We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$133
View deal
Priceline
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
US$118
View deal
Hotels.comUS$139
Expedia.comUS$139
Lol.travelUS$162
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
324
331
141
48
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
324
331
141
48
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed townhouse suite bagels fire pit free parking boutique hotel mile drive busy street sitting area downtown monterey third floor big sur fireplace robes cons freeway aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

This describes itself as a boutique hotel, but it is simply a motel- perfectly adequate but nothing special so in my view , very overpriced. It is on a street with lots of other motels so I would suggest shop around. Also we had the least welcoming greeting I have ever had anywhere in the US. And, for those of us who care about these things, there was a massive amount of single use plastics, which I imagine is to save time and money but doesn’t help any of us in the long term

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Foodie-of-Hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your concerns with us. We're extremely gutted to learn that you didn't have the special experience that we strive to provide to each of our guests. We have taken note of these concerns and we will surely work hard to improve upon these aspects to make our hospitality more welcoming and highly appreciated in the future. We hope this will not dissuade you from undertaking future visits!


Kind regards,
Customer Care Team
Mariposa Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2022

Biggest downfall: We stayed in a townhome suite. I wish it was clear that the upstairs part was basically not air conditioned. The AC unit is downstairs and even if you have it on the coolest setting it doesn't reach upstairs, so during the day it is not useful because it's so hot. It was only 78 degrees outside. This was a huge bummer. Was hoping to be able to open the windows at night, but there were no screens on the windows.

Another thing that was hard to deal with: when you go out and come back in, you have to use your key to get in. While this is great for security, it took about 25 tries to get it to work on the third floor. This was not ideal with a toddler.

Also, don't hope to be checked in earlier than 4pm. I had called two days before and they said i could check in around 12-1. Arrived at 1:45p and our room wasn't ready yet and she would call me when it is. She called qt 3:45p and let me know it was ready. Not to mention that she was so rude at the front desk. The feeling of hospitality was nonexistent.

Breakfast was just a brown paper bag of fruit, yogurt, and a bar. When i pay over $200 a night, i hope to get a little more than that.

Very loud hotel. We could deal with it because we have a small child but if you're coming to have some quiet time this is not it.

We loved the pool, dog friendliness, convenience of location, cleanliness, and the fact that our toddler had his own sleep space, but we would probably not stay again. There are some major problems that you don't expect when paying $200+ a night.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ellaa635
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear Guest, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a good time at our hotel. We deeply regret that our hotel and services could not deliver the value you expected for the price you paid. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving our facilities and training our staff, thereby ensuring a better experience for our future guests. We understand that it was too hot in the upstairs part of the townhome suite with no air conditioning facility and no screens on the windows. Please give us time to discuss this matter with our management and see what changes can be made in order to make the stay comfortable for our guests. We are sorry that our keycard made it difficult for you to enter your suite room a few times. We shall inform our maintenance team to look into the state of the card and the lock system on the doors to figure out the problem and resolve it immediately. We sincerely apologize to you on behalf of the hotel management for the late check-in incident and wish to inform you that we have already alerted senior authorities in the administration about this episode. We guarantee that our front desk staff member's unprofessional behaviour does not represent the value of customer service we give to our esteemed guests. We reassure you that such an incident is not considered normal, and we intend to take it very seriously. We realize that a two hours wait in the lobby with a toddler can be exasperating, especially when you were assured that you would be able to have an early check-in, so we shall take strict action accordingly for your troubles. Thank you very much for sharing your detailed review - honest reviews like yours help us improve our quality of service for all of our guests. At Mariposa Inn and Suites, we take all proper measures to ensure that our guests feel satisfied with our hospitality through quality resources and top-notch services, so it is truly disheartening to hear that we could not do the same for you. Once again, we extend our apologies for the packaged breakfast you did not favour and the noise disturbance you faced during your visit. It is a matter of relief that you appreciated the convenient location of our property, dog-friendly nature, hygiene and pool facility, as well as the sleep space for kids in your suite. We understand that a few of these instances have prompted you not to revisit our hotel, but we kindly request you to give us another chance for redemption. Ultimately, we wish to have you back at the hotel as our guest so that we can make up for our missteps and deliver a guest experience worth your time and money.

Kind regards,
Customer Care Team
Mariposa Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2022

Pros:

Room inside was tastefully renovated, including vinyl flooring instead of yucky carpet.

Complimentary fluffys were a very nice touch.

Close to freeway

Cons:

Rooms do NOT get serviced during stay (still using the "for your safety" excuse). YET not one employee wears face cover.

Breakfast is a joke. Expext a paper bag with a granola and a juice, and maybe an apple unless they run out.

Bed was extremely firm, could not get a good night sleep for the life of me.

Balcony was shared with room next door, not allowing us to keep curtains open for lack of privacy. And for that reason we didn't even get to use it.

I really wish their description was not so deceiving, when searching for a room I specifically searched for breakfast and free parking (pretty basic stuff) and this place popped up. I would hardly call what they offer here breakfast and while they renovated recently, they clearly skipped on replacing the mattresses because the one we slept on was very uncomfortable. Front desk staff was nice but I would never stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N5430CRteresad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. We are grateful to you for your kind words about our recent renovations, flooring, amenities and convenient location. We are very sorry for the room's conditions which disturbed your visit. Let us inform our management team about the issues of the uncomfortable bedding and shared balcony in order to see what can be done to resolve those matters. As an established motel, we take the proper steps to ensure that our guests feel satisfied with our resources and services, so it is truly disheartening to hear that we could not do the same for you. We sincerely reciprocate your emotions as we acknowledge the changes in our establishment following the pandemic. The cancellation of mid-stay cleaning services and the minimally packaged breakfasts are the results of adapting to a post-Covid scenario, in which the health and wellbeing of our customers are our greatest concerns. We hope you understand our predicament. However, we do not intend this to be our new normal, as we will soon be bouncing back to provide our guests with the ultimate hotel experience. Thank you for voicing your concerns and for letting us know your appreciation for our front desk staff. We understand that all these circumstances have caused you a terrible experience at our motel, but we request that you kindly not let that be your lasting impression of us. While it is disappointing that the overall hotel experience could not match your expectations, we hope to host you again with all our services working in your favour.

Kind regards,
Customer Care Team
Mariposa Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2022 via mobile

Noisy!!! Hotel is nice. Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Room is quite big with sitting area and tv. Had a fireplace and shared patio. However I would say don’t stay in any room except on the 3rd floor. Any padding or insulation is non existent as we stayed in the 2nd level and all you hear bright and early is the room above stomping back and forth for hours!! If you intend to sleep in late on vacation forget about it.

Room tip: Avoid staying on 1st and 2nd floor rooms!!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank George818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2022

Dear Guest, we are glad to receive your feedback on your stay but disappointed to know that we did not meet your standards. Thank you for taking the time to review us and highlighting your thoughts about your visit to Mariposa Inn and Suites. Our rooms are designed to capture the comfort of our guests with beautiful facilities and practical amenities. While we are delighted that we could make your day better with our resources, we are sorry about the noise issue from the above floor that you mentioned. We have informed the management about your comment on the padding between floors and how the sound disturbances from poor insulation hinder an otherwise flawless guest experience. We shall take all measures to rectify the situation and ensure that our customers feel satisfied throughout their stay, so give us one more chance to deliver you an uncompromising guest experience at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Customer Care Team
Mariposa Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022

My family usually stays at another hotel closer to the aquarium and gave this one a shot. It is further away from it and past the downtown area. The hotel photos are a little deceiving. The rooms, bathroom and grounds are so so. We didn't use the pool. If you plan on continuing down south towards Carmel or Big Sur, I would consider staying here. It is convenient to hop on the freeway and head south. There is a mall across the street which is a plus. The downtown area is about a 5-10 minute drive. For the cost, I would take another gamble and stay here.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay. We are ecstatic to know that we were able to satisfy you with our services, and it is even more joyous to hear that you would prefer to stay here again. Detailed reviews with appreciation and criticism help us understand our strong and weak points and thereby develop the quality of our guest experience. We shall try to upgrade the quality of our room conditions and other facilities. As you mentioned, our hotel is aptly located in a space where our customers can easily access the downtown area as well as quickly make way to the freeway. We look forward to hosting you again for an even more fulfilling experience!

Kind regards,
Customer Care Team
Mariposa Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews