We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stanford Park Hotel(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$401/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lucent(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stanford Inn(Menlo Park)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Inn(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Nia(Menlo Park)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 57% below average rates

The price you found is 57% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$616
US$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park James Hotel(Menlo Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
101
76
21
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
76
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel caminopalo altostanford universityyogurtkeurig coffee makernice continental breakfastbusy roadquiet hotelqueen roomfree internetwould definitely stay here againmenlomicrowavemotelhornratesproperties
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Rooms are great, well appointed and quite comfortable. Quite noisy when other guests are checking in. The additional charge for a pet is OUTRAGEOUS! Security deposit fine and non refundable if damage occurs but to indiscriminately charge $75 just because one travels with your pet is unacceptable. The additional charge elevates this Inn to 5 star standards which it is not. Staff were essentially unfriendly. Pet people, move on, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here again for a medical visit at Stanford Hospital. Room 114 has been updated, with tasteful modern decor, big, roomy walk-in shower, and a nice platform bed -I slept like a baby. Hope the rest of the rooms are in line for the same re-do.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank N6619UOelizabethj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

My husband and I often travel to Palo Alto for Stanford football games, and usually spend the night to avoid fighting traffic on the way south after the game. We have tried many places along El Camino over the years from the very luxe on down. The Red Cottage Inn really stands out for a lot of reasons that other (recent) travelers have mentioned. Our second floor room was very clean and airy, with a deck overlooking the pool; the bed was quite comfy with good pillows: VERY important! As others have mentioned, the "Continental" breakfast is quite a bit above the usual belch of the "grab and go" offerings of other motels in the area. The staff was excellent too, accommodating our requests for additional (Starbucks!) coffee pods for the in-room maker. Finally, for penny-pinchers - the Inn is (slightly) less expensive than many places which have fewer, and poor quality, amenities. This is going to be our "go to" place in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a 2nd floor room half-way between El Camino and the train track.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schwakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Good prices for this quiet hotel in Menlo. Great amenities. Coffee in room. Refrigerator. Clean. Comfortable room. Fluffy pillows. Breakfast included - hard boiled eggs, coffee, cereals, yogurt. Superb hotel.

Room Tip: Bottom floor best. But second floor ok
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malillysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This property is the complete package for business or leisure travel. I stayed there for 6 nights while waiting for my daughter's apartment to become available. We were relocating her and we had her cat. Even before I reserved the room, I called to verify they were indeed pet friendly (I've learned relying on internet sites for special requests is not a good idea). Our plans changed and we needed to arrive a day early, which resulted in two separate reservations The staff took care of everything. Not only were we allowed to stay in the same room for all 6 nights, thus avoiding an annoying room move, they upgraded us to a queen suite at no additional charge, complete with master bedroom, televisions in both the living area and bedroom, separate decks for both rooms, and a fireplace. The property is extremely well maintained and having worked in the hotel industry for over 20 years I was hard pressed to find any fault with the cleanliness of the room. The landscaping is really pretty. They have potted flowers everywhere and sitting areas in the courtyard. Breakfast is basic continental but brand choices. If you are looking for the prepackaged eggs and waffle maker you won't find it here. Instead they have yogurt, fruits, juices, and a very nice selection of danishes and croissants. The staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. Although the property is on El Camino Real (one of the main streets through Redwood City) it sits back far enough that there's virtually no street noise. The only negative is the mattress on the pull out is not quite think enough. Other than that, it was a perfect stay. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: They have two of the queen suites. Room 128 has lots of room to spread out and also offer some privacy if traveling with someone.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PammieV0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews