We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the eyes--Travelling girl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #53 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
14
Reviewed 4 July 2005

It's true what the other reviewers say--book with a online discount agent.
The hotel was situated right off the 110. Exit off Whilshire and make a left at the first light, a right at 4th St, then a right at Flower St to get to the hotel parking. Hotel parking was $25 with unlimited entry but it's valet parking so you may have to tip. Toting your bags from this area may also be cumbersome so you may require a bellman--that translates to more tipping. After going up a set of escalators you will arrive on the main floor of the hotel. The main floor contains a vast assortment of water features.
Each elevator is designated by colour and shape. If you are afraid of heights this is not the hotel for you as the glass elevators provide a great view of the skyline as you head to your room.
I stayed on the 30th floor in the Red Tower. The room was satisfactory. The hotel has turn down service so don't be afraid to use it. The only downfall of the room was that they did not provide a minibar (even though there was a locked fridge). When I called downstairs for a refrigerator they said that there weren't any available. Why didn't they just unlock the fridge that was already in the room? Nevertheless, the robes and beds added a nice touch.
FYI: The pool is outdoors and is opened by hotel room key--although you can just stick your hand through the gate and open it from the other side! This isn't too comforting as the pool is easily accessible to the public from the street. The hotel should know that signs that mention it is only for the use of hotel guests don't always work
The Starbucks in the hotel lobby doesn't contain all of your favorites so you may have to go across the street to get your usual fix.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,331 - 2,335 of 2,981 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 2 July 2005

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have never had a complaint. We are given a suite most times ( two separate rooms with two TV's, refrigerator , coffee pot and microwave , two baths). There was nothing small about our rooms. Los Angeles is spread out so you'll not find everything conveniently outside the hotel door. Lots of food choices abound and convenient to the subway.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
tucson, az
11
Reviewed 30 June 2005

The room itself was very nice. We had to wait approx. 1/2 hr because hotels didn't put in our reservation by the time we arrived. Luckily I printed the confirmation via email. The girl at the front desk gave us a "really nice room" for our wait. Parking on the other hand was unbearable and $25 per night. You cannot go to your car easily if you need to retrieve something. It was quite ridiculous! Restaurants also closed very early for a Friday night. Again, room was grea
t, parking bad. Good chance we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2005

First off, I'm not someone's wife reviewing hotels while my husband is off working. I'm a working stiff road warrior like many of you. I'm so sick of these wives writing nice reviews of crappy properties.

THe Bonaventure is a mess. Stained carpets. Clueless valets. Small cramped rooms (They mirror one wall so it will feel bigger. Newsflash, if you need to mirror a wall your hotel has very small room or charges by the hour.).

No desk, just a very shaky table. No desk chair. THe loungers feel like you'll fall right through them. Crappy restaurants in what they call the Galleria. No mugs for coffee. The in room set up has paper cups just like Best Western.

Valet parking is $25/day. THe uber hip Standard hotel a block away is $8/day.

Nothing much going for it. THe Standard is a cooler choice. The Marriott is a more professional choice.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mlasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2005

I'll start with the good.

The AC unit in our room was making a weird noise so I called the front desk. They sent maintenance (rather quickly) to come check it out. We were told by maintenance that it would take about 2 hours to fix and would it be ok if they moved us to another room. I said that would be fine. I was a bit worried that the AC issue was going to be a big problem because we booked through Priceline and a lot of times hotels treat you like a second class citizen because you did not book with them. I was really happy that this was not the case.

We really liked the decor of the rooms, the beds were quite comfy and there was a fridge in the room! A welcome change from all of the other 4* hotels that only provide you with a minibar.

My only issue is the location. On our last adventure to LA we stayed in Santa Monica and I think that is a much better location for a tourist, that being said, I really enjoyed our stay at the Bonaventure.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktbear7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 358 in Los Angeles
846 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#112 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,293 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#68 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: S$316 - S$874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing