We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garland
Nearby Hotels
The LINE(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$315
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hollywood Hills Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$351
US$342
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$360
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Elan Hotel(Los Angeles)
US$179
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,310)
Filter reviews
3,310 results
Traveller rating
1,670
1,149
327
112
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,670
1,149
327
112
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversal studiosfree shuttleyard restaurantbrady bunch housetrolley servicenorth hollywoodholiday innel doradopool areametro stationlovely hotelbunk bedson site restauranthot tubstudio citysmall balconycity walk
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 3,310 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We have visited The Garland numerous times and we have never been disappointed!

From outdoor garden views to indoor private rooms, The Garland takes care of all your special event needs - even providing vegetarian options!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Beverly C,
We appreciate your kind words and endorsement! Thank you for joining us at The Garland for special events and luncheons. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Husband and I stayed here for a few nights in late August at the recommendation of a friend who lives in LA. We planned to see a lot of the area, and thought that our accommodations would only need to be for sleeping and showering before heading out to explore. Boy, were we wrong! This hotel was welcoming, comfortable, and so much more than a place to sleep and shower! When we checked in, we saw a sign advertising a craft beer tasting that afternoon at the bar in the restaurant, movie nights at the pool, walking tours of the neighborhood, and morning yoga/pilates in the park near the hotel and a free shuttle to Universal.
We took advantage of the craft beer tasting, the movie night and the free shuttle to Universal during our stay. All were great, as was the on-site gym, pool during the day and the restaurant at the hotel. We ate breakfast there several times, and had brunch there on the Sunday of our stay--reservations for brunch are recommended, we were lucky enough to get a spot on their wait list.
We were a bit concerned that our room would be noisy, as we were on the first floor near the entrance to our building and near the pool/courtyard, but didn't have a problem with noise and our room felt safe for being in such a trafficked area of the grounds.
Only drawback to the hotel was finding it--it's so well landscaped and a bit tricky to get into from the street.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear susan d,
We love your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and highlight some amenities and activities offered at the hotel. We were delighted to host you and your husband during your trip to Los Angeles. We are thrilled we could make your experience better. We hope your travels bring you back to The Garland soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and can not fault the place one bit. From arriving everything was perfect. Rooms (and actual hotel) are very modern with a very quirky decor. Rooms are plenty big enough, beds are super comfy, staff are extra friendly and the services are great. We used parking which was very secure and easy to use. We also used the self service laundry which again was very easy to use and really cheap. The free shuttle to and from universal city saved us around $80-100 in cab fares! They run every hour there and back. Great location as you aren’t in the hustle and bustle of central LA however you are in easy commute distance. Excellent hotel would definitely return/recommend!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DanTheMan1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear DanTheMan1993,
Fantastic! Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We are thrilled to know we will be welcoming you back in the future. Please let us know if we can help book and plan your next trip to The Garland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I would personally love to make mention of Maddy and Dianne the receptionists - they were so friendly, welcoming and courteous - nothing was too much trouble. After bussing into Los Angeles to be met with such a delightful receptionist at that time of the night was so welcoming. The rooms were so clean and tidy, quiet and big compared to previous American hotels. My sister and I stayed 10th March through to 14th March. I loved the retro feel of this hotel plus the amazing attention to detail with the music of that era plus furnishings of that era (which is my era). The shuttle bus was terrific taking us to the City Walk and Universal Studios, return. Breakfast was delightful, again with that same amount of professionalism that we were coming to expect.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor which was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tattle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear tattle60,
Wonderful! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience and for highlighting some of our wonderful team. We were delighted to host a sisters trip to LA and you were able to take advantage of some of the hotel amenities. We look forward to your next trip to The Garland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

After researching several hotels near Universal Studios, I chose The Garland for my family to relax while visiting the park. Immediately upon arrival, the front desk staff was extremely welcoming and was happy to answer all of my questions. My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool and hot tub while my husband and I enjoyed our free welcome cocktail by the pool. The rooms are cozy and comfortable and have an old Hollywood charm. The best part of all was the free trolley service that took us right to Universal Studios and the City Walk. There was no need to use our car even once during our stay because of the trolley. We also enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the cute little restaurant attached to the hotel. The only downfall was the $25 daily self-parking charge which should be included with the hotel stay. But despite the extra charge, I would definitely stay at The Garland again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dentmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darin M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Dentmom2,
Excellent! Thank you for allowing us to host you on your family vacation. We are pleased to know you found our amenities to be convenient for both parents and children. Please come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews