We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Serena Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western San Marcos Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western El Rancho(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$114
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sail Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$179
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$128
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Inn(Morro Bay)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
317
214
69
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
214
69
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop gardentudor suitejacuzzi tubwine tastingwithin walking distancecovered parkinghot breakfastwafflessitting areafree breakfastvery nice hotelgreat viewgas fireplacenice roomshops and restaurantsstaff was very friendly and helpfulview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during a weekend getaway and couldn't be more pleased. The hotel is a block away from the wharf, leaving you in a quiet location, but walking distance to everything Morro Bay has to offer. The staff is friendly and very helpful, always going out of their way to acknowledge you and help with any questions. A buffet breakfast is served each morning, and a wine reception in the evenings. The rooms are very spacious and ours had a balcony overlooking the bay and Morro Rock. The decor is a bit outdated, but everything is still very clean and the roof top patio lounge is a perfect place to unwind at the end of the night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ajtrincado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you so much for the super review! We are glad you chose to stay with us on our weekend getaway and that you enjoyed our great location and time exploring the close by area. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. I believe that the decor is supposed to be "Old English" buts it's just old, more like the '70's!! It advertises breakfast and I suppose if you get there by 7:30-8:00am they might still have food. Unfortunately, it was Sunday morning and my husband didn't make it down till 9:10-9:15, breakfast is over at 10am. I got 2 strawberries, 2 rather stale mini muffins of indiscriminate kind and an apple Danish, which was quite good- that or I was starving! My husband said there was evidence of eggs, 3 sausages were left some gravy but nothing to put it on, unless you're into gravy on your waffle. AC was also in the description- only the fan portion worked on ours. Oh but there was a window, into the bathroom/shower if you're into that! I was given a discount from mgmt since he wasn't happy with my Expedia review. He also said they have plans to do an upgrade, in the future and that most ppl really like their breakfast, as I said, maybe they got there at the beginning... It's the central coast in the summer what are you expecting for $340+\ nite???

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would love to learn more about your stay so that we can improve. Please feel free to call us to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were driving from San Diego to San Francisco on Route 1 - and wanted to do this with an overnight stay on the way. Found and booked this hotel online. The website and our reservation said the hotel reception is open until 23:00. As we had some unplanned activities on the way, we arrived at the hotel around 22:15. The reception was closed and the door was locked... Eventually, we found a small note saying to call a specific number - and was told that they left us the room key somewhere. We found the key and got our stuff in the room - it was large enough but somewhat worn. The whole town seemed to be asleep (only the liquor store was still open). We got to sleep and headed out first thing in the morning. Forgettable.

Room Tip: arrive early...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Inn at the Rock. Our front desk is open until 11pm nightly, and as described for our late arriving guests we do have safety lockboxes for keys. Our operations hours are on all confirmations provided by us or third parties. Also as described, we post two 8.5x11 signs in the front door windows after hours with the number to call to obtain the combination for those safety boxes for the keys. Normally, we try to call the guest ahead of time and give them all the information prior to their late arrival, but smetimes when guests book via third parties, the telephone numbers are not provided or may be international and unreachable. Being a small inn, it is seldom that there are arrivals or calls past 11pm. One important note: There are on-call staff available for emergency situations nearby. Yes, being a small town late nights are somewhat sleepy in this town after 11pm. We are sorry that you were not able to spend more time with us. We pride ourselves on being our guest’s concierge here in Morro Bay and providing tips to the wonderful things to see, where to eat etc. We hope that on your next visit you are able to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

This was a very nice hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean, nice size bathroom for a family of four. Loved the fireplace - even in July - it can be very cold! Free breakfast was good and the location was good - we walked to town for diner at night.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lb2lbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

We are glad you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us while enjoying this great area. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Staff: Sean at the front desk is exceptionally friendly and helpful, ready to suggest activities, restaurants. Housekeeping staff went out of their way to find me a softer pillow (I had asked about it, but then said never mind...10 minutes later they brought me a perfect pillow, with a smile)
Location: easy walk to the Embarcadero. Perfect view of Morro rock from our room.
Rooms: are absolutely charming, country style decor, more so than Victorian as I saw in other reviews. Clean, comfy bed, whirlpool bath, fireplace.
Breakfast: is better than most, including fresh baked scones, biscuits and gravy, and more. We also appreciated the interesting and calming music playing in the breakfast area, as opposed to the typical blaring TV. Overall, the goal is to set a relaxing ambiance.
A self-serve coffee/tea bar is in the lobby, and I loved that they have fresh fruit available too!

We also enjoyed the rootop lounge area. Great view of Morro rock.
Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

What a lovely review! It sounds like our staff really went out of their way to make your stay even more enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and your review. Repeat guests are our favorite and we hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews