We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$195
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miners Inn Motel(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$160
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariposa Lodge(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Rock Inn(Mariposa)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restful Nest Bed and Breakfast(Mariposa)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
5
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed there a couple of nights last October on the back to San Francisco from Yosemite. All the praise on Tripadvisor is more than justified. Much nicer to stay here than in Yosemite itself (with its health risks!). Mary Ellen recommended some lovely places in Mariposa to eat (Charles Street Dinner House great, nicer than Savoury's which is all big business hustler and bustle, both in the centre). You'll need to take a cab if you want to have drink. Just beware: some of these other establishments are not anywhere near the village centre at all!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonelygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights while we were visiting Yosemite National Park, and I can honestly say it was the highlight of our trip. Dan was so attentive to our every need. Breakfast in the morning was delicious; fresh fruit, croissant french toast, bacon and maple syrup and delicious baked foods that I can't remember the name to but Mary Ellen is a fantastic cook!

Dan would prepare little day packs for us with biscuits and fruit, and then we would come home at night to bottles of wine, a freshly baked lemon cake and cheeses and crackers.

Their property is beautiful and it was such a treat to wake up in the morning and sit out in the sun with all of the birds and squirrels. We loved sitting by the fire at night and of course using their hot tub in the evenings!

I honestly can't think of a single bad thing to say about this place. It was run with such love and care by Dan and Mary Ellen and that really shows when it comes to service. My boyfriend and I loved every minute of it and we hope we can both come back (if we didn't live 15000km away we would be back every weekend!). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natty_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I chose this B&B based on the glowing Trip Advisor reviews.

They were accurate. Mary Ellen a sweet person, and she runs a great B&B.

There is no need for me to write more since others have already done it justice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights to spend a time in Yosemite National Park and can confirm that the Highland House website and the Tripadvisor reviews about Mary-Ellen's B&B are accurate. The lovely house is quite secluded in the woods about 15 minutes from the restaurants, museums and facilities of the town of Mariposa and a lovely 36 mile drive from the main gate to Yosemite Valley. It is also conveniently located for visits to the wonderful Glacier Point (the star feature of the national park for us) and the magnificent Mariposa Grove of redwood trees. It is easy too to take in many of the towns of Gold Country along Highway 49.

We were in the attractive and scrupulously clean Poppy Room, armed with electric and ceiling fans to supplement the air conditioning and triple aspect windows to ensure air flow on our hot September nights. Downstairs there is a sitting room and, after a warm welcome from owner, Mary-Ellen, plentiful supplies of cheese and biscuits, cookies and cake, tea and coffee between arrival and setting off for dinner. When we got back later that evening there were bottles of red and white wine as well and we were able to sit out on one of the decks to admire the stars. Sharing the house were 2 other couples and we quickly made friends and enjoyed conversation and laughter over evening wine and the very good breakfasts prepared by Mary-Ellen's helper.

Outside the bedrooms upstairs, there is a kettle and fridge stocked so that early risers can make themselves a drink before breakfast.

All the extras provided in this comfortable home make Highland House excellent value for money as well as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YohoBoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I wanted a base from which to stage an early-October, two-day introduction to Yosemite NP, and based on sketchy reviews of motels in the vicinity, we opted for the highly and uniformly praised Poppy Hill B&B. The proprietor, Mary Ellen, greeted us on arrival and at our request provided the two of us Yosemite novices with much useful and needed advice and recommendations on how to approach our visit. She also provided a complementary glass of wine, cheeses and crackers, and later in the day, a decadently chocolate cake! Our room, the Iris, was nicely appointed in antique furnishings, the bed provided an excellent night's sleep, and the bathroom/shower provided for all the necessities quite nicely - all was exceptionally clean. An excellent and substantial breakfast greeted us both days we had the opportunity to enjoy it at the Poppy Hill. If we could change a thing about the Poppy Hill, it might be to make it a bit easier to find, but then we might also miss the opportunity to see the flock of wild turkeys that visited the Inn each morning of our stay. Great place - given the opportunity, we'd stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor rooms may be a challenge for some guests; however, a room is available on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeezersOnTheGo-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews