We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$301
US$284
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$391
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$203
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$146
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The LINE(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$332
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$363
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hollywood Hills Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$226
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$449
US$429
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Normandie(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
100
139
76
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
139
76
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingcontinental breakfastwalking distancefront officereasonable ratesrooms are cleanhousekeeping staffconvenient locationstaples centerbed was very comfortablecvsdowntownproximitybeddingsoap
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Clean, safe, so close to USC--friendly and like a family. Glam it is not, but authentic retro.On fact, it has not changed much since built, by design likely in the 1960's This is by far the best area option.

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank MoneyMantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We value and appreciate all of our guests comments and feedback. We are happy to hear you have been a loyal guest for many years. Thank you for your loyalty and your recent stay.

Sincerely, Joana-GM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Checkin was fast and painless. Received a 2nd flr room in the building behind the pool, and it actually faces away from the property. It was strange, as most of the rooms close to the checkin desk (which I had requested on reservation) showed no cars or people.

The room was just beat down. Furniture that looks like you would find it at a yardsale. Every edge banged up, missing most of the finish. Actual CRT TV - in 2015. Even though there is a nice new LCD TV screen at the checkin desk for weather reports.

The room had that early 80's vibe, and hasn't been cleaned much since. The AC sounded like the "Probe" from Star Trek 4. I am 6feet tall, and had a time reaching the control knobs. Really poor placement. Carpet and lights were just tired, and beyond worn.

Bed had a pillow top, was actually comfortable. But with no coffee in room, you would have to walk back to front desk to get some.

I needed to visit USC, that was the only plus to this location. Lots of places close to walk to also for food, ect.

Staff were nice, not their fault about property standards.

Room Tip: Pick a nicer place unless you NEED to be close to USC
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sept1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We value an appreciate all of our guests feedback.
We offer you our sincerest apology. We promise you the Room in pool area was giving because of the Room type reserved. Within the office area we only have King Size bed Rooms or Family. Further out towards the back we have double queens, family Rooms and queens. Pool area only has queens and double queens. The nights you stayed even though there were hardly any cars in parking lot we had a large group of USC students staying with us they were riding bikes most of them. Also a lot of our Guests use shuttle service as they usually walk to where they need to be or ride the public transportation. Our location is actually very clean and safe. Your feedback has been brought up to the attention of high management. Within the near future there will be upgrades. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

While the decor is a little date, the rooms are clean and well-maintained. It's very close 10 min safe walk to USC. Parking is included in the room cost. Check out is noon, and you can't check in before 2pm

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We value and appreciate all of our guests feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered through out your stay. We do offer early check in depending on availability and previous night occupancy. If the Hotel was booked the night before it is hard for us to get all guests in early specially during USC football season. We understand everyone wants to check in early but at times it is difficult as there are guests whom need late check out. We have to be flexible on both sides. If you are within the area and need a place next time with early check in please call in the morning so we may work something out including hding luggage until check in.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Good location. Walking distance to USC, CVS pharmacy and many restaurants. free parking, free wifi. On the web site, they will accept AAA discount when we check in, unfortunately but they don't. Everything was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 223mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are happy to hear you had a good stay in our location. We do offer 10% discount for AAA members if it is not applied you may request it during your check in/out process. If you need a Room within the area again we hope you stay here again. Your time to review us is much appreciated and valuable to us.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Very close to university of Southern California and so this place was the best location for me. The staff were very courteous. The room was very clean and the A.C was very effective. I spoke to them before booking and they also offered a special rate for that period and so suggest you talk to them directly to know the current offers. Due to the peak season (August) the rates were bit high. If they can give some discount to the guests who come for admission to USC then it would be great. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rsundarbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend us on trip advisor. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay at our location. We hope you will continue to use our services during your time at USC. Check with us for any future special deals. Thank you.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews