We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #307 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Booked through Hotwire and was very disappointed this is even a parter with them. I've booked with them a million times with different star rated hotels and have never ever had a problem. The photos they show DO NOT compare at all with the reality of this hotel. It was dirty, dead and alive bugs/spiders on the wall, furniture with stains/ holes on it which I don't even want to think about where they came from and broken window panels which did not help with feeling safe! Not to mention the atmosphere of the hotel overall, with other guests being very sketchy.. making us feel super unsafe. I usually don't do reviews like these but I just felt I HAD to share my experience so that others can avoid this place if they can!! Since I booked through Hotwire I called them right away after seeing the room and shared what I was experiencing. They moved us to a different hotel thank God because I would have lost my money before staying there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sjsanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This place is extremely dirty and should be condemned. I had the misfortune of checking in around midnight after booking through hotwire and left the next day early morning without taking a shower as the bathroom along with the whole room was filthy. This place should be torn down.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank vijay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We had to choose between paying $240 or $103 for a ten-hour night stay (we arrived late with exhausted kids), so we bit the bullet and took a chance. Pros: No bedbugs, super clean beds, and a fridge. Carpet was filthy, toilet paper was see-through thin, the vanity lights turned on every fifth time the switch was flipped, and the crowd outside was noisy (after party?). There were some chairs and a table in the
room...all odds and ends. The bathroom walls were shabby and smudged and the walls were dirty and chipped. We made the kids wear socks so their feet wouldn't get dirty. We woke, showered, and ran out of there. Skip this hotel if you can. If you HAVE to stay here, bring clorox wipes, socks, and double-ply toilet paper. (Hotel rates were cheaper during the week...try to avoid weekends).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Road_Family915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Very bad I was only there for 20 minutes there was roaches everywhere the air conditioner wasn't working , smells like weedthere was no parking trip advisor help me to cancel everything and I had to drive five more minutes from there to a better hotel Staples is the way to go

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Terrible! When we arrived they had no running water!! The following morning they had no hot water. We had a luke warm shower that evening and again no hot water the next morning after that. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights but left after 2. Wifi DOES NOT WORK and very poor reception in the rooms so we had to go outside to use our phones. The man in reception was rude and unhelpful. His excuse for all the faults and problems were "sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The rooms were dirty. Bathroom tiles need to be scrubbed as you literally can see the dirt on them. Walking across the carpet made our feet black. Holes in the walls, holes in the towels. Had to ask for hand towels and face cloths. Rust in the shower. Have no idea why we had to pay a $20 deposit for such a run down, dirty and unorganized hotel. No microwave in rooms but there is 1 outside in front of reception. I don't recommend using the fridge as it smelt like off food. Bed was uncomfortable you can really feel the springs in it. If you are driving then be aware that car parking is limited due to the hotel renting the parks out to other vehicles. For the price, this was a huge rip off!! We are easy going people and have stayed in some shabby places during our travels but this place was totally unacceptable for a hotel

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#215 of 355 in Los Angeles
88 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#196 of 355 in Los Angeles
388 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#242 of 355 in Los Angeles
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#159 of 355 in Los Angeles
468 reviews
Central L.A
Tuscan Garden Inn
Tuscan Garden Inn
#221 of 355 in Los Angeles
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: 1135 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2409
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $105 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Center Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing