We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Marina)
US$183
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Laguna Lodge(Marina)
US$130
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctuary Beach Resort(Marina)
US$749
US$609
Sanctuary
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
79
109
53
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
109
53
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desk staffdowntown montereystreet noisethe breakfast areaaffordable optioncomplimentary breakfastshower headquiet locationbeds were very comfortableone night staylarge roombig surcannery rowbrittwalmarthighwaymicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My husband and i recently stayed there. We were having a hard time finding the hotel so we called and a very rude front desk name ASHLEY answered the phone. We asked her for directions and she was very rude and told us to "google the directions". I asked her if she could just tells how to get there from where we where and she said we would have to wait and she put us on hold for like 10 minutes. When we arrived to check in the same front desk was arguing with a man there. It looked like it was an ex boyfriend they both were yelling at each other etc and he was chasing her behind the front desk trying to get her phone away. Very unprofessional, and she didnt even apologized for her behaviour. Other than that little scene the room was very nice. Decent for the price. Location was great. There is a walmart behind it so very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyclarkk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear emilyclarkk7,

We at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marina, CA, would like to thank you for visiting and leaving a review of your experience with the property.

It is great to hear that you found our location very convenient and the room suited your needs. But,it is disappointing to know that you had difficulty locating our property and to make things worse, we were not able to provide you the necessary assistance. Furthermore, the actions of our staff was totally uncalled for and inappropriate.

We have reached out to you and sent a private message to learn more about the details of the events during your stay.

We apologize for what transpired and it is our desire that you would still continue to consider the IHG brand for your lodging needs in the future.


Sincerely,

Wazay P.
Case Manager
IHG Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we decide to stay on the last minute and other places in Monterey was quite expensive, so we find this hotel which was very clean and quite and the breakfast was very good, i defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Last minute booking, needed a room for that night only as we were just traveling through. We booked a king room and got 2 double beds instead. The toilet wasn't flushing properly and making noises. The alarm was set to go off at 4:15am, that was fun. The staff had no idea what was going on and kept blaming us for them incorrectly booking a room we didn't want. The girl then moves us to another room 2 floors down with exactly the same beds! Wow. We got there pretty late after 10 hours of driving and we just wanted to rest. I've stayed at holiday inn hotels before but this was not good.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MissCee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear MissCee01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is disappointing to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you experienced, particularly with the room you received. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice holiday inn. The staff are friendly. Prices are reasonable considering it's only a few miles from Monterey which has exorbitant prices. The drive to Monterey is scenic. Hollie at the breakfast bar topped this trip. We thought it was Sunday which in fact it was Monday and Labor Day so the breakfast bar was closed early and not weekend hours. My son was very disappointed but Hollie opened the door and served us whatever was available. We really appreciated her hospitality and friendliness. Will always go back there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for 10 days. The staff is wonderful. They have a large selection for breakfast and the breakfast room is nice. The rooms are basic and large, but extremely dark, and they don't have great storage if you're there more than a few days. The bathroom is a good size. Good basic hotel near route 1 and a WALMART.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear susannTheGo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our breakfast selection and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our staff. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our rooms. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for evaluation.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews