We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Red Bluff)
US$98
US$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sportsman Lodge(Red Bluff)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
52
27
13
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
27
13
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubrooms are smalllassen volcanic national parkincluded in the pricefull barpac manhighway sidethree nightsplay poolhome basefried chickensouth entrancelook forwardsharonsinkcribbagebnb
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Family owned bed and breakfast. Great value! Owners are extremely accommodating with anything you need at the lodge or with helping you plan your day activities. Super clean for an older property. Rooms are small, but quaint and nothing is broken or 'weird'. Shared bathrooms but don't let that turn you off!! You won't mind it at all. There are two full bathrooms for the 6? 8? rooms. Great robes in the rooms. Linens are top quality. The lodge is right on Hwy 36 so you may be better off requesting a room on the back side of the lodge if you're visiting during the busy summer season when traffic is heavier. We stayed 6/3 and 6/4 and the lodge was not full and as a result was very quiet but noise in and around the lodge might be an issue if occupancy was 100%. Floors/stairs have a bit of a rustic 'creak'. Hot tub in the back of the lodge but we didn't check it out. Pool table downstairs with full bar. Breakfast is not a chumpy 'continental' stale croissant and coffee, but a full menu from which to order (complimentary). Great omelettes. Also ate dinner at the lodge and it was exceptional. Not much in the way of restaurants in this area so it was perfect having dinner 'ready' when we came back to the lodge from a long day of hiking (you pre-order your dinner if you plan to eat there in the evening). Reasonably priced. This is a great 'base camp' if you're going to spend a day or two hiking through Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Very cozy lodge right on the road between Chester and Lassen National Park. Cozy and clean rooms with excellent bedding and towels. This doesn't scream fancy bed and breakfast but it's quite pleasant, has nice trappings, and has a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were looking for a spot to stay close to Lassen NP. We located The St. Bernard Lodge on Google Maps and hoped for the best. I doubt we could have done better.

The lodge is a historic building that's perfectly maintained--none of those DIY fixes out of Home Depot. The rooms are upstairs above a restaurant and bar. They were well cared for, comfy and clean. The shared bathrooms spotless. The beds were great. Towels fluffy. In the afternoon, we headed 2-miles down the road and walked a couple of miles on the PCT in a glorious forest (managed by the Collins Lumber Co.). In the evening we hung out in the bar with the owner who regaled us with the history of the area while we played a game of pool. In the morning, they made an delicious breakfast (the hash browns will remain a fond memory.)

If you're the sort whose put off by shared bathrooms, perhaps St. Bernard is not for you. If you're not, if you like quiet lodge in the woods, managed by gracious and attentive owners, I highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Call a day in advance if you wish to eat dinner at the lodge. Sorry we didn't. Breakfast was delicious.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Drove around in Chester and near Mill Creek trying to find somewhere to stay and somehow ended up at St Bernard Lodge. What luck. I think there's 7 bedrooms in the lodge, all are beautiful, none ensuite so be prepared for sharing 2 nice home from home bathrooms with other guests. Sharon and Jim are beyond fabulous as hosts. Sharon knows everything about the local area and further afield and Jim is the most friendliest chef you'll ever meet (we loved the Ortega burger - best burger in the world!). There's a large bar in the lounge, along with pool table and some crazy game in the hall way which my boyfriend was completely captivated by - give it a go! They also have another surprise for guests which was perfect after a hard day snow shoeing!! All in all, St Bernard's was our favourite place to stay in 2 weeks exploration of North California. Better than the caboose that we stayed in at Dunsmuir (although thank you for the excellent recommendation Sharon!). We thank Sharon and Jim for such a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Visited Mt. Lassen and the St. Bernard Lodge in October - another overdue review - and can not recommend highly enough. First, as someone who is extremely tired of B&B/Inns in older building wherein the owners have felt compelled to sterilize the historic patina and/or drop the (default decorative setting) chinz bomb in every room - The St. Bernard Inn, avoids all this and is warm, and authentically quaint. The hosts, Jim and Sharon, are splendid. They are helpful, personable and terrific hosts. Last but not least.....the food! It was sumptuous, and the morning pancakes will forever be etched in my memory. Thank you so much Jim and Sharon, hope to see you again this Fall.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaethe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews