We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shasta lake harold porch beds pool
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have been visiting Lake Shasta and staying at Sugarloaf Cottages for many years. This is the only property I know of that is directly on the lake - if the water isn't super low you can easily walk down to the dock and your boat.

The owner's, Harold and Arlene, have been consistently updating the cottages since they purchased the resort about 18 - 19 years ago.

The full kitchens are stocked with most everything you need and if not - just ask. Each cabin has it's own kitchen, bath and Weber bbq on the porch.

There is a pool, ping pong table, volleyball pit, playground, basketball, fish cleaning station and a newly opened "Upper Deck" combo rec room and conference room.

In the evenings most guest are wandering around getting to know the other guest. As most people come the same week each year it's fun to catch up with old friends.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been going to the Sugarloaf Cottages on Lake Shasta for the past 3 Labor Day Weekends. This is a great place to take the family. The price of your cottage includes a slip at the marina. The place is rustic and a little dated but that adds to the charm. Harold and Arlene are great hosts and bend over backwards to make your stay memorable. Every Saturday night during the summer is movie night and they set up a big outdoor movie screen and play something that both kids and adults will enjoy. Harold has an old fashioned popcorn machine and makes fresh popcorn on the spot to enjoy with the movie. Other amenities include a kitchen with dishes, pots and pans and utensils. They have a game room with pool table, Foosball and air hockey with a hi-def TV and wi-fi, a playground for the kids, a swimming pool, volleyball court, ping pong, badminton and horseshoes to occupy your time when you are not out on your watercraft. The have ice on the premises for a nominal charge and daily towel exchange. The place is frequently sold out during the summer so call early to reserve your week.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfagerskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just finished fishing up at Lake Shasta and staying with Arlene and Harold at their wonderful property right on the lake with boat slips that go with the cabins. The cabins are all different sizes. They are old but well maintained. We have been staying here for over 40 years from time to time and long before the present management. The cabins come with bed linens and minimum dishes and silverwear. There is great fishing all over the lake and before Memorial Day and after Labor Day, the lake offers lots of private coves and crannies where you can get away from the jet skis and noise. A great place to just relax but especially in the off season.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-Lincoln-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Nice clean cabins right on the water. Boat launch, slip if you bring or rent a boat. Love the wood work inside the cabins. Big Charcoal BBQ on the desk was nice. We really liked the very helpful owners. Almost forgot, the rec room at the top of the hill. Air hockey and a very nice pool table right in front of a nice flat scree just in case you want to catch that game while roughing it.

Room tip: We lucked out and got a 3 bedroom with 2 bathrooms!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott94117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Sugarloaf Cottages on the Sacramento arm of lake Shasta. All I can say is WOW, the cabins were very clean, the hosts Harold and Arlene Jones were so nice and eager to please, the cabins are walking distance from the boat dock/lake, and to top it all off they showed an outdoor movie one night during our stay. Next year we hope to gather a group of friends to join us at Sugarloaf. I would recommend this resort to anyone interested in a vacation on Lake Shasta.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaraRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews