We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kawada Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
The NoMad Hotel Los Angeles(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,010)
Filter reviews
3,010 results
Traveller rating
860
1,198
616
204
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
1,198
616
204
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown larevolving loungetrue liesred towerheavenly bedhuge hotelfloor to ceiling windowsstarbucks coffeetop floorroom servicethe financial districtvalet parkingdowntown locationconvention centerstaples centerlobby barper night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,732 - 1,737 of 3,010 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here over New Years to attend a hockey game on NYE. The location is not bad, just under a mile walk to Staples but everyone said to cab it so we did going there but waked home with a large group and felt safe enough.

Our room was on the 30th floor with great views toward the Disney concert hall. We could also people watch into the exterior glass elevators and other tower rooms of the Westin. Windows in our room were floor to ceiling so you really got a good view out. But the room can get hot from the sun, make sure the ac is turned on in the afternoon. The ac worked well in our room but was noisy.

We had a newly renovated room which was a bit compact but still felt spacious. There was plenty of space for everything you bring. Had flat screen tv, mini fridge, comfy bed, desk, chair and ottoman, etc. the bathroom was very nicely decorated and cozy. Lots of counter space.

We enjoyed roaming all the shops located in this hotel/commerce building. There are lots of shops and eateries in the building.

Our service was hit and miss at this hotel. Check in was great, Tim at the bar is great, NYE party in the bar that rotates was initially good. But we tried the lobby bar later on the night and one bartender is terrible, can't make simple drinks. Don't order from the Asian woman if she is working the bar. Then the NYE party in the rotating bar was supposed to go until 2am but started kicking everyone out at 1am, it was a downer. Tried to go back downstairs to lobby bar and the dj was playing all traditional Mecican music, odd choice for a hotel bar of this caliber and clientele. Needless to say, that was a buzz kill too.

The only other trouble we had was checking out. This hotel is green and does not give you a bill under the door and it's not on your tv so you have to go to front desk to check out and make sure charges are ok. The line is very long due to this. I'm glad I waited, though, because there was an error on my bill and the gal did not want to fix it but eventually did.

All in all it was a good stay and I'd stay again if I had to stay downtown (but the price would have to be right).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RumRunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that you will return and will share your experiences with our team to improve your experience. The last call given shuold not be a invitation to leave but a chance to have a beverage lin a relaxing manner. I shared your experience with the food and beverage team as to not rush guests at the end of the night. When staying at the hotel just give your email at checkin and a bill will be sent to your email first thing in the morning on your check out day, this will let you review your bill from your PDA or computer and allow you to simply just head out and enjoy the day. If there is a question you can simply call and clarify any questions. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here on business. Great service at front desk check in. Disappointed with amenities, not a great coffee option, restaurant options were average. Room was large, bed was excellent, nice desk, average bathroom. Overall hotel is fading a little. I would stay again at the right price although I would check other options next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemoryCamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for your post, if possible please send a note to labon@westin.com attention MC with your room number and a brief description of what amenities your post refers to. Our policy is to use the Westin Brand Amenities and if something was missing we can follow up with training in that area. If there is something else you were refering to we would like to know.Thanks so much and we look forward to your next stay.
MC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband surprised me with this hotel for a part of our honeymoon for new years. I didn't know where we were staying so I was suitably impressed when we pulled up outside the bonaventure. We were greeted by helpful staff at the checkin counter and told that they would send out bags up to our room. We checked in nice and easily and were told the best elevator to take to our room.

When we got to our room (on the 25th floor) it was brilliant. It had recently been renovated so it was nice and clean and the room was of a decent size for a inner city hotel. The bed was a king bed and we both slept really well. The bathroom was really clean and the shower was powerful even in the bath tap dripped while we were taking a shower.

We had breakfast in the hotel every day and were never disappointed, they didn't have the same thing every day which was nice to get a change even if we could have eaten the pancakes every day!

We found the concierge to be helpful but he didn't go above and beyond, for example we were trying to get tickets to see the LA Lakers game on new years eve and he told us where we could get tickets but we both thought that he could of found out if tickets were still available from the ticket broker before we made the 20 minute walk in the heat to find out. But maybe this is how things are done in LA hotels as we've never been before. We didn't mind in the end as we got great tickets and we found the grammy museum!

My husband used the pool as the weather was great on new years, while I relaxed by the poolside, if you closed your eyes you wouldn't of known you were in downtown LA!

I would recommend this hotel to any of our friends or family, we are coming back to America in September and we will be staying at the Bonaventure for a couple of nights without a doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Westin Hotel with my family and the experience was great. The lobby was beautiful and we ate Breakfast there in the mornings. Great food. We also ate at the Restaurant that was at the top floor of the Hotel. Great food and amazing view. The rooms were nice, and had a good view of downtown LA, and many skyscrapers that surrounded the hotel. The idea if having "Towers" separate the rooms was interesting. We were in the Blue Tower. The only problem was the pool as when we stayed. the quality of it was pretty bad. But there are good beaches to make up for it. Overall our stay at the Westin was great and next time we return to LA we will look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostasDaGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel's pricelist puts it in competiotion with the likes of the Hilton but I am sad to say its amenities are outdated.

Do not expect to get anything deliscious to eat at this hotel, it is either extremely overpriced or has hairs sticking out of...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtravellerz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews