We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covers the Far East”
Review of Starfish

Starfish
Ranked #6 of 181 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$36
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & Pacific Coast Hwy.
Description: The tastefully provocative STARFISH LAGUNA is located directly across from the Montage Resort, home to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. This gem of a restaurant is located in the heart of the Aliso Creek Shopping Center off Pacific Coast Highway, South Laguna Beach. From the moment you enter STARFISH , you will feel transported to an exotic wonderland of Coastal Fusion. The menu features Asian Fusion cuisine, highlighted with ingredients from Thailand, Vietnam, China, Korea, and Japan. From delectable fish fresh from the sea, to savory and enticing beef, chicken and vegetable dishes, STARFISH has something to excite every palate. Delightfully unpredictable, the menu will pleasure your palate with tastes of Ginger, Lemon Grass, Thai Basil, Jasmine, Daikon, Thai curries and soy sauces. Summer rolls, pho, udon noodles, coconut rice, wok sauté, ribs and other chef's expressions of American renditions of classic Asian cuisine will be served. Equally as enticing as the menu is the ambience. STARFISH is destined to enchant with exciting contrasts of deep, vivid colors of the sea with those of radiant sunset skies. Tufted banquettes in luminous soft turquoise sensuously welcome guests, while sultry black lacquered tables and chairs complement the lush decor. The elegant, horseshoe-shaped STARFISH bar further welcomes you as it takes center stage. Muddled libations flavored with tarragon, ginger, coconut, lemongrass and mango will be prepared as you observe. Asian mojitos, martinis, sakes, craft and imported beers, and boutique wines are served to excite your palate.
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stopped by for lunch, as it was right across the street from the Montage Resort and Spa. We were intrigued by the reviews, and decided to give it a try. We had an excellent server, and tried a variety of dishes. The shrimp dumplings were a good starter, we choose to have them fried after steaming. We then had scallops in black bean sauce, and crispy Mahi Mahi. Instead of regular rice, we ordered a plate of Thai fried rice with crab. The portions for the scallops and Mahi Mahi were very large, an excellent value. The Thai fried rice was so good, my wife (who is Thai) asked the waiter if the cook was Thai (no!). The food was great, a good value, and superb service. Couldn't ask for more. The food was better than the cafe at the resort.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen A, Owner at Starfish, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Kimo,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to hear you gave us a try after reading our reviews online, and thrilled that you found the entire experience superb. Thanks for sharing some of your favorite selections with the TripAdvisor community- recommendations are the best! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

The highlight of my trip to Laguna and should not be missed! The food is eclectic Asian inspired and absolutely delicious! The ambience is amazing and the background music excellent. A great place to meet friends and enjoy amazing cocktails and have dinner. The staff are very friendly and efficient. It’s my favorite place in Laguna!

Thank DeanneRJackson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen A, Owner at Starfish, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Deanne,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with the team here at Starfish Laguna! We are thrilled to hear that visiting us was the highlight of your trip, and are incredibly grateful for your support and kind words! We take great pride in our talented culinary and service teams, and are happy to hear their passion and dedication was shining bright on your visit. We'll hope to see you on your next trip to Laguna Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

So, first a confession. We have lived in Laguna Beach for decades, but had somehow never gotten around to trying Starfish. Having a day off a month or so ago we decided to go out to lunch, and decided to try a place near the grocery store, as we also needed to run errands. This place knocked our socks off, and we have been back with the same great experience, and are now regulars. The menu is large and varied. Asian fusion describes it as well as anything. Favors are well balanced, and the server offered to ask the kitchen to calibrate heat. My husband likes more chili than I do, and chili paste on the side also helped us both to have the amount we wanted. Portions are generous, and sharing is encouraged. The wine list is small, but very well chosen and there are many options by the glass, as well as a full bar. Mario is a true professional; attentive without being intrusive, well versed on the menu, attuned to what people like, efficient, and personable. The ambience is laid back and comfortable. At lunch it is certainly quiet enough for conversation. There are some outside tables, you can sit at the bar, and there are both booths (highly recommended) and tables inside. In short, fabulous food and service, plus comfort and good value.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Very nice surprise. Located between Yoga studio, drug store etc we found a wonderful place for lunch - sure to be a great choice for dinner as well. Spicy and full of natural flavours. Highly recommended. Good service as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monika_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen A, Owner at Starfish, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Monika,
Thank you for reviewing Starfish Laguna! We are glad you found a wonderful lunch/dinner hideaway in our little South Laguna gem, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

I particularly liked the choice of dishes. Served with a friendly smile and a favorite eatery for locals as I was told. Clean and pleasant surroundings with prompt service. Check it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen A, Owner at Starfish, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Tom,
Thank you for sharing your comments with Starfish Laguna! We are happy that you enjoyed our menu selections, and received prompt and pleasant service! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starfish also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Starfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing