We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury & Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury & Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our first visit to the InterContinental Monterey and we were NOT disappointed. This hotel was high quality from the moment we drove up, until the day we left. We stayed in Room 461. King Suite with full ocean view. The room was beautiful, the views gorgeous, needless to say we were very pleased. It is not cheap to stay in this hotel, so expect to pay high dollar, but for us it was worth it! The staff (Valets, Bellman, Front Desk, Housekeeping, Bartender, Restaurant Crew) top notch. Thank you for making our trip wonderful and for making us feel special.

My only criticism is about the Spa. We were greeted at our appointment and seated in the "relaxation" room. The receptionist came in and told us to help ourselves to a beverage while we waited. We saw water and possibly tea available at that time. The ad for this particular massage offered complimentary champagne mimosa's, but none were offered to us. After a short wait, we had our massages and went back to our room. When I first booked this room, the advertisement on line mentioned a couples twilight massage for $125 for 50 mins. It sounded nice, so I called a few weeks before our trip and made our appointment. I thought that was the price for both of us, but found out later that was not the case. Their brochures showed the "per person" prices, however their on line information did not. I did mention this to the front desk (yesterday 3/5/2012) and they apologized, but did make sure they pulled out the brochure to show me the "per person" information. I went to my room, checked the on line information thinking maybe I had missed something, but I had not. (Shame on me for not confirming this information when I called to make our appointment.) I noticed today prior to writing this review that the internet has since been corrected.

** Couple’s Twilight Massage
50 Min $125 / 80 Min $170 per person
Ditch the TV and come to the spa for a late night massage including complimentary
champagne mimosas. A romantic evening and an excellent prelude for a deep night of sleep **

We wanted the spa experience to live up to the standards we had gotten used to so far, and it did not meet those standards. We will skip the spa here in the future.

Room Tip: We were in room 461. Our room was next to the outdoor patio area where people can sit, drink and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentralCATraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    683
    137
    56
    32
See reviews for
902
1,265
93
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We drove up to Monterey from LA as part of our coastal sight seeing. We had reservations at this hotel and heard that it was good. When we checked in, the staff was very friendly and gave us a few good restaurants to eat at since we were not fimiliar with the area. When we got up to our room, it was clean and very up to date. The pool was a 2-5 minute walk away on the other side of the hotel and down 6 stories. The pool was small but very cute. The hotel is also right on Cannery Row and just a 3 minute walk away from the famous Monterey Aqaurium. The hotel is also located right on the oceanside. I would recommend this hotel to travellers who are staying for buisness and couples. Not so much friends or family.

Room Tip: Stay above the 3rd floors for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

One of the nicest hotels we have visited in a long time. The staff was extra friendly with a very knowledgable concierge that went to a lot of trouble to draw and customize a map for us of a day trip to Big Sur. The room was huge with great bedding and very clean. Walk to it all from here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We loved the Clement on Cannery Row. We had an ocean front suite and had no sense whatsoever that we were in the middle of a crowded tourist area. Spotless room. Wonderful Monterey Bay view with the sound of the ocean outside and utter peace and quiet inside. We rarely heard another guest. Service was what you would expect from a high-end hotel. Decore is very modern (which we like). Not exactly a W - thank goodness - but certainly not the Ritz-Carlton experience either (although the service levels are certainly up to the level of a Ritz-Carlton). Great location. Great value for the money. Normally we would not stay more than a night in a location like Cannery Row but we stayed 4 nights here and used it as a base for exploring not only the Aquarium (a five minute walk), the the whole of the Monterey Peninsula. We were glad we did. It was the perfect location for this sort of trip.

Do not miss eating in the "C" Restaurant in the hotel - it was the best culinary experience we had on our 1 week trip up the CA Coast (and we used both this site and Open Table's reviews to pick the "best" at every stop. Only the "C" really lived up to the reviews. What else is there to say. Great food, great views, great service. We ate there twice and enjoyed both visits.

Room Tip: The ocean front (not just view) rooms and suites completely remove you from any sense that you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We go to Monterey every year at the same time and were blown away last year by the service and accomodations of the Intercontinental. This year it was disappointing from the beginning. they did not have the suite we were promised and when we tried to explain what we reserved we received a blank stare from Tony of "what do you expect me to do?" The bright side was the manager stepped in and showed us other options, one-room king bed and rollaway for the two adults, a 4 and 6yr old. We were excited to be there so we moved on. Brian, the bellman, was fantastic, highlight of the hotel. I never thought housekeeping could ruin a stay but they managed to, we had to ask 3 times for the rollaway, they did not come to our room when we were gone during the day but called at 3pm and woke up the kids (even with a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door) to ask if they could come then, even when they did come I had to call back because they left a pile of garbage by the trashcan instead of taking it, didn't refill the coffee packets, left dirty cups and no water. The best part of the stay was April in the kids club and the service of the bellman and valet, everyone else should take lessons from them. Also, if you want a quick breakfast, don't go to the restaurant, took 40 mins for granola both mornings. So disappointing because we love the location.

Room Tip: all the rooms are relatively quiet but if you want a suite or view, I don't know how to insure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear FamilyontheMove_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. I truly appreciate all the feedback we get as it helps us determine what areas need improvement. I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We do pride our selves on providing the best service around and I am sorry that we fell short when you stayed.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us next time your travels bring you back to Monterey.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.2 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
1.8 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
3.8 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $320 - $1,264
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing