We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I cannot say enough great things about this place. The room, location, staff, and service was excellent. Our room (#207) was a one bedroom condo style room with street view. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, blender, toaster, etc. A basket with Starbucks coffee, cocoa, and popcorn was refreshed each day by housekeeping. The unit was large, clean, has free internet access and free parking. The hotel is located on the beach, and includes free use of boogie boards and beach chairs. I did not use the pool, tennis courts or golf course but they looked nice. The staff is awesome. When we got to our car one morning and discovered we had a dead battery, the staff was right there with a battery to help jump start the car. They even offered to shuttle my son and a few other boys to their lacrosse tournament in Del Mar in case the car did not start. We paid $159 a night and it was well worth it. I will definitely stay here again when I am in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    82
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
207
81
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club for a convention at the beginning of December. So many times I go to conventions with low expectations, but I was blown away by the scenery, the service and the food! I would definitely recommend this property for conventions, as well as leisure. I hope to go back for vacation with my husband sometime. Everything was in close proximity, and when I stepped out of my room, I was on the beach. It was beautiful. Did I mention the food?

Room Tip: Pick a beach front room if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club while we were at the annual Father-son Hardcourt Tennis Championship at the hotel. We had a great time there and really enjoyed the proximity to the beach as well as the tennis courts. We stayed in one of the beachfront suites. The suite had a king-sized bed and a queen size sofa bed in the living area. There was also a big lounge chair and small kitchen eating area. The unit had a large, clean bathroom and 2 TVs (one large HDTV). The unit had a full-size fridge, stove top, microwave and all the kitchen utensils. Our unit was so close to the courts that we could leave our stuff in the room and just go back to get tennis stuff when we needed it. The beach is right outside your door and you can walk, run or swim there very easily. We got a great rate for the tennis tournament but I believe it's pretty expensive otherwise. The ground have a pool, 12 lighted tennis courts, a 9-hole short course and workout facility. We'd recommend the hotel for a great getaway weekend on the beach for couples or families.

We will DEFINITELY stay here for all future tournaments.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have always stayed at La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club when we go down for a family vacation. The hotel rooms are small, but the location is the best! You wake up to the beach that is only steps away from your room. If you enjoy tennis, strolls along the beach, swimming in the large pool or ocean and like to play a 9 hole tiny golf course than is the place for you to unwind. The ocean swims and beach facilities are ideal to just soak it all in.

Room Tip: If you like hearing the roar of the waves to put you to sleep, ask for an ocean front room. It is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond & Valer... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great place right on the beach, older rooms but excellently maintained. Cannot beat the tennis courts or the professionals. Could be more economically priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetennis60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#11 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club

Property: La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club
Address: 2000 Spindrift Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price range (per night): $288 - $1,480
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the shores of the California coast stands one of the region’s most timeless beachfront resorts, a treasured destination for more than 80 years that still feels like a San Diego secret – La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. Explore this landmark hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TIG Global, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Beach And Tennis Club Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing