We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Traveled throughout NorCal in August 2011 with some (adult) family members, and spent two nights in Mendocino at the Sea Gull Inn. My mother and I shared the Geranium Room - so delightfully quiet, I slept like a baby! I loved how the door to the room opened to the backyard garden. The room itself was perfect for two independent adults, and gave us enough room not to trip over ourselves. There were some drawbacks associated with a place built in the 1800's but the charm overules. However, the wardrobe could have used more than two hangers, and the bathroom a couple of towel racks or hooks. But these things are minor, and I definitely would stay here again! Breakfast is terrific, with a good variety of foods, and brought right to the room.

Room Tip: Even ground floor rooms are wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

The shed room is small but cozy and clean, very nice. Breakfast served in the room is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was a wonderful stay. We had a room with an incredibly comfy king bed and a little gas fire place, great for a cold day. At night, we could hear the ocean. Everything was clean and new in the room. The breakfast was a nice treat of organic fruit, some juice, yogurt and a home-baked muffin. The muffin was a little heavy on sugar, but that's a personal preference. The only inconvenience was hearing the fan from a nearby restaurant, but that went off by about 10:30 pm. I truly hope to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronique577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Mendocino is a historically preserved town, populated with art shops, upscale food, a scattering of bake-heads trying to walk and a host of B&Bs each trying to out "cute" the other. Sea Gull Inn does a brisk business here but keeps things personal and friendly. The inn keepers do their best to give you a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different, review which one you might like but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had never been to Mendocino before, we were very impressed. This sleepy haven on the coast was everything we expected from a B&B experience. I only wish we had more time to stay here, we were on a 2 week long road trip up PCH, with this a one night stop along the way.

The Seagull was amazing in itself. The room was comfortable, the food was great, and everything was within walking distance. We ended up in town very late, the owner was very accommodating. We walked around town looking for food, and settled on the “café” next door. I put that in quotes because we were expecting light fare, instead were treated to one of the best fine dining meals on our trip.

The room itself was quaint, the “driftwood room” it was called. All of the artwork was hand crafted from drift wood that had landed on the nearby beaches. Very well decorated and very inviting. IN the morning, the light breakfast was brought to us (again amazing) and then we looked around town a bit before heading out. I would love to make a weeklong trip out of San Francisco just to come here, highly recommend anyone thinking of staying here to give it a shot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcavaliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
640 reviews
0 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
158 reviews
0.5 km away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#16 of 25 in Mendocino
439 reviews
1.3 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $149 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing