We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of the room location”

Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be careful of the room location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotels consists of 3 buildings, the main historic building has a limited number of rooms. Our first room was on the ground floor in one of two annexe buildings. It was right next to a public path and was very gloomy so we asked to be moved. We picked this hotel for it's river location and we paid the extra for a river view, the first room did had a river view but the issue was a permanent thick net curtain was required for privacy because of the foot path. The only other room available had a view of the car park. On our second night we were moved into the main building and a historic room. It was better but by this point we were pretty fed up. This hotel did not live up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for second floor+ river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenninic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    318
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
137
772
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was a perfect place to escape for the weekend. Great location, terrific staff and amenities. It's only 1.5 hours from home but we felt like we had truly gotten away. Totally worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the fireplace and with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA-JustUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The service and staff at the Napa River Inn were friendly and helpful. The location could not be beat. You can walk everywhere from this hotel, right on the river, which we did. The parking is free in front of the hotel and the breakfast was included but it is from a bakery and mostly sweet pastries with no substance for a good breakfast. The food was never hot. We ended up eating breakfast out one day. The hotel is very old so the walls and floors are very thin and we were woken up early every morning by an upstairs room walking back and forth and we could hear voices and tv next door. The shower was inadequate pressure so it took a while but was ok. The room was very nice, however, and that made up for a bit. The spa services were just massages, no gym or pool but was ok. Due to the noisy rooms and inadequate, high carb only breakfasts, we would not stay here again for the dollar value. Only the location was the best feature. Ps. we did a limo wine tour with Beau tours thru the hotel website and would also not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcardle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Bought the night on a Living Social offer. But would go back at retail, no question about it! Great room, with balcony, great bed, fireplace, and big bathroom. Fabulous location---walking distance to all that matters.

Room Tip: Go Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a ground floor room with two beds and a little patio overlooking the river. the room was spacious, and clean. Really nice shampoos and lotions, etc., but they are not the little sampler size so we didn't feel right taking them. You can purchase them for $16 ea. in the gift shop. We were visiting wineries and doing a milestone birthday dinner, so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. However, we met friends every morning at Sweetie Pies and that is a great benefit (free with the room). You can request breakfast delivered to your room if you'd rather. The beds were very comfortable with top of the line sheeting and great fluffy pillows! The only thing I'd have liked to see upgraded was the tub - very standard shallow tub and the shower had really weak water pressure. But just walking around sipping wine didn't get us too dirty, so we survived. I hope you enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: There is a nice breeze off the river and it's fun to sit on the patio and sip wine while watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiapointriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 km away
No photo provided
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
0.9 km away
No photo provided
1.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
No photo provided
13.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
26.5 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): $427 - $740
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing