We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$149
Fully refundable before 09/06/23
Algotels
SuperTravel
US$109
Fully refundable before 07/06/23
Expedia.comUS$149
StayForLong
Hotels.comUS$149
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
414
406
222
124
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
406
222
124
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic rooms great location historic section farmers market quaint hotel fisherman's wharf alvarado street street parking walking distance bagels valet parking convention center central location cannery row elevator furniture fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2023

I traveled for work purposes to attend a court hearing in the morning. A horrible night’s sleep coupled with an ice cold shower and no power made this stay miserable. Not only that, there was old food in the microwave from the previous guest.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianahannah805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabella M, Marketing at The Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hello,
We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us and we understand your frustrations. We have taken note of your concerns regarding the room's amenities and will ensure that they are addressed for the comfort of our future guests.

Best,
Isabella


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2023

Staff very responsive to requests. Great experience. Walking distance to great restaurants. Everything you need is within walking distance. Easy check in and checkout thru app and email. Valet parking is the best

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvital2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabella M, Marketing at The Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2023

Hi there,
We're so happy to hear that you had a great visit and enjoyed our Downtown location! We love it when guests are able to easily explore the area and we hope to welcome you on your next visit to Monterey.

Best,
Isabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2023

It was lovely property.nice and clean . Lovely hospitality. They help me and my husband . They went out of their way to help my husband that is disabled . The only thing is the hotel doesn’t have heater in the room we got . They did give us floor heater that was nice .

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q8m1nndtj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabella M, Marketing at The Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Hi there,
We want all guests to feel at home and it's great to hear that staff went above and beyond to make sure you and your husband had a lovely visit. Fireplaces in the Historic side of the hotel are temporarily turned off and we hope to have these running again soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best,
Isabella



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

This is one of several stays over the years. Each visit has gotten better. The upgrade of the lobby and rooms makes it a convenient and charming stop in Monterey. Parking at the city lot was inexpensive and safe place to leave your vehicle.
I found the staff to be very responsive and friendly. My room was very clean and comfortable with high quality linens and good insulation. I rarely heard anyone else.

The hotel is convenient walking distance to the historic plaza and Fishermans Wharf. If you like to walk it is possible to walk to the aquarium as well.

I will use this as my base on future trips.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabella M, Marketing at The Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Hi Ann,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that your recent stay was your best yet and that you found our lobby and room upgrades charming and convenient. We're also glad to hear that our affordable and secure parking option met your needs and that you found our staff friendly and responsive.

We take great pride in our attention to cleanliness and comfort, and we're delighted you appreciated your room's high-quality linens and insulation. We're also pleased to hear that our location provided easy access to local attractions and that you plan to use us as your base for future trips.

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Monterey. Thank you again for your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

Best,
Isabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2023

Although the hallways were attractively furnished, they (and the rugs) were dirty and my room was sparsely furnished and the pillows were so hard! The worst part was I could hear EVERYTHING the people on the floor above me were doing and saying--sooo gross!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank murraypd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Isabella M, Marketing at The Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Hello,
Thank you for telling us more about your stay and we apologize for your experience. We want all guests to have an enjoyable visit and we understand your frustrations. I've shared your comments with hotel management and we will take a closer look at the room furniture and wall insulation.

Best,
Isabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews