We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible staff member”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My husband and i recently stayed there. We were having a hard time finding the hotel so we called and a very rude front desk name ASHLEY answered the phone. We asked her for directions and she was very rude and told us to "google the directions". I asked her if she could just tells how to get there from where we where and she said we would have to wait and she put us on hold for like 10 minutes. When we arrived to check in the same front desk was arguing with a man there. It looked like it was an ex boyfriend they both were yelling at each other etc and he was chasing her behind the front desk trying to get her phone away. Very unprofessional, and she didnt even apologized for her behaviour. Other than that little scene the room was very nice. Decent for the price. Location was great. There is a walmart behind it so very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyclarkk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear emilyclarkk7,

We at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marina, CA, would like to thank you for visiting and leaving a review of your experience with the property.

It is great to hear that you found our location very convenient and the room suited your needs. But,it is disappointing to know that you had difficulty locating our property and to make things worse, we were not able to provide you the necessary assistance. Furthermore, the actions of our staff was totally uncalled for and inappropriate.

We have reached out to you and sent a private message to learn more about the details of the events during your stay.

We apologize for what transpired and it is our desire that you would still continue to consider the IHG brand for your lodging needs in the future.


Sincerely,

Wazay P.
Case Manager
IHG Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

we decide to stay on the last minute and other places in Monterey was quite expensive, so we find this hotel which was very clean and quite and the breakfast was very good, i defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Last minute booking, needed a room for that night only as we were just traveling through. We booked a king room and got 2 double beds instead. The toilet wasn't flushing properly and making noises. The alarm was set to go off at 4:15am, that was fun. The staff had no idea what was going on and kept blaming us for them incorrectly booking a room we didn't want. The girl then moves us to another room 2 floors down with exactly the same beds! Wow. We got there pretty late after 10 hours of driving and we just wanted to rest. I've stayed at holiday inn hotels before but this was not good.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MissCee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear MissCee01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is disappointing to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you experienced, particularly with the room you received. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice holiday inn. The staff are friendly. Prices are reasonable considering it's only a few miles from Monterey which has exorbitant prices. The drive to Monterey is scenic. Hollie at the breakfast bar topped this trip. We thought it was Sunday which in fact it was Monday and Labor Day so the breakfast bar was closed early and not weekend hours. My son was very disappointed but Hollie opened the door and served us whatever was available. We really appreciated her hospitality and friendliness. Will always go back there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for 10 days. The staff is wonderful. They have a large selection for breakfast and the breakfast room is nice. The rooms are basic and large, but extremely dark, and they don't have great storage if you're there more than a few days. The bathroom is a good size. Good basic hotel near route 1 and a WALMART.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear susannTheGo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our breakfast selection and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our staff. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our rooms. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for evaluation.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
3.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Marina The Dunes On Monterey Bay
1.1 km away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
2 km away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Marina
159 reviews
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
1.4 km away
Ramada Marina
Ramada Marina
#5 of 9 in Marina
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina

Address: 189 Seaside Ave, Marina, CA 93933-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $136 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marina, CA!We are located on the Monterey Peninsula, just minutes from Downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf. Santa Cruz, Seaside & Sand City are also nearby.Close to the natural beauty of the dunes and Marina State Beach Park, this hotel offers the guest great value and proximity to the areas world-class golf, dining, and attractions. We are a short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 Mile Drive, & Pacific Grove.Our beautiful hotel features complimentary Deluxe Express Start Continental Breakfast, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and free local phone calls. After a day of sightseeing, return to your comfortable room to relax or enjoy an invigorating work out in our fitness room or dip in our oversized hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Marina
Holiday Inn Express Marina
Holiday Inn Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing