We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to LAX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My husband and I stayed overnight here in August 2017 before taking a transpacific flight from LAX. Overall my impression was favorable, and I would recommend this hotel for LAX layovers.

The property is a short 15-20 minute drive from LAX, and is located on a marina proper. Even from streetside, you can tell that this is an older property, and it lacks the curb appeal and spit and shine of most Ritz-Carltons.

Service was very good, and we were pleased to get an automatic room upgrade to "partial marina view" with our platinum Amex card. Frankly, our view of the marina was plenty good enough and I wouldn't recommend paying for a full marina view. I believe I recall receiving free basic internet as part of our room rate.

The room was pretty standard in size and amenities. The bathroom could have used an exhaust fan.

We had one dinner, one breakfast, and one lunch at the hotel restaurant. While the breakfast was quite good, the lunch and dinner were only average. Portions at lunch and dinner were small, especially considering the price. More disappointing, however, was the fact that the lunch and dinner menu are the same. Rather than face the same menu another time, for our second lunch we walked to another restaurant nearby. I got the impression this is a popular watering hole for professionals in the area, and thus drinks are more important than food.

We were grateful that they gave us late check-out (4 pm - thanks to Amex platinum) as our flight didn't leave LAX until close to midnight.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend paying for a full marina view; partial views are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TrvlAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Decent hotel- nice bar ask for table overlooking marina.

Service a bit underwhelming (had to take our own luggage out - no bellman or valet outside).

Rooms are decent but not as luxurious as other Ritz (LA, South Beach, NY)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 5starone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We were the last flight out of Houston before they closed the airport. Instead of our flight to Narita we were diverted for an overnight in LA. I called AMEX for a reservation. The staff was sympathetic and caring. We actually were given the AMEX upgrade! They were also helpful with directions to find needed articles as our luggage didn't arrive with us. The hotel is clean and doesn't smell of mold although it is a bit older.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

If you go to LA and want to do the whole package; visit the famous beaches, see Sunset Boulevard, the Hollywood sign and Universal Studios, this is a perfect location. The valet parking guys are friendly, the restaurant is good, the pool is OK and the rooms were good. Absolutely a 5 star rating for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borgmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

There was never a doubt in my mind about my stay at The Ritz Carlton Marina Del Ray. Our stay was just one night but it was amazing and in perfect proximity to the airport and beach. Great way to end a short vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
801 reviews
Marina del Rey Marriott
#6 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,176 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,421 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#5 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range: $445 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly perched on one of the largest man-made marinas in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey is a hotel that offers guests easy access to Los Angeles, as well as a tranquil seaside hideaway to escape the city pace. Enjoy the warmth and laid-back lifestyle of Southern California from one of Los Angeles’ only AAA Five Diamond luxury hotels to call the waterfront home. Here, guests enjoy ocean, marina or city skyline views from soothing guest rooms and suites; a restaurant that source local ingredients from the neighborhood farmers market; a spa that paves the way to well-being; two lighted tennis courts; and LA’s only waterfront pool. Minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills, our distinctive Marina del Rey hotel will ensure the memories will linger long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing