We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed during Lazy Bear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a nice little place, about 5 minutes outside of Guerneville. Very clean and very quiet rooms with flowers blooming everywhere. The only downside is it was a little overpriced but during this event, everything else is too. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

We found this to be a pleasant place. Very clean & quiet. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. All in all we were pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murphynv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for two days over labor day. The nightly rate after taxes was about 174 dollars for a room with two double beds which is INSANE for what the room looked like. Obviously, there was an inflated rate for Labor Day but I just felt taken advantage of. It must have been one of the last rooms booked because I did notice that not every room was as small and miserable as ours looked. However, I wasn't staying in another room so I can't review a different room!
Anyway, our room was very, very small (it literally looked as if three feet had been cut length-ways) and the furniture was very old. The beds were quite soft, the shower was ancient and we didn't have a phone (which though I never use in most hotels, I actually needed here because none of our cell phones had ANY service whatsoever).
The upside was that the room was quiet and the ancient bathroom, beds and furniture were all very clean.
Basically, it felt like a Super 8 room (which I haven't stayed in since I was 22 because well, they aren't very nice) only it was two-three times the cost of a Super 8.
Basically, if you HAVE to stay somewhere (i.e. you are attending a wedding and all the good places are taken) or if you are staying mid-week and the prices are 60 dollars less a night, then it might be doable but I personally would not come back.

Room Tip: Room 15 is very small, ask for a room that's bigger than that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank splianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Not necessarily a resort -- hooray! Nice, quiet, friendly, and clean. Good golf, not so good (not so bad) restaurant. Eat there if not in a hurry. We were looking for a weekend away and this was perfect. Redwoods are beautiful. We had seen bad reviews on other sites and were worried. None of them fit our experience. If you want simple and comfortable this place is the one to choose.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ajalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stumbled into this little lodge, and were pleasantly surprised! A sweet little campus surrounded by redwoods! We soaked up the quiet, used the great wi-fi connection, and happily went on our way the following morning!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neverfaithless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
9 km away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
23.8 km away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
373 reviews
17.9 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
533 reviews
25.1 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
142 reviews
16.4 km away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Lodge & Resort

Address: 19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9716
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Price Range: $104 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. Cottages located under the towering Redwoods include a master bedroom, living room, full kitchen, wet bar, fireplace, and deck. Scenic outdoor barbecue and picnic facilities located under a canopy on Redwoods. Adjacent to the prettiest nine-hole golf course in the area, restaurant, and coffee shop. Enjoy your stay in a unique and relaxing atmosphere by visiting the famous Russian River and beautiful Sonoma Coast, the tallest Redwoods in the world at Armstrong Redwood Park, and many fine Russian River Valley wineries. Minutes away from Guerneville, a variety of activities like canoeing, hiking and biking, and fine dining to make your stay more enjoyable. Our staff is always on hand to help make your stay a memorable one! Your great vacation getaway awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northwood Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing