We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fabulous romantic getaway”
Reviewed 17 November 2005

I took my husband for a surprise trip to Napa for his birthday. We stayed with friends two nights in Sacramento, and spent one night in Napa at the Napa River Inn. The inn is built in an old mill that has been renovated into a boutique hotel. The room was wonderful with wonderfully soft linens and an incredibly comfortable bed. Our room had a view of the Napa River (not very attractive) and a fireplace. It had a lovely marble bathroom with wine themed toiletries (!) which smelled pretty masculine.

The hotel gives a free breakfast from a wonderful bakery downstairs. You can choose a variety of items and it is delivered to your room. The ham and egg croissant was delicious! The only problem is, be sure of the time that you want your breakfast. We woke up early since we're from Georgia (Eastern time) and tried to get breakfast early but it came as scheduled despite calling downstairs to get a rush on it.

The hotel was minutes to the wineries and a wonderful, romantic getaway. Definitely recommended!

Helpful?
5 Thank annagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    318
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
137
772
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2005

We had a very nice two-night stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For example, we rode the Wine Train one evening and the hotel arranged a free shuttle service both to and from the train so we could drink without having to worry about driving back. The rooms were very attractive and perhaps the best looking rooms that I have stayed in. I loved being able to choose from an assortment of delicious breakfast items and have it all delivered to the room in the morning. My only complaint is that the rooms are not as soundproof as they should be at a hotel of this class as you can clearly hear outside noise as well as noise from the halls.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2005

I had an excellent time at the Napa River Inn! The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The breakfast from Sweetie Pies is a treat every morning! This is a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2005

We were there for two nights mid October for 10th Aniversary. For a "boutique" hotel we thought it would be much nicer. Way overpriced for just a room overlooking a small river with industrial buildings on the other side. If you are looking for romantic, don't pick this hotel. Also, there is nothing going on in the town of Napa. We were so bored. Daytime you can drive and stop at vineyards, but there is no nightlife and nothing for shoping. We really wanted to head home after the first night. The breakfasts from Sweatie Pies were not worth eating. After 5 nights in CA, it was our only bad meal. Check out The Gables Wine Country Inn B&B in Santa Rosa (the private cottage was great!)
and the Waters Edge in Tiburon (upgraded us to a suite on the water).

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

My husband and I spent two nights at the Napa River Inn along with another couple. It was our first stay at this hotel and the first time for our friends in Napa.

Both rooms were ready upon our arrival and check in was friendly and efficient. The rooms looked out over the Napa River with small balconies with two chairs and a small table. The rooms themselves were furnished quite nicely - king bed, work desk, two armchairs and a side table - and much to our surprise, a gas fireplace. Though the daytime temperatures were in the low 80's, at night it was in the mid-40's, so we actually were able to enjoy a warm fire each evening and in the mornings to take a bit of the chill off. There was a coffee maker with coffee and tea service provided, along with 2 bottles of water provided each day in the mini fridge in the armoire. The bathroom was well supplied with towels and toiletries. We weren't thrilled with the showerhead - it was the type used to conserve water and the spray seemed to be more air than water. It was, however, adequate. Parking was plentiful and it was a short walk into the center of town.

We paid $225 a night, which included a scrumptious breakfast at Sweetie Pies bakery just downstairs. You could order breakfast to your room, but we preferred to meet our friends at the bakery, which seemed to be quite a gathering place for locals each morning. By going to the bakery, we had a larger selection of baked goods and could choose from a variety of coffees and teas that would not have been available through the room service. We all agreed that the portions were huge! Choices included an egg and ham or bacon croissant or bagel, fresh OJ, a tasty selection of baked goods (the Ana rolls and the scones were delicious) and coffee or tea as well as fresh fruit or a yogurt and granola parfait. Both days we ended up bagging the baked goods and snacking on them as we traveled throughout the beautiful Napa Valley visiting various winieries.

One evening we dined at Celadon, one of the restaurants in the Napa Mill complex. We stopped by during the afternoon to request a table on their patio for dinner and had a most enjoyable light meal. As the evening was cool, there were heat lamp poles and a beautiful fireplace on the patio for our comfort.

We had been lucky enough to reserve a table at the French Laundry our second evening and decided that we would like to engage a car and driver for the trip to Yountville (all the better to enjoy ourselves!) A gentleman at the front desk we spoke with made the arrangements for us, but, unfortunately,there must have been a miscommunication and no car was ordered. Instead, the bellman drove us to the restaurant in the hotel town car. He was a bit confused about the restaurant's location and because we were a bit late, the hotel didn't charge us for the trip. When we were finished with dinner, the hotel sent a cab service, again a town car, for which we paid $40, including tip.

I researched many accomodations in the Napa Valley for this trip. Given that it was harvest time and we didn't exactly want to break the bank, we all felt that this hotel provided great value and good service on our first stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely stay here again if in Napa.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aerofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.5 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
0.9 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
13.0 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
6.2 km away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): $428 - $743
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing