We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short getaway while visiting Lassen”
Review of St. Bernard Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Bernard Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Mill Creek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed two nights with my fiance. We ended up getting there later than expected, but after informing the owners, they were very understanding and even gave us suggestions on where we could eat in the surrounding towns. The linens were the most comfortable sheets I've ever felt! Though they are right off the main road, ear plugs were provided in the room. The bathrooms are shared, but I didnt encounter any issues with other guests. I enjoyed the little coffee and tea set up on the 2nd floor to access whenever needed. Breakfast and dinner were delicious! Had the hikers breakfast sandwich and the basic breakfast the first morning. Had the pork chops, fried chicken and onion rings for dinner. The pork and chicken were juicy. The onion rings were the best we've ever had! The breading was nice and thin the way I like it. The blue cheese dressing with the salad came with big chunks of yummy blue cheese. There was way more food that we expected, could have easily fed 3 people. Final breakfast had some sort of scramble and the blueberry pancakes. Again, everything was delicious! There aren't any fridges in the rooms, but the owners were willing to keep our leftovers in their fridge overnight. They asked about where we were heading off to next and gave us a great little map of the area and suggested a more scenic route. Would return if we ever come back to the area.

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms away from the bathrooms to decrease noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foo431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2016

Family owned bed and breakfast. Great value! Owners are extremely accommodating with anything you need at the lodge or with helping you plan your day activities. Super clean for an older property. Rooms are small, but quaint and nothing is broken or 'weird'. Shared bathrooms but don't let that turn you off!! You won't mind it at all. There are two full bathrooms for the 6? 8? rooms. Great robes in the rooms. Linens are top quality. The lodge is right on Hwy 36 so you may be better off requesting a room on the back side of the lodge if you're visiting during the busy summer season when traffic is heavier. We stayed 6/3 and 6/4 and the lodge was not full and as a result was very quiet but noise in and around the lodge might be an issue if occupancy was 100%. Floors/stairs have a bit of a rustic 'creak'. Hot tub in the back of the lodge but we didn't check it out. Pool table downstairs with full bar. Breakfast is not a chumpy 'continental' stale croissant and coffee, but a full menu from which to order (complimentary). Great omelettes. Also ate dinner at the lodge and it was exceptional. Not much in the way of restaurants in this area so it was perfect having dinner 'ready' when we came back to the lodge from a long day of hiking (you pre-order your dinner if you plan to eat there in the evening). Reasonably priced. This is a great 'base camp' if you're going to spend a day or two hiking through Lassen Volcanic Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Very cozy lodge right on the road between Chester and Lassen National Park. Cozy and clean rooms with excellent bedding and towels. This doesn't scream fancy bed and breakfast but it's quite pleasant, has nice trappings, and has a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were looking for a spot to stay close to Lassen NP. We located The St. Bernard Lodge on Google Maps and hoped for the best. I doubt we could have done better.

The lodge is a historic building that's perfectly maintained--none of those DIY fixes out of Home Depot. The rooms are upstairs above a restaurant and bar. They were well cared for, comfy and clean. The shared bathrooms spotless. The beds were great. Towels fluffy. In the afternoon, we headed 2-miles down the road and walked a couple of miles on the PCT in a glorious forest (managed by the Collins Lumber Co.). In the evening we hung out in the bar with the owner who regaled us with the history of the area while we played a game of pool. In the morning, they made an delicious breakfast (the hash browns will remain a fond memory.)

If you're the sort whose put off by shared bathrooms, perhaps St. Bernard is not for you. If you're not, if you like quiet lodge in the woods, managed by gracious and attentive owners, I highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Call a day in advance if you wish to eat dinner at the lodge. Sorry we didn't. Breakfast was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Drove around in Chester and near Mill Creek trying to find somewhere to stay and somehow ended up at St Bernard Lodge. What luck. I think there's 7 bedrooms in the lodge, all are beautiful, none ensuite so be prepared for sharing 2 nice home from home bathrooms with other guests. Sharon and Jim are beyond fabulous as hosts. Sharon knows everything about the local area and further afield and Jim is the most friendliest chef you'll ever meet (we loved the Ortega burger - best burger in the world!). There's a large bar in the lounge, along with pool table and some crazy game in the hall way which my boyfriend was completely captivated by - give it a go! They also have another surprise for guests which was perfect after a hard day snow shoeing!! All in all, St Bernard's was our favourite place to stay in 2 weeks exploration of North California. Better than the caboose that we stayed in at Dunsmuir (although thank you for the excellent recommendation Sharon!). We thank Sharon and Jim for such a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St. Bernard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Bernard Lodge

Address: 44801 State Highway 36 E, 10 Miles West of Chester, Ca - 15 miles from SW entrance of Lassen Park, Mill Creek, CA 96061-9722
Region: United States > California > Mill Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Creek
Price Range: $125 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Bernard Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Bernard Lodge is located close to both Lassen Volcanic National Park and Lake Almanor. It is full of history and turn of the century decor. All rooms are country casual with knotty pine interior. The lodge is a great place for individuals, families and small groups to enjoy the outdoors and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing