We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geat location, first class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Geat location, first class hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful. It has a great location right at LA Live. We arrived at the start of a Lakers game. The place was packed with people but check-in both valet parking and check-in was speedy. We had a room on an upper floor overlooking LA Live. Despite all the activity, our room was very quite. While there was a lot of options for food in the area, it was mostly sit down, upper-tier restaurants. Getting a fast food or quick meal was slim pickings. A casual breakfast for less than $22 was an even greater challenge. Our room was very well done and quite large. The furnishings were all first rate. The valet parking operation was very well done.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    724
    186
    67
    44
See reviews for
329
370
93
984
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We staid at this JW for 4 nights in March of 2012. It a newer property that is part of the LA live complex.

Our check in was easy and the staff was very nice. Our room was on the 21st floor facing the city. The other people were with with were also on the 21st floor but facing the Nokia Theater. We had a king size room that was very spacious. One of the things we really appreciated was in addition to all the space there were plenty of places to unpack. The bathroom was also very large. The room had a modern feel as did the rest of the hotel.

This hotel is great if you are going to LA live or the downtown area. It was also pretty easy to get to Universal and Warner Brothers studios. But getting to parts of Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica was a mission. Especially with LA traffic.

The hotel lobby is big, modern and great. They have an Illy espresso bar, a wine bar and a place for breakfast. If you prefer Starbucks there's one right next to the hotel in the LA live complex. I will say that the complex was very busy the entire time were there with an NCAA basketball tournament, a Lakers Game, a Clippers Game and the premier of the Hunger Games. It was exciting but there were a lot of people in and around the hotel lobby at all times.

We did have dinner at WP 24 which is at the Ritz Carlton next door. You can actually get to the Ritz through the JW lobby which is nice when it's very busy outside. WP 24 is fantastic and worth the money.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the city. If you are on the LA Live side is very bright and can be noisy all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a great location for this hotel, best thing is if you dont have any plans to go out you can relax in the hotel and still get the LA lifestyle. I stayed for one night and I was amazed at the lobby area. If I was not already going out I would have stay at the hotel and had a good time in their lounge. This is probably one of the few JW's out there that has a 20-35 year old atmosphere, who can blame them. I love the bathroom and the room itself the only down side was the tiny double beds in the room, did not really expect this for a JW but the rate was great. Had an issues with the air condition but by the time I got back to the room they set the temp to what i requested it too be ;-). keep up the good work. its 20 dollars to park your car over night, but for LA this is a deal especially Friday Night.

Room Tip: Dont get the room with two Double beds they are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I get to stay here when the college basketball team I work with travels to L.A., and I look forward to it every time. I always get a spacious, beautiful room with an amazing view, and the property still has that "brand new" feel to it. Service is very helpful, and there are so many high-end lounges/bars to eat and drink at (if I had the money). Pool is medium-size with a bar and lots of tents/chairs/beds to lounge in. Rooms are quiet, sleep quality is excellent, overall just a luxurious place. Free wi-fi would have earned it another point.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed for a fitness convention. Room was clean and in working order. Staff was VERY HELPFUL. Close to LA Live and activities held there including frequent filming of television programming. NCIS LA was filming during the two days I stayed and it gives you a look behind the camera, not to mention star gazing. I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgoudeseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $419 - $839
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing