We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Shiraito Falls
from US$87.65
More Info
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
207
356
158
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
356
158
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karuizawa station bus ride short walk difficulty walking easy access rocks height path nature winter mins pics woods tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

Took bus from Karuizawa station. Bus ride up the mountains was fantastic too with nice views. Arriving at the bus stop and then it was a short walk to the falls. Quite different from other falls I have been. If you are into photography, then you will be thrilled with the green moss rocks and water trickling down everywhere. For me I took a few pano shots from different angles! Our trip this year in April was different as it was snowing. So was freezing cold up here but we enjoyed the trip! Unforgettable!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2019 via mobile

Unlike the typical falls found on mountains, Shiraito Falls was clearly unique and lived up to its meaning (“shiraito” means “white threads”) — streams look like white threads quietly cascading into the pond. The view was beyond picturesque, the feel serene — the kind that brings a sense of peace to visitors.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tinagalido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

The way to the falls was close today and will be close tomorrow because of the snow....we came especially for the falls from Tokyo...so it was a big disapointment. Its a good idea to carefuly check in advance if the way is o.k. we only checked the weather...now we know that its not enough.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank tsuf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2018

An underground spring flowing through a hill meets a hard rock layer and then the water flows out of the side of the hill.

The waterfall is impressive for its gentle nature. The water only falls for about three metres, but is about 100 metres wide and curved in a horseshoe shape. At the edges you can even touch the waterfall.

The foot path from the road to the waterfall is well signposted. It is only a five minute walk up a dirt trail. There are plenty of free of charge car parking spaces along the road and some small shops selling snacks and local produce.

We visited on a rainy day. There were relatively few visitors. I can imagine it gets very busy in high season.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Joseph86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Nice little wide but low falls. If viewed when autumn leaves are flourishing then would be best. Short walk

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Y1667TUjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews