We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveller rating
859
396
126
37
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
396
126
37
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachside restaurant santa monica venice beach marina view the cheesecake factory paddle boarding mothers beach self parking happy hour great restaurant hotel restaurant parking lot nice location killer shrimp close to the airport los angeles la area
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The hotel was located on a busy main road at one end of Marina del Rey. 20 rooms are located on the ground floor with 10, numbers 112 to 130 directly facing the car park, which resulted in no privicay unless the curtains were fully closed when in the room.
When we arrived the toilet in our room was broken and the sink plug stuck so the sink was unuseable. The toilet was fixed immediately but the sink took several days.
The lighting in all room failed to provide good illumination.
The fabric of the hotel feels aged although some modernisation has taken place.
This does not feel like a 4 star hotel, by some distance.
The bar and restaurant were adequate, but the pool although heated was very small.
The hotel is located on the Marina Del Rey beach, but this is undergoing refurbishment from Fall of 2017 through to the summer of 2018. This resulted in much noise and disruption as the walkway in front of the hotel was dug up and a barricade placed across the hotel exits onto the beach. There were no tourist information leaflets or helpful guides as to what public transport exists and how to access it.
All staff were very pleasant and on the whole helpful, although did not have a great knowledge of local facilities or how to access them.
The hotel is within walking distance of Venice and if you have the time Santa Monica, which will take 1 1/2 hours. The majority of the Marina Del Rey facilities are located at the other end of the marina, but there is a free but small shuttle service (drivers tip excluded) that runs along the Marina.

Room tip: Choose At least first floor rooms, but all facing away from the car park and main road
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for joining us and providing your feedback. We apologize for any inefficiencies in the room upon arrival. We do have many room types that offer lovely views. Typically, our guests experience a quiet oasis when they stay at Jamaica Bay Inn. The city of Marina del Rey is working to improve the dated path along Mother's Beach. They are nearly finished and the noise has stopped. We do hope you give us another chance in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure a perfect stay.

Sincerely,
Courtney Ryan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

This is a very comfortable hotel in a wonderful, on-the-beach location! We had a superb fourth floor view to the marina that I really enjoyed from our veranda. It has its own great restaurant in the hotel, and is very close to plenty of other good restaurants right on Admiralty or five blocks away in Venice Beach. The hotel itself is clean and well-maintained, as are the grounds and pool area. Even the beach is cleaned and swept every morning and the area feels very safe for walking as people are out doing yoga, rowing crew or scow, and working out every morning. There is paddle board rental, as well as volley ball courts, and a fun kids playground. Every Saturday there is the Marina Del Rey Farmer's Market less than a block away across the beach. At the time I booked, there was a 20% off special going on which made it even more affordable. This is a great place to stay in LA!

Room tip: The upper floors have balconies facing the water and marina view.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thanks for joining us! We appreciate you taking the time to share about our clean, well-maintained, uniquely located hotel & restaurant. It is always wonderful to see that our guests had an awesome stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you for another fun visit soon! Just give us a call and we will gladly assist with your travel plans.

Sincerely,
Courtney Ryan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

A very comfortable hotel with an upscale feel. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Great views of the marina. The Beachside Restaurant has great food and many locals eat here too. Always stay here when in the area and have recommended it to many of my friends and family members.

Room tip: "Marina view" rooms are the best!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewa458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks so much for recommending Jamaica Bay Inn to your friend, family and Trip Advisor visitors! All of us at the hotel are so happy to see that we have earned your repeat business and you continue to enjoy our beautiful location. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Courtney Ryan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This hotel is tucked away in the Marin Del Rey area and is situated on a lagoon. The marina is supposedly the largest small boat marina in the US so there is significant boat traffic in the water. There is a small public beach and at the time we stayed, the beach was being renovated by machinery and beeping backhoes starting at 6:00 am each day. WE made the mistake of leaving the terrace door open over night and being woken at sunrise by the din. Subsequent days we remembered to close the slider and the noise was bit more tolerable.

Staff here is very friendly but not empowered to do too much. If you wish to upgrade your room or switch to a less noisy area, be prepared to have the manager at hand. Note that the building along the beach is not directly accessible by elevator from the lobby-- you need to take two elevators or be prepared to wheel your luggage down a small flight of stairs.

The room is of good size, towels are provided for the beach. Bottles of $5 Voss water are left each day but at $235 per night, I am not complaining-- just brought my own from Ralph's.

There is a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is just OK. There is a neat 24 hour diner next door called Killer Cafe which is preferable.

If you need to be in Marina Del Rey or any of the adjacent neighborhoods, this is a good low key place to stay.

Room tip: Facing the lagoon is best however be sure that there is no construction going on.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to share about your recent visit in Marina del Rey. We appreciate you taking the time to share valuable feedback. We are happy to report the unscheduled, city mandated construction noise has come to an end and do apologize that it affected your stay. All of us at the hotel do hope to welcome you back for a perfect stay in the future. Give us a call and we will gladly assist with ensuring you have the location you prefer.

Sincerely,
Courtney Ryan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Stayed a few nights on business and found the Jamaica Bay Inn a nice escape from the hubbub of Los Angeles. Situated right by the water, it stands somewhat apart from the busier areas, which makes it a good retreat at the end of the day. There are restaurants, bars and shopping within walking distance though, making it the best of both worlds.

The room was nice and clean, the beds comfortable, and the service was always friendly. Really, my only complaint, such as it is, would be the heavy "tropical" scents in some of the public areas such as the lobby. They were a bit overwhelming and would be a real issue for anyone sensitive to such things.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jdsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney R, Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear JDS,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share about your stay! We are delighted to see you enjoyed our unique location, friendly service and clean rooms. We appreciate your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you to Jamaica Bay Inn again soon!

Sincerely,
Courtney Ryan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews