We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, cool gardens, very nice room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent location, cool gardens, very nice room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent a weekend in February at the Seagull Inn and loved it! It's one block up from the ocean and half a block from the main street in town. If you prefer to leave your car parked and walk everywhere, as we do, the location couldn't be better!

We stayed in the "Shed", which is a cute little one-room building with a private bathroom. The room was small but definitely adequate for two - comfy bed (although it was a double or small queen). The bathroom was very nice with a large tiled shower. The Shed is the only room at the inn with a TV with built-in DVD player. The owners had a nice selection of DVDs that were filmed in Mendocino, and we ended up watching some of them. It was nice to have that option and fun to see the scenes around town in the movies!

Breakfast each day was a large, homemade muffin, fruit, yogurt, OJ, and coffee or tea. The staff brought it to our room at a time we selected the night before. Then we had the choice of eating in the room or taking our tray out to the wonderful little nymph garden beside the shed. Although it was cold, it was sunny, so we opted to take our breakfast out in the garden both days, which was a delightful way to start the day.

The only thing I thought would have made it even more perfect would be a small refrigerator and a corkscrew in the room.

I highly recommend the Seagull Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryljasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    84
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
205
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Innkeeper Ayla warmly welcomed me to The Sea Gull Inn after I'd taken a sketching class. She showed me my room, gave me a few helpful pointers to make my stay more comfortable (if you go out at night, switch on your porch light so you can more easily find your way back to your room). Little things like this make a difference rather than just handing over the key at reception! My room was spotlessly clean, roomy, cozy, and very comfortable. The heater worked great as the evening became a bit chilly. Breakfast was served in the room - simple but very fresh and tasty. Delicious coffee, yummy pumpkin muffin, fruit, a bit of yogurt, orange juice. The inn is surrounded by sweet old gardens, and Sophie the very friendly gray kitty adds the final homey touch. I'll stay again next time in Mendocino.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Geranium". There were two beds and a small sitting area. It was downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am writing this from The Driftwood room, it's a classic B&B, with great service, attitude and smiles all round..the breakfast is delicious..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcameron21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in the Lookout #1 and it was so comfortable. Jim and Ayla are very accommodating and gave us great recommendations for dinner. Our stay was affordable and breakfast was awesome. We loved the porch, bed, warmth of the room and Sophie the cat! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkawunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The sea urchin room was cosy and comfortable. The historic feel, beautiful garden areas, and family friendly vibe make this a perfect home away from home. Breakfast was tasty and colorful. Everybody that works there is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking to shops in town as well as many hikes/vista points. As said before, no TV but there are books to borrow in the hallways. Also, the internet connection is not super strong so don't expect to do more than check email or online reservations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.2 km away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 24 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 km away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 24 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $161 - $246
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing