of staff. Ms Wang 王慧芝 was warm and friendly and very sensitive to our needs. My husband was not comfortable with the upstairs room with the Kang bed, and Ms Wang immediately offered a western set-up for us. She also helped arrange for a second car to take us to the train station on our day of departure, so that we will be more comfortable.

It was so comfortable it felt like staying at home, but with modern hotel comforts.

What amazed us was the wide range of channel selections on TV (as compared to bigger chain hotels in beijing and xi'an). Really Excellent!

The hotel staff helped to obtain tickets to evening show 又见平遥 (youjian pingyao), and also arranged for driver to take us to Wang Family courtyard.

Overall, a truly lovely experience and I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: second floor might be quieter
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank quadj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ai qing y, 销售总监 at Water Hotel, Pingyao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

ear friend:
Hello! Thank you for your Check Inn Hotel and such detailed comments, to provide safe and comfortable living environment for the guests, our aim is to get your recognition is our greatest compliment, we have your support will do better, look forward to your visit again, thank you!
Pingyao water Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect location ! Right in the city wall. All the tourist activities and restaurants are literally steps away.

Extremely good services, from picking up from the train station (free), to serving us tea on arrival.

Traditional breakfast is included, very tasty! They also have "American" breakfast but I don't know what it looks like.

The inner court yard is beautifully decorated traditional Chinese style. You can sit and relax there and order cake and coffee from the cafe next door.

It's definitely one of the nicest one in Pingyao. The price is reasonable, similar to what you would pay staying at Holiday inn in North American but you get a lot more out of your $$.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Pingyao.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank DSooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ai qing y, 销售总监 at Water Hotel, Pingyao, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear friend:
Hello! Thank you for your Check Inn Hotel and such detailed comments, to provide safe and comfortable living environment for the guests, our aim is to get your recognition is our greatest compliment, we have your support will do better, look forward to your visit again, thank you!
Pingyao water Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We have enjoyed a lovely night at this beautiful new hotel right on the Main Street of Pingyao old town.
You will feel like you have stepped back in time into a traditional courtyard home that has been stylishly restored into a modern small hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean as so new. The bathrooms have an amazing amount of amenities including slippers and robes which is unexpected in a small hotel especially given the reasonable price.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, loaning a local phone charger when ours didn't work as well as an adaptor.
The green tea and cakes in the room were a very nice touch.
I am unsure how anyone could complain about the breakfast! It was a huge amount of local dishes all delicious (apart from the watery soup but I am sure it's a local dish much loved!) the coffee was the best so far in China. We do to eat what the locals eat so maybe this is why we loved the breakfast.
The town and hotel are well worth stopping at, we managed to see all the main sites within the walls and wander all the streets in an afternoon and night so even if you are on limited time make an effort to stop here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

Dear sir:
Thank you very much for Check Inn Hotel and gave us such detailed comments in your busy time, we appreciate that this is the greatest reward and recognition work for us, we will work harder, every arriving guests are our friends and family, we will work harder, look forward to your visit again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The staff was very helpful and went above and beyond to help me celebrate my birthday with a surprise cake and balloons. The room was beautiful and very clean and comfortable. Any questions we had were answered and the staff was excellent with recommendations for restaurants. Loved this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Dear friend:
Hello! Thank you for your praise and leave the Check Inn Hotel, for every one of our guests to provide personalized service, personalized service, hope guests more comfortable journey more fun, look forward to your visit again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Location - Hotel is near the southern gate along the main street. Convenient to the sights and food within the old town. Walking distance to the live performance, Youjian Pingyao (which you should not miss)

Service - Impeccable! Staff were attentive, helpful and very patient. They made a difference to our stay.

Room - Clean and comfortable beds. Nice amenities. There's a tea set with fragrant green tea in each room and they provide turndown service every evening.

Breakfast - Choice of Western or Chinese. Both were good although we preferred the Western option.

Concierge - Free pick-up service from the train station. They helped to arrange for our trip to Wang's family courtyard. We had a choice of sharing a 7-seater with other tourists or hiring a car. After travelling to the Qiao's family courtyard by public transport (just to try it out), I highly recommend getting the hotel to arrange the transportation for you especially if Mandarin's not your native language.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor that opens to the courtyard appear more comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mapleleaf2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 September 2017

Dear friend:
Hello! Thank you for leaving Check Inn Hotel than some praise, it will be the greatest reward for us, we pay, we will be more efforts to do better, let the guests live more comfortable, look forward to your visit again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews