We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice hotel, great location but noisy and poor breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location but noisy and poor breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The service and staff at the Napa River Inn were friendly and helpful. The location could not be beat. You can walk everywhere from this hotel, right on the river, which we did. The parking is free in front of the hotel and the breakfast was included but it is from a bakery and mostly sweet pastries with no substance for a good breakfast. The food was never hot. We ended up eating breakfast out one day. The hotel is very old so the walls and floors are very thin and we were woken up early every morning by an upstairs room walking back and forth and we could hear voices and tv next door. The shower was inadequate pressure so it took a while but was ok. The room was very nice, however, and that made up for a bit. The spa services were just massages, no gym or pool but was ok. Due to the noisy rooms and inadequate, high carb only breakfasts, we would not stay here again for the dollar value. Only the location was the best feature. Ps. we did a limo wine tour with Beau tours thru the hotel website and would also not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcardle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    303
    69
    40
    14
See reviews for
122
726
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Bought the night on a Living Social offer. But would go back at retail, no question about it! Great room, with balcony, great bed, fireplace, and big bathroom. Fabulous location---walking distance to all that matters.

Room Tip: Go Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a ground floor room with two beds and a little patio overlooking the river. the room was spacious, and clean. Really nice shampoos and lotions, etc., but they are not the little sampler size so we didn't feel right taking them. You can purchase them for $16 ea. in the gift shop. We were visiting wineries and doing a milestone birthday dinner, so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. However, we met friends every morning at Sweetie Pies and that is a great benefit (free with the room). You can request breakfast delivered to your room if you'd rather. The beds were very comfortable with top of the line sheeting and great fluffy pillows! The only thing I'd have liked to see upgraded was the tub - very standard shallow tub and the shower had really weak water pressure. But just walking around sipping wine didn't get us too dirty, so we survived. I hope you enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: There is a nice breeze off the river and it's fun to sit on the patio and sip wine while watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asiapointriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Unfortunately we were only there for one night. The rooms were beautiful, service was excellent and the location great. My only regret is that we could not spend more time there. I look forward to another trip back to The Napa River Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The service of the staff at the Napa River Inn was friendly and helpful. There was no offer to assist with our bags to the room. Upon entering our room on the ground floor in the adjacent room, we could hear loud noise coming from the room above on the 2nd floor. We requested to be moved before unpacking, which was accommodated by the friendly staff.
The Executive Room no: 226, was above the open courtyard for outdoor dining and this was adjacent the "silos" where we later heard music which fortunately finished prior to going to bed. The room had a king size bed, desk, 2 chairs & round table with large flat screen tv in the cabinet. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too soft for our liking.
The bathroom was adequate with a shower over the bath, vanity & toilet. The shower head was one of the worst we had used, the spray was powerful with little water coming out making you dance around to get wet.
The breakfast was included and delivered to your room which was supplied by Sweeties Bakery, the food was good and hot.
Car parking was available in front of the hotel free of charge.
Overall the Napa River Inn was ok for our 2 night stay, but the noise transfer possible through the floors and walls could disturb your stay. We cannot comment on the room in the main building, our room was in the River Plaza Building. If were to return to the Napa Valley area, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.8 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
13.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): $351 - $665
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing